Humans logo

What To Do If You Fall In Love With Your Best Friend

You must drive forward positive events in your life

By Gina StefanPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
What To Do If You Fall In Love With Your Best Friend
Photo by Tyler Nix on Unsplash

I used to believe that falling in love with your best friend only happened in television shows or motion pictures. Do people really just discover their soulmate is the person who has never given them boners when they wake up one day?

Yes. They do, indeed.

It's simple for the distinction between friend and lover to blur in LGBT relationships. For example, I've occasionally done what I've thought about doing with most of my homosexual male friends—sex. However, there is a distinction between wanting to see a buddy in a naked state and truly believing that you could fall in love with them. What I'm referring to here are the kind of buddies who make you want to fall in love; those who, long after the orgasm subsides, make you want to hug, kiss, and cuddle up in bed with them. They are the ones that genuinely hurt you since you can't just walk up to them and start making out.

My friend just asked me for some guidance. She believes she is in love with her best friend, but she is too terrified to pursue the feeling. She is unable to sacrifice her feelings for the fear of being rejected and thus losing the friendship. She was unable to imagine losing him as a pal. She is excessively attached to him.

That is what I say: Screw it. Just go for it; don't worry about the friendship. You're probably already miserable all the time if you have strong affections for a pal. Consider this. Can you really continue doing this forever? Can you really endure this suffering and this yearning for an eternity? You can if you enjoy receiving punishment.. If not, the response would be negative. You like this person too much to just be a friend, let's face it. If you're not being honest, it's unfair to both of you.

Years ago, as I started to develop feelings for my best buddy, I uttered something similar. He said, "I think I like you too, but I really don't want to sacrifice the friendship," in response when I told him that I thought he was attractive. I responded, "Look, I'll be sincere. I am unable to be your friend. Being your friend seems like pain since I love you so much, yet I must do this. I have to choose between being your friend and trying to date you to see if it works."

You can't let your fear stop you from pursuing someone you love since there are so few individuals with whom it truly makes sense. Don't let your fear stop you from trying something that might turn out to be fantastic.

Naturally, it's upsetting if your feelings aren't shared and the friendship breaks down. However, you must realize that it would have been disastrous in either case. It would have been awful if you hadn't said something. You most likely wouldn't have looked for or tried to date anybody else. Given that you already spend all of your time with a person you love, why would you? You may at least begin to move on now that you are aware. Your life can move forward. You don't need to sit around inertly for something that won't happen.

I can't really be around someone I have feelings for if they aren't interested in me or are already taken. Again, I'm aware that this comes seem as selfish, but the alternative is worse. I had a great crush on this man while we were hanging together a while back. Oh my goodness, he was just so adorable, witty, and intelligent! He then confides in me that he has a boyfriend just as we were beginning to get to know one another. I was so "high school" disappointed about it that I realized right away that I couldn't continue to be friends with this guy.As soon as we met, I developed feelings for him. I had no desire to be his pal. I wanted to go out with him! Why on earth would I want to accept anything less? For the sake of my own emotional health, I had to break it up.

My suggestion is to always just tell them if you ever find yourself in the unfortunate position of falling in love with a close friend. Yes, you are taking a lot of chances, but you owe it to yourself to do so. You must drive forward positive events in your life if you want them to occur. You must look after yourself and stop worrying so much about what others will think or say. You are aware of what happens to those who never take chances or who remain paralyzed by fear? They become a "lonely cat lady".

TELL YOUR BFF YOU'RE IN LOVE WITH THEM TO AVOID THIS FUTURE!

advicedatingfamilyfriendship
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.