Humans logo

South Sudanese TikTok'er Who Handles Thousands of Colorist Hate Comments From Africans

Why are Africans lying about being loving and accepting when they aren't?

By IwriteMywrongsPublished 13 days ago 3 min read
1
Collage Created by Author

Sunday, 5 May 2024

By TB Obwoge

This is what I've been writing about for years, my life in Ghana, where I first encountered Black Africans insulting darker skinned Africans. As a Black American, I've always known of the deep seeded colorism in the Black community.

However, never thought I would openly find Ghanaians using terms like "blackie and darky" as nicknames, which they call house names. I was told more than enough times to, "relax its a nickname!"

Once I was willing to risk it all and bash someone in the face, he walked into the tiny pub, where I was seated across from my now ex-fiancé. He raised his hand, as he told me its just a nickname. I told him no it wasn't it was insulting and ignorant.

The man that called him that was typical of what I had experienced in Ghana, either they ignore you or look at my light-Black skin and want to hit me, as a woman I learned this was all too common in Ghana. Not only the colorism but the blatant disrespect of women.

I have been working on a lengthy TikTok video about this influencer from South Sudan.

I was so angry from reading the comments left under her videos. She is almost at one million followers. Despite being from South Sudan, she's living in Canada.

I used to watch her TikTok Lives often. I wondered how she endured life in freezing cold Canada. 

After I started following her, I started noticing the bullying comments, don't even understand how they are able to make such hateful comments on the platform. Also they're all Black Africans, no surprise to me but it is annoying to turn around and hear the old trope about how loving, kind and accepting all Africans are.

They aren't but this party line is always posted some where on social media. Ghanaians aren't the only proclaiming their the most loving and accepting.

The comments are mostly from Africans from Southern Africa, even though it is very easy to spot the several Kiswahili speakers, many from Kenya.

Africa has an extreme racism, colorism and anti-Blackness problem. From the othering of light-skin people, to the hatred for darker skin tones. The bullying and even physical brutality towards darker Africans is insane.

PanAfricanist ignore this, they ignore most issues, while pushing this bullshit narrative that Africa is the most perfect place on earth. They make excuses like, "we're developing!" Or, "The west is to blame for the decline in Africa!"

Where is the west when it comes to the tribalism, colorism and hatred from African to African?

The "Whites" are too blame for everything, even during a conversation about the lack of development someone proclaims, Ghana has only been independent for 67-years. It was an embarassing comment, if a human was failing to life after 67-years people would have no pity.

While the number gold producer in the world is failing at almost everything. Ranked 125 out of 183 countries for education, rampant ignored poverty and 3 areas of tribal violence.

Yet skin-bleaching and colorism are still one of the other ignored issues in Ghana.

Below is one of the most recent comments, one of the worst worded insults, as the person doesn't seem to master English. In the comment, they're pretending to be from South Africa, many people claimed she's from Zambia or Zimbabwe.

Screenshot from TikTok

The young woman that posted the comment quickly made her page private, she had 69 followers, then a little over 100 followers. After some hours, she changed her TikTok account name, she now has a growing following which is well over 200 followers.

There were many people that agreed with her hateful comment, she tried to insinuate that she was "dirty" because of her skin color being darker.

Screenshot from TikTok

The South Sudanese TikTok'er is also the mother to 5 children, people even post hateful comments about her children. Which is the lowest thing another human can do, to insult a child. These people are mostly adults doing this.

Thank you for reading 🙏🏽 Please consider buying a coffee for Lacey’s House efforts in Gender Equality & Children’s Rights.

©️TB Obwoge 2024 All Rights Reserved

humanitysocial media
1

About the Creator

IwriteMywrongs

I'm the president of a nonprofit. I've lived in 3 countries, I love to travel, take photos and help children and women around the world! One day I pray an end to Child Marriages, Rape and a start to equal Education for ALL children 🙏🏽

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Alex H Mittelman 13 days ago

    Fascinating! Well written! Good questions! Everyone should be more accepting!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.