Humans logo

Wake Up

Is This Real?

By Scarlett PricePublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
Photo Credit: Twitter @Engin_Akyurt

Everyone made it to the wedding. The snow stayed away for safe travels. Oh my, how wonderful it is to be here in my white dress. Wendy just turned twenty-eight and graduated college. She is working at the hospital and so am I. Her babies have grown so much as well as Autumn and Bradley. My beautiful nieces and nephews to be flower girls and ring bearers along with my handsome little guy.

A Christmas wedding brings so much joy and I can hear all the chatter. The room is full of people near and dear to share this day with me as I meet my groom and say forever and always. Everyone looks dashing and you can feel the warm embrace even though its chilly outside. Tears, he tries to hide as he sees me. This is it the moment I've longed for. My partner for life to weather all the storms.

Helen Pye

We greet the guests and take a seat for the reception. Gold, white and red sparkle throughout as we gaze in awe of this magical room where our first dance will take place.

Pardon me, may I have this dance with the lovely bride?

My groom is generous to this request and this stranger takes the lead.

Twirls, laughter, and waltzing throughout the ballroom floor. Before he hands me back to the groom he tells me that I need to pay close attention.

That all of this is a mere fasad of my imagination and that it is dire that I awake from this fantasy.

I beg your pardon kind stranger this is outrageous. Thank you for the dance.

In a more eager tone he re-states what he said that all of this is just a fantasy. Something my heart wants but can not have. He says, "I am not a stranger, I am the voice of reason. You're sister, Wendy passed away at the young age of twenty-four. You haven't got to see your nieces or nephew. There is no wedding because no bachelor will have you. You desire to work at the hospital but you are plagued with many illnesses and for now, you can not work."

I tell you this and what do you feel?

I feel like my lungs will collapse, my heart is beating faster for blood, and I feel like an absurd fool.

Please tell me that all of what you say isn't true.

Your body wouldn't have a reaction if it must all be lies. In your heart, you know all of this is just a masterpiece from your mind imprisoned and never to be set free.

This is one of those times that you must wake up to reality and accept black and white for what it is.

It is your choice I can give you back to your groom and let you stay or you can wake up and clear your mind. Detox all of the poisons that can corrupt a masterpiece like this and cage your heart. Grieve finally for those who are lost and missed.

Wake up and sob. Wake up and seek clarity. Just wake up.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Scarlett Price

I am a mom, and a domestic violence survivor. I love writing, reading, yoga, cake decorating and baking. I recently took up belly dancing. Writing is my passion and healing. Stay positive!

https://linktr.ee/mullinscasey

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.