Humans logo

Towards Autonomy

Battling the "No True Scotsman" Fallacy

By RavensCraft 9Published 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

Change Your Mind

Watching the above video content will give you my perspective on the effect our thoughts have on creating our reality. My understanding of this comes from my study of religious texts, metaphysical texts (some may understand this to be redundant), quantum physics, and Jungian psychology.

The structure of personal autonomy arises in the mind. It arises ideal and whole; shining perfect and complete; appearing so, so far away from our grasp. Chaos Magick is the path I have chosen to create the vision; to carve out the future I desire. Now, I simply must actively await the manifestation of my desire for personal autonomy.

Actively Await?

This is where my intense dedication to learning and applying sustainable practices using the principles of permaculture provides balance and "grounding" to the manifestation of my desire.

One of the twelve principles of sustainable permaculture is "Use small and slow solutions". As I seek the true and best path for me, I recall the words of Marcus Aurelius, "The mind adapts and converts to its own purposes the obstacle to our acting. The impediment to action advances action. What stands in the way becomes the way." (Meditations). I have always been passionate, decisive, and relentless. These traits are powerful tools...but only for certain situations. Disassembling my personal vision of autonomy to its basic parts has allowed me to add wisdom, compassion, and patience to my emotional tool box.

And so, I "actively await". I move with decisively with passion, and am relentless in my pursuit AFTER I have allowed my decision to bask in the soft glow of wisdom and patience. The perspectives gained in this exercise allow me to temper every act with compassion (towards others AND myself). The latter is made more difficult by our indulgence in the "No True Scotsman" logical fallacy.

You Do You

"Piss between your own two feet", were the words of advice I gave my brother one fireside night. "You do what you deem is right for you. Ignore what others think...or what you imagine they think", I continued. He had been struggling with his own version of the logical fallacy.

The "No True Scotsman" logical fallacy may be simplified thus:

Person A: "No Scotsman puts sugar on his porridge."

Person B: "But my uncle Angus is a Scotsman and he puts sugar on his porridge."

Person A: "But no true Scotsman puts sugar on his porridge."

In our endeavors to seek the love and approval of others, we have sought out "true" identities not our own, and set up logical fallacies in order to defend them from our prying eyes. "No True Scotsman" drags us from feelings of accomplishment at our progress into the mire of feeling inadequate because our set-up isn't as complete or autonomous as the guy on the Odysee video.

"Use small and slow solutions" rings in answer. Concentrating on what I can do, right now, to move me one step closer to my desire creates momentum. I balance that with gratitude for where my journey has brought me, to send forth a sustained force capable of manifesting the ideal that arose as a mere thought.

"Should have" belongs to a past that exists only in our minds. "Ought to" is the future of empty wishes. In whatever situation you find yourself, that is your starting point. If you have seen the place of personal autonomy you wish to create, lean into that vision. You are enough. Simply by stepping onto this path, you have shown yourself to be a "True Scotsman".

Peace and Prosperity

humanity
Like

About the Creator

RavensCraft 9

Sustainable permaculture, agorism, and Magick are my favorite endeavors. Writing about them is not far behind.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.