Humans logo

UGLY: Chapter Two

What did I do?

By Makeba ShangwePublished 4 years ago 4 min read
1

Mr. Platenski was a pot of boiling water; the top rattled as steam pushed against the top, wishing to expand and (indeed he would) implode.

"Ms. Arabesque," he said as calm as he could.

I bumped my head on the desk, startled awake by my partner, Garrett.

"If you fall asleep in my class, one more time" –his voice was increasing in volume–"I will kick you out," Platenski yelled.

I pierced my lips and handed him my paper.

"Here's my work, sir."

He took the papers with an irritating smile on his face.

The timer rang.

Mr. Platenski threw the papers on the floor.

"Get in your group."

I remained in my seat. "What group-?"

"If you were paying attention, I just assigned groups, you imbecile! Go pair with him," he demanded, pointing at Garrett.

I smiled, despite his rudeness, and prepared to leave the only place Mr. Platenski could be himself, the classroom.

The class walked to the center atrium, outside.

Garrett flashed his signature cartoon grin as his group gathered. "Shall we start?" he asked. He had a habit of smiling, and for that I hated him.

He had eyes that smiled when he smiled, a giggle instead of a manly chuckle. We had talked 3 times throughout the whole semester. I regretted even talking to him once. Key and Garrett were best friends, now in the same group as me. I wasn't close to being "besties" with either one of them, whatsoever. Three other girls were with me and the entire time, but I couldn't help but feel utterly left out; as always. They laughed together, and I laughed alone. It seemed as if I was always to be alone. They talked, and I muttered. I was nothing but a whisper among the crowd. Huge hands swallowed my small, normal-sized hands. "Good job," Garrett laughed. My hands stung from the high-five. My wall almost comes crumbling down, but my mind grows a wall of thorns. I manage to smile.

______________________

The morning stars had faded under the dull, gray sun that trembled through the building.

Math class, the last class of the day. I took in a deep breath of that deliciously toxic air and continued down the hall. My ex-best friend, Kira, walked towards me.

Kira was (Keyword: Was) my only friend in class and the only class we had together was that class- math. And considering being talkative and that class the only time I could be myself, well... I took my seat. The bell beckoned me to my locker. She came over to me. I ignored Kira's existence.

"What's wrong, Dawnie?" She was mocking me. Kira tugged on my sleeve. I grimaced at her; continued to my locker. I struggled with the dial lock, cursing it after the 3rd failed-attempt.

"Ah, I see."

"What?"

"You're in your little mood."

"What are you talking about?"

"You think the world is all about you and your little issues, and your depression, and your sadness. You think because somebody else doesn't acknowledge your issues, you shouldn't say hello, because you're having a bad day. Well, guess what..."

I stopped listening and began digging in my locker for nothing after the "guess what" to prevent me from choking her. She left me alone when she noticed I wasn't listening to her speech.

That's when he stopped at my locker. "Washington Road" boy, Chris. The kid who lives in a ghetto neighborhood that talks prim and proper. The kid almost all the popular white girls call "Oreo" behind his back because he's all black outside, and white inside. The kid who spent all of his time during the summer tormenting me for going out with his best friend instead of being happy for us. The kid who loved to point out I was ugly, chubby, and stupid. The perfect combo ✨

He did it so much I believed it, and so did Quinton apparently, because he broke up with me because, and I quote, I'm just not his "type" anymore. I didn't know types change in a matter of 4 weeks. You learn something new everyday.

"What do you want?"

"Just wanted to tell you something," Chris said with a coke and a smile. I put my hand on my hip and tried to look as "I hate your guts" as humanly possible.

"I love you."

Well. That escalated quickly.

I looked him in the eye. Sneered. Then started DYING laughing.

"Wait..." I wiped a tear from my eye. I centered myself. "Are you dead __?"

"Yes."

There were tears in his eyes. I stopped laughing.

"Are you... Are you crying? I'm sorry, I didn't mean to-" Then I started laughing harder.

"Man, this isn't a freaking fairy tale where the antagonist gets with the main character." I cupped his cheek. "You're officially a psychopath whose obsessed with me if you think I'll ever fall for that again."

I WALKED AWAY LIKE I WAS THE BADDEST SIS ON THE MARKET.

Suddenly, he turned me around.

"You'll regret that, powerless freak."

The powerless part? That's something everyone knows about me, I'm the only one at school without powers. Being called a freak? That's something I couldn't tolerate. He'd done that before, and in a way it triggered me.

In a rage, I did something I never thought I'd do.

I made him... disappear. He exploded before my eyes.

Blood everywhere, his skin and remains burning.

___________________

NOTE FROM THE AUTHOR

Hey Guys! Thank you for reading chapter two of my web-novel, Ugly. If you liked this chapter, be sure to follow to be notified when there is another chapter! To also further support my writings, you can send me a gift below! <3

Instagram: @princessshangwe

Personal Instagram: @lilkemet

humanity
1

About the Creator

Makeba Shangwe

╭── ⋅ ⋅ ── ✩ ── ⋅ ⋅ ──╮

I am a

✨Singer-Songwriter✨

✨Screenwriter✨

✨Author✨

✨Pianist✨

⚡ My goal is to spread love and educate the world through music and writing. ⚡

_________

15 year old, TCHS- Sophomore 💕

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.