Humans logo

TOXIC FRIENDSHIP

How to manage your toxic friendship?

By SAFIRA ARNETTE C.SPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
4
Image: today.line.me

Currently, not a few people are trapped with toxic Friendships. It is true if we need Friends in everyday life. But keep pushing yourself in an environment that does not make you feel uncomfortable is also not a good idea.

I think friendship must have a reciprocal relationship. Not just take advantage of someone, friendship isn't really like that. Someone maybe even not realizes that they're being in a toxic environment. You're better to need to identify does this relationship includes a toxic environment or not. You can find out with some of these things:

They always take advantage of you

People like this just come when they just need something. Also known as when they're don't need anything then they will immediately leave you and ignore you. Dude, people like this it's so annoying aren't they?.

Be a negative person

Usually, people like this always give negative attitudes that will make you feel uncomfortable. One example is always giving scathing criticism without ever giving you a compliment. To be honest, I hate these people.

They don't care whatever your problem

This is one of the most important things to pay attention to, having a friend should be able to make us have a support system. But if what happened is the opposite, they don't care and just comes when she just needs something, obviously, they can fall into a category of a toxic friendship. The three-character above are only a small part. But can be decisive are in toxic Friendship or not.

I have a friend that trapped in a toxic circle of friends, the circle that makes she can't be herself. She said that having a friend like that is really bad. Where you should be having fun with your friend, explore many things, enjoy spending time together, and be healing, but it actually makes you feel 'depressed'.

I also ever in a toxic friendship, where when all my friends just come when they're need something like to do homework to get a good score and cling to me every time to get a treat. At the time I had many friends. Yeah, I obviously feel happy that I have many friends. But apparently have a lot of friends don't guarantee they will always be by your side.

When I was at the lowest point in my life when I need someone to give a hug and encouraging words when I need someone to accompany me when I cry relieving tightness in the chest, I try to find my friends, looking around trying to get hold of a hand, but they not there. They leave me alone like we're not friends or actually I'm the one who thinks we're friends.

I'm alone from the many friends I have, when I need somebody and falling, no one is ready to accompany me. And in the end, I just laughed, how stupid am I to think that they really want to be my friends, even though I'm only being used. Until finally I put limits on myself and give myself space and stay away from them. Make me feel comfortable and free. If you're also ever to feel this or are in a toxic environment, there are several ways to avoid it :

Setting a boundaries

Setting boundaries between you and them is so important, so you don't get used to it in a toxic environment.

Dare to say no

Don't be a people pleaser, who always accept other people's request and feels bad to refuse. Please don't be like this. If you keep going like that, people will be happier to take advantage of you. If you won't just say no. Don't feel bad, if you dare to say no, then they will stop taking advantage of you.

Talk to them about their attitude that you don't like

But it's nothing wrong if you are honest with them so later they can change. Tell them about what attitude and traits do you dislike about her.This way can change them to better behavior, though maybe not, there's no harm to trying.

Get away for a while

Continuing to survive in a toxic environment will clearly have a bad impact on yourself. It's good to take distance and get a rest. Stay away from them and try to get a new friendship that isn't toxic and also makes you comfortable.

In the present, we need a person who can be a support system. Then look at a relationship that isn't toxic exactly in a friendship. The support system doesn't have to come from friends but can boyfriend or girlfriend and family.

If you're in a toxic relationship right now, then remember how to solve it like the 4 steps above. You don't have to force yourself to be in a toxic relationship, indeed we don't want to lose friends, Nobody wants it, Neither I do. But if you persist it will only be a negative impact on you then there's nothing wrong with looking for a better friend.

friendship
4

About the Creator

SAFIRA ARNETTE C.S

I am interested in writing about teenager life, poetry, and story about my life.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.