Humans logo

We Are All One Nation, One People Filled With Love For One Another

Why not spread a little love each day?

By Ali SPPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
2
We Are All One Nation, One People Filled With Love For One Another
Photo by Gabriella Clare Marino on Unsplash

Sixteen years ago, I left my beautiful home in the Caribbean and began a new life in the United States. Kindness growing up in a Caribbean household centered around sharing. We grew almost everything we ate, but not EVERYTHING! It is not surprising for a neighbor to share some avocados from their garden, mangoes, or ginger.

My early acts of kindness involved getting up early in the morning after the cows were milked and delivering a fresh milk bottle to my neighbors. I stopped by the homes of older people on my way to the local grocery store if they needed me to pick something up at the store. It was natural. Their smiling faces and our short conversations made me feel good inside, and I know it made them feel good. Kindness meant ensuring everyone ate and had what they needed. We gave and received so much more in abundance. It was a self-perpetuating cycle that brought joy.

Though we had our differences, everyone on the island viewed each other as people. There is the saying that we are all one nation, one people filled with love for one another. I didn't realize the importance of this type of unity until I moved to the United States and experienced racism for the first time.

Believe it or not, we all have our biases or blind spots. Investigating these blind spots will help with our day-to-day interactions and help us make a conscious effort to be inclusive of others. Just because someone shares a similar background, loves the same sports you do, or attended the same graduate school you did doesn't mean they get an advantage over others. We need to rid ourselves of implicit bias by disrupting those default settings.

When thinking of inclusivity, it involves accepting people from all backgrounds. There is a specific mindset and purposeful action that sensitizes someone to the particular needs of others and treating each other with kindness. We should not discriminate against someone's skin color, gender, rank/position, socioeconomic status, sexual orientation, disability, etc.

How do I plan to continue to foster kindness and inclusivity in 2022

  • Smiling: It is one of the simplest and kindest gestures we can offer. It does not cost us anything. It even makes us feel good too when we smile.
  • Saying thank you: A thank you goes a long way. Those two words will make them feel seen and appreciated. It can also be motivating to them. You can thank someone in different ways. You can take an in-person approach, email/text, write a personalized card or do something special for that person. They will appreciate it. I paint artwork as a token of appreciation to brighten up someone's day. It is also my way of saying thank you. Below you will find three watercolor paintings I completed and framed recently for three employees at work.
Watercolor Paintings by author
  • Being Supportive: There are many small family businesses that I currently support in my community, like my dry cleaner, restaurants, accountant, etc. I shop and dine in/out, encouraging friends and family to do the same.
  • Donate to different causes: Cancer research and the treatment of rare diseases, local food pantries, nonprofit organizations, and various Go Fund Me accounts. I try my best to donate to any account that involves a child or anyone who has suffered devastating loss and trauma. I may never know when I may need help. I give what I can when I can.
By Clark Tibbs on Unsplash
  • Speaking out: Words have power. My voice is powerful. I can speak up in the face of injustices advocating for better rights and supporting minority groups. I know how it feels to be treated as less than and not deserving.
  • Mentoring: I mentor minorities who are interested in a similar career path. I want them to know that representation matters. One of my mentees currently works with us. I was so happy to be able to help.
By Monica Melton on Unsplash

Kindness will not solve all of our problems. However, it is a step in the right direction. Only then can we go beyond kindness to fight systemic racism and other forms of oppression. We are all part of the human race and will die one day. Why not leave a great impression on the hearts of others you meet by spreading love each day.

...

Thank you for reading!

humanity
2

About the Creator

Ali SP

Ali has found a renewed passion for reading and creating. It is now a form of expression for her– another creative outlet which she works to improve upon.

https://www.instagram.com/art.ismyrefuge/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.