Humans logo

Unexpected

Never saw it coming

By Ali SPPublished 3 years ago 9 min read
5
Unexpected
Photo by Mason Kimbarovsky on Unsplash

There I go again running through traffic trying to make it to work on time. I know my boss Emily will not be happy about it and she’s going to send me home again. This time, however, I think it may be for good. How can I have OCD when it pertains to most things in my life but for some odd reason I just can’t get to work on time. I took a deep breath and told myself that it would be ok. I mean if she was going to fire me, why am I rushing anyways.

I finally made it to the office and Kristina gave me that look. Kristina is Emily’s personal assistant and I knew what that look meant. It meant that Emily was furious and I had better prepare for her wrath. I placed my purse at my desk and proceeded to enter Emily’s office.

“Good morning Emily; I’m sorry…

“Just stop with your apologies!” She exclaimed.

She went on and on about how irresponsible I was, how I was her least favorite employee and how my recurrent tardiness was no longer going to be tolerated.

Throughout this yelling session, I stopped listening. Instead I was rearranging all of the books and supplies in her office in my head. I couldn’t concentrate with all this chaos.

“Get your stuff and get out!” She yelled…”Didn’t you hear me the first time? Don’t act like you’re retarded!”

“Retarded?” I asked. I thought I was whispering but I guess I said it out loud.

She continued yelling “Yes, retarded…. meaning slow just in case you didn’t understand!”

It’s one thing to be yelled at for coming to work late but who calls another person retarded. I unexpectedly rolled my eyes at her. I felt insulted but I wasn’t going to let her see me hurt, embarrassed or emotionally unstable. I refused to and instead made a decision to walk out of that place with my head held high. It was time to find another job.

After a stressful day, I usually go home and repack all the spices in my pantry. I have different spices on each shelf. Even though they are already arranged in order of height, I decided that maybe I would rearrange them not only in order of height but in alphabetical order. I can’t help it. I’ve always been that way. My mom thinks my OCD is the primary reason why I haven’t gotten married as yet but that’s just her opinion.

“No one wants to be with someone who obsesses over such things as spices,” she would tell me all the time.

After rearranging my spices, I then proceeded to go to my bedroom closet. The plan was similar to my spices. I wanted all my clothes to be arranged not on only by type but also by color. All the hangers needed to face the same direction too. Who doesn’t want an organized closet or pantry. I don’t get why anyone would think that doing so would be obsessive.

I texted my friend Cayla earlier and informed her that Emily had finally had it with me. While I was rearranging my closet, she called.

“Hey Amanda, What are you up to?…..oh wait….let me rephrase..what are you presently rearranging?”

Then she chuckled.

We talked for a while and she told me that she was coming to get me so we could go out tonight. I needed to clear my mind. I needed something positive and going out with Cayla seemed like a better distraction. I mean I wanted to keep rearranging my closet but she has a way of dragging me out when her mind is made up. She told me to wear something sexy and she would be over in a few hours.

What is sexy really? I usually associated it with nice curves, boobs and wide hips with a plump derriere. That was Cayla. Me on the other hand an exact opposite. I was the flat chested one. Unfortunately I wasn’t blessed with those particular assets.

I’m just going to wear my black dress I told myself.

Someone was beeping their horns outside and I knew it was Cayla. I grabbed my purse and headed out the door. We went to this new bar. I’m not one who drinks so I ordered cranberry juice in a wine class which gives the assumption that I am sipping on wine. That makes me feel mature and sophisticated to the outside world. While we were there, we met a few guys. I’m usually shy when it comes to meeting men so Cayla did most of the talking. Before we left, Brandon offered to give me his number indicating that he would love to take me out.

“Yeh right,” I thought. "Guys like you don’t date girls like me."

I placed his number in my purse and forgot about it. Tomorrow I would begin job searching again and finish my closet rearrangement.

The following day I applied to eight different marketing firms in the city. I needed to find another job as soon as possible. I forced myself out of the house because I needed some fresh air. I refused to allow Emily’s words to influence my day to day activities. I wasn’t retarded and I didn’t need any affirmations from her.

I got dressed and rode my bike to the park. I hadn’t done that in a while and it definitely felt good. I took a break and sat under a nice shady tree listening to an audio book.

All of a sudden I felt a tap on my shoulders.

I was ready to pounce on who it was.

"Amanda, It’s me!”

“I tried calling your name but you didn’t respond. I figured you had headphones on so I decided to tap on your shoulders.”

“Sorry about that but it’s me, Brandon. Sorry for disturbing you..”


“You don’t sneak up on someone like that Brandon…you almost got knocked in the face,” I said rudely.

“Sorry about that,” he said and proceeded to walk away.

I took a deep breath and knew I was over reacting. I picked up my bike and rode towards him.

“Hey! I am sorry about that. I didn’t need to be so rude. I guess I’m having a not so good day or maybe not so good couple of days.”

He said that it was ok. We spent some time getting to know each other and I must say that I haven’t smiled like that in ages.

Finally he said, “you threw my number away huh?”

“Uh…not really. It’s still in my purse.”

“Well I want to take you out so we can get to know each other some more.”

I hesitated and said I would think about it. He jotted down an address and handed it to me.

"See you at 7PM tomorrow?”

“Hey, I gotta head out Brandon, see you tomorrow ….maybe”…

I smiled and rode off.

As soon as I got home, I began scrolling through my emails to see if I had gotten any interviews. I mean it’s only been a few hours but I had to. Nothing yet sadly.

I sighed and collapsed on the couch. Shortly after Cayla called. She was checking up on me. I mentioned my run-in with Brandon.

“You HAVE to go out with him Amanda. I mean what’s there to lose?”

“UHHH… ok then”.…

I went to my closet where Cayla helped me pick an outfit.

“Should I dress casually or maybe something sexy?”

I couldn’t even believe I used that word. The decision to go on a date made me nervous…I hadn’t been on a date in years.

The next day I woke up with butterflies in my stomach. I spent most of the day trying to distract myself by doing laundry. Clothes similar in color were laundered at the same time. There was no way I would wash a yellow shirt with a green one.

Then it was time. I wore that knee length red dress that Cayla got me as a birthday present. She kept insisting I show off my figure.

"What figure? I didn’t have any."

“Oh stop it Amanda! You’re absolutely gorgeous.”

“Yeh… Yeh… CAYLA”

I met Brandon at the address he gave me. He was dressed in a navy blue suite and looked handsome. He took my hand and told me that I looked beautiful. I had to pull my hands away. I had no idea where his hands have been. My OCD was acting out again. Thankfully it didn’t seem to bother him.

“Why are we here?” I asked

“Just you wait and see”..He said.

Once I entered what seemed like an old abandoned building, my jaw dropped. I couldn’t close my mouth for what seemed like a lifetime but was only a few mins.

“I wanted to make sure that this was the best date you’ve ever had,” he said.

He didn’t hold my hand as we walked and I was thankful. Not because of my OCD but because I was shaking and didn’t want him to know.

The whole room had been transformed into what seemed like an art gallery. There was a kitchen with a private chef and on the other side of the building was a balcony that overlooked the city.

Who knew that this existed. I stood there mesmerized.

The lighting was immaculate. Everything seemed like it had been strategically placed. My OCD was happy. I forgot that he was even there for a minute. I was trying to take everything in.

Someone came around and popped upon a bottle of Jetbird.

Brandon invited me to sit down. We were each poured a glass of wine. I don’t think Brandon knew that I didn’t drink but for some reason I decided to live in the moment. We toasted to a goodnight and the beginning of a new friendship.

I woke up to a throbbing headache in a room that I was unfamiliar with.

“Where am I?” I thought.

My red dress was draped over the chair and I was wearing a long T-shirt. I was confused and tried to remember how I got there but everything was just a blur.

Suddenly Brandon appeared. “I made you breakfast,” he said.

“Where is my purse?” I asked. I needed to call Cayla. I know she would be worried.

Brandon insisted that I eat first.

“ You should eat something, you drank a lot of wine last night."

“Oh I did?” I asked with a raised eyebrow.

He laughed saying, “sure did!”

“I can call Cayla and eat at the same time Brandon. Where is my purse?”

He said he would get it for me and would be right back.

I sat on the bedside munching on some toast and eating some strawberries. It felt like Brandon was gone for a longer period of time than expected.

Something didn’t seem right. I got up and began to walk the hallway and down the stairs.

I took a few seconds to take in this house. It was beautiful and over looked the ocean.

I yelled out for Brandon but he didn’t answer.

I walked around into the kitchen and yelled again.

“Hey Brandon..this isn’t funny, where are you?”

I tried opening the front door but it was locked. I ran to another door and it was also locked.

Suddenly Brandon appeared.

“I need my stuff Brandon, I don’t know where we are but I need to leave right now!”

“ No you don’t honey! Remember what happened last night? We got married so you’re mine now.”

“Married?.. You and me?” That can’t be!"

I laughed out loud.

“This must be a mistake!”

“No it’s not” he said.

I looked down and there was a ring on my finger.

He looked up at me with a smirk on his face saying “I own you now.”

dating
5

About the Creator

Ali SP

Ali has found a renewed passion for reading and creating. It is now a form of expression for her– another creative outlet which she works to improve upon.

https://www.instagram.com/art.ismyrefuge/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.