Humans logo

Unexpected Friendship

Sometimes the person who you never expect to be your friend, end up being your best friend.

By Rose Maria RoyPublished 9 months ago 3 min read
Unexpected Friendship
Photo by Melissa Askew on Unsplash

I entered my class. The first thing I saw was the class monitor, Blare's face, I felt annoyed and rolled my eyes. I sat next to my two friends, Sofia and Luna, and started chatting. As we were chatting, the class monitor wrote our name.

The teacher came in after sometime. Me, my friends along with some other students got punished. Well, this was not something new. The whole class hated the monitor and her best friend, Emily.

The next few days, I saw Emily drooling over the head boy of our school, Kai. I used to talk to him, which made Emily jealous. Kai was just a friend for me, but Emily could not digest even that. Once she asked me, why I was always with her crush. I smiled and said, If I have to stay away from your crush, then I will have to stay away from all our seniors.

I liked Blare compared to Emily. One day our class teacher changed our seats. Unfortunately, I got seat with Blare. We glared at each other. Later during classes, she finished the ink of her pen when we were writing the notes. I saw that she was struggling, the teacher was strict and Blare was scared to ask pen from other students. I took one of my pens and kept it on her book. She looked at me and then took the pen and started writing.

We talked at the free period. It was the first time we talked friendly with each other. I enjoyed the conversation, I sensed that she did too. I never saw her laughing whole heartedly with Emily. For the first time I felt that she was a nice girl.

The next day Emily said to the teacher that she had difficulty siting in her new seat. She requested to sit in my place. I was shocked, but I agreed. Emily sat with Blare. Later that day I saw that Emily and Blare was not talking. Usually, I was only Emily who was talking and Blare would listen. But today Blare was not even listening.

The next day me and my friends went to canteen at recess with Luna and Sofia. As we were buying the food, I felt someone tap on my shoulder. I turned back and saw Blare. I was shocked as she normally spends recess with Emily. I did not ask about Emily to her, instead involved her in our talk.

Luna and Sofia started to like her too. She then started spending time with us more than Emily. My friend being kind started to tell her about her faults. We told her, how she should behave to have more friends and not to be hated by anyone good.

Emily on the other hand grew lonely. But I never wanted that. I tried to be friends with her, even though I did not like her. That's when I got to know that she I was not someone I should be friends with. She wanted be to be spoiled and tried to tempt me to do bad things. I then understood why Blare behaved so differently when she was with Emily. Emily only said negative things. Also Emily wanted to be one the good side always but wanted all the others on the bad. I understood Emily's intensions and avoided her.

Me, Luna, Sofia and Blare started enjoying with each other. As time passed, Blare's and my friendship became strong. One day in school without her was so long. Blare encouraged me for many things. When I felt low, she was always by my side. Luna and Sofia were with me since the beginning of my school. I felt blessed to have such friends.

I still think about the time when, when I saw Blare my whole mood ruined, to a time when I felt sad when she was absent. I sat with my four best friends smiling, thinking about how sweet my friends were.

friendship

About the Creator

Rose Maria Roy

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    RMRWritten by Rose Maria Roy

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.