Humans logo

Where is My Vote?

No one let me vote

By Joan GershmanPublished 3 years ago 3 min read

WHERE IS MY VOTE?

I wasn’t even allowed to vote, and I am very unhappy about it. I was never sent a mail-in ballot, nor was I ever instructed where there was an in-person polling place where I could go to cast a ballot. No, I’m not talking about any political election. I am talking about the election, or should I say “selection”, because no one I know was ever consulted or allowed a vote, of People Magazine’s 2021 Sexiest Man Alive, Paul Rudd.

I have nothing against Mr. Rudd. I honestly have no idea who he is, what he does, or where he is from. He’s “okay” looking, and I’m sure he’s also a very nice man. But for the 4th year in a row, he’s not MY candidate of choice. The last “Sexiest Man Alive” selection I heartily agreed with was 2017’s Blake Shelton, and I kept quiet in 2019 when John Legend was chosen because having watched him on the Voice all year, he seemed like a genuinely decent person, and he was, admittedly, very easy on the eyes.

However, none of the last 3 of People Magazine’s choices – Idris Elba, John Legend, or Michael B. Jordan, and now the 4th, Paul Rudd, is the most obvious choice on earth (in my humble opinion), and that would be -Jason Momoa.

People Magazine’s current editor, Dan Wakefield, says that “The "Sexiest Man" is a person of character, but they also consider "Who is hot, who is doing really well, and who actually is sexy. We think about what is sexy at the moment. What do people find appealing at the moment? We send calls out to consumers and focus groups, working out who people find sexy. There's a lot of people on that initial research."

I am a consumer. I am also a loyal subscriber to People Magazine. No one from People Magazine ever called me. So, Mr. Wakefield………here is the opinion of a consumer you did not seek in your outreach.

Jason Momoa. I mean, seriously, the height and breadth of the man are staggering. 6’ 4” tall, sparkling green eyes, perfect features, engaging smile. His face, underneath admittedly too much hair and beard that could use a good trimming, is simply gorgeous. And NO, I am not assuaged because People gave him a small honorable mention as one of a multitude of other sexy men listed this year.

The title is “sexiest”, not cute, nice-looking, or simply pleasant looking. You should not gaze upon the titled “Sexiest Man Alive” and think……..Oh, he’s nice. I’d like to have a cup of coffee and a conversation with him. Nope. When you look at him, your heart should pound, skin tingle, and breath come in short gasps. You should immediately think……………..I want him in my bed…..NOW. I want that man’s hands and body all over me. The title is, after all…….SEXIEST.

Mr. Wakefield goes on to say that "It's not about being a macho, muscled protector……………… But being sexy is about being decent, intelligent, funny, and talented.”

Yeah, well, Mr. Wakefield, being sexy is about……..being SEXY. Gorgeous, heart-pounding, hormones raging, SEXY.

Although Jason Momoa does look like a macho, muscled protector, which Mr. Wakefield seems to find unappealing, he also checks the rest of the boxes. His philanthropy and openly admitted adoration of his wife and children are a check for decency. I have heard him speak intelligently on a variety of subjects, most passionately about the environment. His humor is self-deprecating and infectious. His talent……….. I don’t know how much talent it takes to be Aquaman, but I’m too blinded by his looks to care. There is that spectacular face, even if Wakefield says it’s not about that. (I never said I wasn’t shallow.)

I am aware that there are currently deep chasms of differences in opinions in our country. I expect your opinions on my choice of Sexiest Man Alive will be just as varied and vocal. It’s okay. Don't you think it's more fun to debate and argue over who is the Sexiest Man Alive than how much toilet paper to hoard?

pop culture

About the Creator

Joan Gershman

Retired - Speech/language therapist, Special Education Asst, English teacher

Websites: www.thealzheimerspouse.com; talktimewithjoan.com

Whimsical essays, short stories -funny, serious, and thought-provoking

Weightloss Series

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Joan GershmanWritten by Joan Gershman

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.