Humans logo

What About Prejudice, Part Two

On my ride to a funeral with my daughter, she had a different take on my prejudiced questions that was helpful to me.

By Denise E LindquistPublished about a year ago 3 min read
2
What About Prejudice, Part Two
Photo by Rachel Clark on Unsplash

After dinner, we hadn't been given a bill for the meal we ate at a local restaurant. When we went to the checkout counter. The server listed what we ordered including a side order of sausage. I said we didn't order the side order of sausage, and the waiter did.

The server repeated the order and said, "And a side order of sausage" ignoring what I just said. My husband then put his credit card into the card reader and with assistance from the waiter, included a tip.

While they did that I again said we did not order sausage. The waiter ordered the sausage. What my daughter said was "Mom, you didn't say, we ordered a substitute of sausage for ham in our omelet."

Okay, I guess I wasn't clear. It is something we do all of the time at that restaurant. Both waiters were new to me though.

I reminded her I said it twice. Then she said, "Mom, you have to remember that men do not multi-task, so when he was helping John use the machine to pay, he couldn't even hear you say anything, as he was focused on getting payment! Remember, men do not multitask."

So, I laughed and said! That is it! That is exactly it as my husband and I go around and around all of the time about multitasking. He can never do what I ask when he is in the middle of something. I have watched him try and he gets all frustrated.

Just this morning hubby saw me filling my pill tray as I was making coffee and eating breakfast and taking my pills and said, "What are you doing? You know you can't multi-task!" To which I responded, no remember it is you that can't multi-task!

Multitasking is "the performance of more than one task at the same time": i.e. "parenting skills such as multitasking and concentrating amid distractions are easily transferable to the workplace"

"Some common multitasking examples include: Cleaning the house while listening to a podcast. Reading emails while chatting with coworkers. Building furniture while reading the instructions. Taking notes while listening to a lecture or presentation. Cooking dinner and helping children with their homework. Working on a project and updating your team on your progress."

As she drove we listened to a podcast and had a conversation about the funeral, her dad's death, and funeral, and her sister-in-law's dad's funeral we would be attending and how she can relate. We dropped a few tears and stopped halfway to get a snack for the rest of the trip.

I told her how I have noticed more overt prejudice in the past several years. I have been stared at in the car dealership when going for parts. I have been followed in the sporting goods store. And I have been ignored until I spoke up or decided not to buy what I went there to buy.

I said then that it is easy to be sensitive about this behavior, as I grew up with this kind of thing happening much of the time. Name-calling was common then though too. Not always loud enough to call someone on it and sometimes when I did, it was pushed back on me, with an I didn't say that!

Prejudice has been something I run into all of the time. I wish it was different and someday it may be but probably not in my lifetime. I do my best to stay around positive people. It would be too easy to get into this too deep otherwise. And I do my best to not build any resentment.

humanity
2

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.