Humans logo

Second Chance

Things can change so suddenly

By Ali SPPublished 3 years ago 8 min read
3
Second Chance
Photo by Luis Galvez on Unsplash

Pedro and I grew up together but when he went away for college, we grew distant and no longer kept in touch. He is now an accountant and returned home where he would take control of his dad’s accounting firm. After the many relationships that I had, some how I always thought about Pedro and what life would have been for us if he stayed. He was my best friend at that time but I always wished we were more.

I had no idea that he got back into town until I showed up at his dad’s firm. I own a bakery now and his dad has been helping with my taxes for the last few years. I was coming in to drop off some paperwork. As soon as I opened the door, I saw Pedro and my jaw dropped. He looked so handsome. He was dressed in blue jeans, a white T-shirt and some leather boots. I didn’t even hear him say my name. It was as if the time stood still and gave me the opportunity to appreciate his physique.

“Hey Amanda, are you ok?”

“Oh hey Pedro!”

“It looked like you were staring into space or that you were in some deep thought.”

“Oh really..sorry about that. I’ve had a lot on my mind lately. How long will be staying?”

“I’ve actually moved back home,” he said. “I figured that dad needed my help. I kinda grew tired of the city life.”

I looked down at his left hand searching for a ring but there wasn’t one. I was curious so I asked ,“are you here with your family?”

“Actually, I’m here alone. I haven’t found the one yet I guess.”

“What about you,” he asked. “Married, children?”

“None yet Pedro. I’ve been too busy baking I guess. No time to run around town looking for a mate.”

Pedro laughed out loud.

“You haven’t changed one bit. Same old Amanda.”

“So where can I leave my documents?”

“You can place them over here and I’ll ensure that it will be taken cared off.”

I am usually not a nervous person but my hands were getting sweaty. I knew that I needed to leave soon before things got awkward.

I told him that I needed to go and hoped that maybe we will see each other around town.

I went back to my bakery and replayed the whole scene over and over again.

“Why did you run off?’ I asked myself. “He was trying to have a conversation.”

I wondered why he wasn’t married. I remembered all the girls in high school throwing themselves at him. He looks even better now so why was he single…

I told myself that the next time I saw him I wouldn’t be so awkward but for now I was ok if we didn’t run into each other anytime soon.

I was in the back of my bakery working on a wedding cake for one of my customers. I thought I heard a familiar voice and more specifically his voice. My assistant came to the back and told me that Pedro was here to see me.

“He’s really handsome Amanda. If you don’t want him then I’ll take him.” She chuckled and walked away.

“He’s just an old friend,” I said and walked towards the front of the store. My hands were getting sweaty again.

“Hey Amanda..Nice to see you again. My dad said you have the best baked goods in town. I remember your mom baking for us when we grew up and let’s say I can’t wait to taste some of it.”

“How about some of my mom’s apple pie? I can get you a slice along with some peach pecan ice cream. I remember them being your favorite."

“Wow, you remembered? I’m kinda surprised?”

“How can I forget Pedro. You were always at our house and never turned down a slice of apple pie”

We both laughed out loud

“I can’t argue with you about that. I loved your mom’s apple pie. Even after all of these years, it still tastes the same.”

“So what do you do when you’re not baking?” He asked

“Well I go home and watch tv.”

He looked at me confused.

“Is that all that you do? What happened to the fun and care free Amanda?”

“Things change when you get older Pedro but who says that that old Amanda is completely gone.”

Pedro and I began spending more time together. He would come to the bakery every day after work and we shared past memories and what our plans were like for the future.

Something came up and he was unable to stop by for a few days. I had to admit to myself that I really did miss him. Seeing him daily was part of my routine. I wondered if he ever had feelings for me but I was too afraid to tell him about my feelings back then. It looks like history was repeating itself because I was too afraid to say it now.

He finally came by on Tuesday afternoon. I had given myself a pep talk every day trying to increase my confidence and build up the courage to say something about my feelings. Pedro came in and he was really excited about the new house that he would be purchasing. We had a great conversation as usual and then he said goodbye. Again I said nothing.

My mom passed away 5 years ago and my dad and I have become really close. After closing up for the night, I went to visit my dad and told him about my feelings for Pedro. He encouraged me to tell him how I felt; That regret was worse than rejection.

I sighed. “I don’t know dad. Rejection sounds like it’’ll hurt a lot more. I’ve somewhat dealt with regret since he left.”

“Some people go through life waiting for doors to be opened for them but as we come to know, some doors may never open until you knock on them Amanda.”

I took a deep breath.

“I guess you’re right dad.”

I got up. My dad gave me a kiss on the forehead and we said goodnight.

I had these sessions of mental gymnastics as I drove back to my place. It seemed like I was pulling off flower petals..

Should I tell him?

Should I tell him not.

I felt slightly nauseous and had a mini panic attack in the car. I finally decided that I wouldn’t tell him and continue to be just friends.

Months went by and we continued to spend time together. We met up with some old high school friends one Saturday at the local bar.

“How come you two never dated?” Asked Bryan pointing at myself and Pedro.

Pedro seemed caught off guard.

“Amanda is like a sister to me.”

My heart ached when I heard those words and I then gave up all hopes of us being together.

I tried to distance myself from him after that. I told him I thought it would be best if we didn’t spend so much time together anymore.

Pedro was very confused and would ask me why but I wouldn’t give an explanation. I mainly said that I was busy and needed to address some things in my life. I needed some space.

Not seeing Pedro almost every day was difficult. At times I would sit in the back of my bakery and cry but there was nothing I could do about it. He said that I was like a sister to him. I had those words on repeat in my head.

Months went by and things sort of went back to normal. I only saw Pedro if we ran across each other at the store.

I was at the farmer’s market one day getting some fresh fruits for a tart I was making. I bumped into Pedro.

“Hey Amanda, how have you been?”

“Just busy with work. I need to head back to the bakery now.”

As I turned around to leave, Pedro grabbed my hands and pulled me in.

“Amanda can we not do this anymore. I really miss you. I miss us. I’ve been soo stupid. Here you were right there in front of me for all this time and I didn’t even see it. I was an idiot. I care about you much more than you think”.

“You mean care about me like a sister?”

I pulled my hands away and began to walk away.

"Let’s talk about it some more over dinner. I can come pick you up around 6?"

I took another deep breath…”I’m not sure about that.”

“Please Amanda!”

I must admit that it was difficult to stay mad at him. He looked sincere so I finally said okay.

I went home early and got all dolled up. I did my makeup and wore a long and body hugging dress with a long slit on the right. I made it a point to look my best. Pedro had no idea what was in store for him. For once in a long time. I was excited. The time had finally come.

Pedro came to pick me up at 6. He was wearing a black suit. Thankfully I wasn’t overdressed I thought.

“Where are you taking me?”

“Its a surprise," he said.

The sun was still out because it was summer. We drove up to a wide open field.

“Is that an air balloon?”

“Yes it is! I figured we go up for a little bit, enjoy the view with some wine and some appetizers before dinner.”

I had never been in an air ballon before and I was nervous. Pedro sensed my nervousness. He wrapped his arms around me and told me that I would be ok.

It was the first time I really smelled his cologne. It was sexy, masculine and not overly pungent. It was definitely inviting.

We were on our way up. Pedro poured us both a glass of Mojave Rain. We sipped our wine and snacked on some bruschetta and fried calamari. As the sun was setting, Pedro turned around and looked at me.

“You look so beautiful” he said “Like a celestial being. You have this glow around you that radiates.”

I couldn’t really see Pedro as the sun light was taking over his face. The next thing I knew, he pulled me over and kissed me.

He caressed my tongue and lips as if meaning to explore this new environment. It was unexpected but passionate, intimate and unapologetic. As our lips departed, I know we each wanted more but as Pedro said, “This is only the beginning. I have so much more planned for us.”

We made it back down and I was proud of myself for overcoming my fear of heights in the hot air balloon. Pedro had no idea of this fear but his presence distracted me and that kiss definitely captured all my attention.

He held my hand and we were walking to the car.

Out of nowhere came a loud bang and I saw Pedro fall to the ground

‘Pedro are you ok?”

I looked over and there was blood gushing out of Pedro’s head. He tried to talk but he couldn’t. He was gasping for air.

I heard another defining and startling sound. Someone was shooting at us.

“Go!” He said finally.

“Pedro I cant leave you here.”

“Go, Amanda!”

I was terrified and didn’t want to leave him alone but I needed to find help. I got into the car as fast as I could and drove off.

I was crying so hard that my vision was blurred.

There were some many questions.

“Why would someone want to attack Pedro?”

“Oh Pedro, please don’t die on me!”

literature
3

About the Creator

Ali SP

Ali has found a renewed passion for reading and creating. It is now a form of expression for her– another creative outlet which she works to improve upon.

https://www.instagram.com/art.ismyrefuge/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.