Humans logo

What to do now...

No one knows who I am

By Maranda SwordPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
What to do now...
Photo by Cibao Chua on Unsplash

“Ah, thank you.” I smiled as the waitstaff placed a cup of tea in front of me on the table. I liked to come to this little cafe. It was a wonderful place to just watch people and I didn’t have anything else planned for today. That was one of the joys of not having to work anymore. I know there are people around me who need to work their hours away but I had already done my share of work thank you.

The work that I did in my past was very tedious to say the least. Mining is not something that I would recommend for everyone. If you don’t have the right mentality for it then it will break out. To do a really good job of mining you either need to be very skilled at it or get lucky by finding a rich vein. I was fortunate enough to have both happen to me. Was I the best at mining? Absolutely not because I know there is always someone better than me.

When I found the vein that I mined I didn’t really tell my friends and family. I wasn’t ready for it to be known by others and they would want in on what I was doing. I just kept my head low and chipped away until I had a healthy amount to live on. As with all things however other people found what I had found as well. In the beginning when it was just a few of us there was no real issue, it was when the masses started that I quickly finished and got out.

I picked up my cup of tea and happily sipped as I watched a person outside of the cafe get on a bicycle and peddle away. They could have been going or doing anything. I liked to imagine sometimes what the rest of their day would be. For this individual I pictured them going to the grocery store to get their weekly groceries. Perhaps splurge and get that new juice they had been hearing of. I also liked to imagine what people might imagine if they were watching me. Perhaps they thought I was just on a lunch break or a freelance writer or waiting for a friend. I doubt anyone ever got close to the truth.

I finished the cup of tea and considered what I would do for the rest of today and the rest of my life. I tried to do something different from time to time because otherwise I would be so bored. Perhaps I could get a small boat and see what life at sea was like. Not someplace cold though. I have not tried to live in a small house in a rural area yet though. Both sounded like grand things to try. I watched a person walk out of the store across the way and decided that if they turned to their left I would get a boat but if they went to their right I would look into rural life. I could handle either and having a random chance pick which one was exciting. They might not know it but this person was about to pick my new adventure.

I watched as they adjusted their bag and found myself on the edge of my chair. As they went about their way I smiled and settled back into my seat. I was ready for this next adventure and looking forward to it. I like to refer to myself as Satoshi Nakamoto sometimes. A fair number of people have heard my name but that does not mean they know me or what I am doing right now.

humanity
1

About the Creator

Maranda Sword

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.