Humans logo

Where have all the Manners gone?

In my best Paula Cole impersonation. Where have all the manners gone?

By Coolest Bean Published 2 years ago 8 min read
Like

Howdy Yall. Eric here. So today I wanna talk about manners. Any manners. Bedside manners, everyday manners. Or just being nice. The other day I was headed to the Methadone clinic (yes I'm on Methadone, but not for the reasons you might immediately think) and everyone seems to forget their manners at the clinic. And this isn't just solely at the clinic. It's everywhere. But back to the clinic, they have two handicap spaces in front of the building. Parking isn't ideal there. Anyways I pulled in front of a car that I recognized goes there. They close at 10:30 A.M. and I always go in around 10 so it's usually the same people. So this car rode my ass down to the building, and I drove past the handicap down 4 spots to the wide open area with 15 open spots. Where do you think the car pulled in behind me? Yup. The handicap. And out pops a girl in her prob late 20s and her boyfriend or husband and fast walk to the door to get ahead of me. They weren't handicapped. They selfishly chose to park there to best me inside when it takes 15 seconds to dose. 15 seconds.

And I see this everywhere. People not parking in between the parking lines. And I don't mean that person with a super nice car that purposely takes two spaces because they think they might get dinged. Which side note I've never understood. A person with a Ferreri taking 2 spaces so he doesn't get a tiny ding. Which they could probably pay for repairs with their ashtray change? LoL, You always see the nicest vehicles which usually belong to the richest ones. Meanwhile, we poor folk park the right way. But hey, I ain't mad at ya.

I parked a few months ago at the very end of the parking area or the very last spot in the line. And I parked with my tires on the passenger side line (Being I was at the end of the line no more car parking areas to my right. I did that because on my left was a vehicle that had a handicapped ramp on the side. When I was pulling in I saw them getting out so I have a little extra space so when they got back out to their van if they beat me they would have some room.

So I go out and get in the car and a note is attached to the wiper. I thought "what nice people" thinking it was a thank you note. That's another thing...people don't recognize what other people do for them anymore. It's all head down, talk to no one, get in and get out as fast as possible. Anyways, I got out and got the note. It did not say what I thought. LoL. It read "Hey asshole, learn how to park" and was a quite good drawing of my car in between two lines. 😆 Very strange as there were no spots on the right side of me. But it angered someone. Smh.

Holding doors open for people. And I don't mean standing there for 15 seconds waiting for someone to get to the door. I mean you're 10 feet behind them and they don't hold it open. People are so selfish these days. And ibe even watched YouTube videos from these "influences" who say that's ok. Being selfish and looking out for yourself as #1 is the thing nowadays. That it's O.K. NO...it's never ok to be selfish. We've all done it. I've done it. There are times when we can't help. If you feel super guilty after doing something selfish then at least you know you're a decent human being. 👌 But say it's 90 degrees out and you see an elderly lady (or anyone) whose car needs a jump at the gas station. But your behind. Late for work. Late for bridge with the ladies or cards with the fellas. You have cables. Do you help?

We as a race need to be coming together. More now than ever. But here is how I am going to change the world. And here is how you can help. Just be nice. It's not that hard. If you need a reference learn and read about Stoic Philosophy. It can change your life if you try to lice the way they do/did. Check out Marcus Aurelius. My absolute favorite. His two best quotes in my opinion are "The happiness of your life depends upon the quality of your thoughts" Really think about that. Even if someone wrongs you, YOU are in control of the outcome. Of your response. Who said you have to be rude back to someone? "Are you gonna let him/her talk to you like that!?" "Quit being a pussy, this guy just pushed you," your friend says. You control the outcome. Do you wanna look cool? Push them back. Get in a big old fight. And accidentally seriously Injury that person. Then you are in a world of chit. His other one I like is "You have power over your own mind, not outside events. Realize this and you will find strength" 🤯🤠

I have my own little saying. "know who you are and BE who you are". Even if you don't know who you are yet, be who you are in the current moment. Don't be fake. If you live with someone who turns out after 13 years you realize he/she is an emotional abuser, gaslighter, and narcissist, don't get so mad that they have mistreated you all these years so why not. Treat them like they treat you. I used to live this way for years. And thought it was the right way to do things. I mean it seems fair... Right? No.

See if you start doing what they are doing to you back to them... Does it end with them? What if other people see you acting in a way that you really aren't inside? Then they have you pegged all wrong. And eventually you yourself will turn into what you were just "do it to me I do it to you" thought method. No. You be who you are. No matter what. You be you.

I think I might start a project on here. I've wanted to write a biography for a long time. I don't mean this to sound arrogant at all. I'm probably in the top 5 percent of least arrogant people in the world. But when it is what it is...it is what it is. LoL, I've lived a pretty crazy life thus far. We all have crazy stuff happen to us. Some live a boring life. I think I might start adding a chapter a day and just write it on here. The journey of my life.

I always used to think I was a creeper. Because I was always so interested in other people's lives. How do they live? What's their house look like on the inside. What do they do during the weekend? Throughout the week. What are their routines? Well, I knew I wasn't a creep as some would say because I never had any hidden agenda or Ill will with any Information I found. I didn't wanna peep in the windows at night, nor did I. LoL. If that's what you think I was referring to you are way off the mark here. 🤣. Come to find out there is a name for it. And I'm not the only one. I am currently reading Matthew Mcconaughey's book Greenlights. He says the same thing. There is a name for it but I can't remember. And a career. Go figure. I chose the wrong one. LoL. And now I set with so many medical issues it's literally eating me away.

Anyways thank you so very much for reading all of my jibberish. I'm just searching for ANY way to make some moolah while also sharing my stories and issues. I'm going to write on here at least once every day. Maybe multiple times.

I want a record of my life and the problems I'm having now that I shouldn't. Here's a try-to-be quick example.

♤Diabetes II

♡Diabetic Neuropathy

◇Small Fiber Neuropathy

♤H3art Palpitations

♧IBS-C W/Debilitating nausea

♤non-alochalic fatty liver disease

♡Multiple herniated discs in my lower back prevent me from being on my feet longer than 15ish minutes without my legs going the rest of the way numb. And the angrier I get and the more I push just makes them worse. Eventually, I lose complete function in them and they feel like lugging around a couple of tree trunks.

♡Hugh Blood Pressure

♤High Tryglicides (906) and high cholesterol (616)

♤ Anxiety and Depression

That's a few of them. I'll write more in detail this coming week. I'm gonna share some very personal and embarrassing information shortly. I need yall's help deciding a major life decision. On what I need to do. I'm doing the right thing now. But the right thing is probably literally killing me.

Thank yall very much for taking the time outta your life to read this. You could be changing mine soon enough. ✌️❤

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Coolest Bean

mardkdknd e ds.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.