Humans logo

UGLY: Chapter One

I May Not Clean My Room But That Doesn't Make Me A Hoarder.

By Makeba ShangwePublished 4 years ago 3 min read
2
My room.

I'm ugly.

Not your average kind of ugly. I'm ugly ugly. Like "GOOD GOD, WHAT HAPPENED TO HER?!" ugly. There are three things you need to know before you read this.

1. I'm ugly. (We've established that one)

2. I'm not that smart.

3. Have you ever seen those commercials where people screw up the simplest tasks in the most ridiculous manner? Yeah, that's this story.

Excellent.

Now that we've got introductions out the way, we can begin the story.

I woke up on the wrong side of the bed. It rained particularly hard that morning. I replayed the night's events in my mind, all of those emotions rushing to me. I placed my feet on the ground and walked over to my window. The pitter-patter-rum-pum-pa of the rain is what woke me up out of my slumber. I rolled to the other side of the bed to check the clock. It's 7:30 am.

I missed the bus.

Frick.

My entire life flashed before my eyes before my dad barged in my room.

"Wake up!" He angrily shouted as he gently pushed the door to the wall, careful not to make a further indent where the former residents of our home had.

I jump out of bed and cover my ears in an attempt to avoid what I knew was coming. His insistent mumbling.

"This room isn't ever clean... You act like a hoarder. Look at this. Look! It's never..."

You know, if I got a dollar for every time he told me my room isn't clean, I'd be rich. No matter how much I clean my room, it's never clean in his eyes. Hopefully, this is actually the matrix, and Morpheus will come out sometime soon to ask me "Will you take the red pill? Or the blue pill?"

And trust me I would take the red pill.

I slumped down the carpet steps, trying not to fall as my head spins like vinyl on a turntable. It's especially cold downstairs, odd because my mom likes it toasty in the house. I pour my milk, then my cereal. I'm prepared to eat when my mom rushes down the stairs. "Come on, it's 7:20!" she whines and grabs her purse.

Guess my clock is 10 minutes late.

My backpack runs after me, lunch hanging from its tail.

By the time we made it to the car, the bus was already pulling to the corner to pick us up. I smack my teeth.

"Go ahead and catch the bus," my mom says before giving me a kiss on my forehead and sending me on my way. I board the bus and sit way in the back. I look out the window as we pull into school. The school is tacky white and boring beige. The sky is a beautiful blue with white streaks of paint stroked on top, drifting like watercolor drying slowly on a canvas. It spreads and separates like cotton above me. "Beautiful," I whisper. I see people passing me in my reflection.

"Excuse me-" I say, standing up to get in the line.

The sandy-haired boy known as Mark pushes me down in the seat. He sneers.

"Wait."

And so I did.

As student's crammed into the double doors, I sigh as I look up at the sign that screams my school's name: Arcadia High School.

<<Note from the Author>>

Hey Guys! Thank you for reading chapter one of my web-novel, Ugly. If you liked this chapter, be sure to follow to be notified when there is another chapter!

Social:

Instagram: @princessshangwe

2nd Instagram: @lilkemet

humanity
2

About the Creator

Makeba Shangwe

╭── ⋅ ⋅ ── ✩ ── ⋅ ⋅ ──╮

I am a

✨Singer-Songwriter✨

✨Screenwriter✨

✨Author✨

✨Pianist✨

⚡ My goal is to spread love and educate the world through music and writing. ⚡

_________

15 year old, TCHS- Sophomore 💕

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.