Humans logo

To what extent can people be heartless?

Poor people naturally have a hateful place

By LonetoftPublished 2 years ago 11 min read
Like

When I was 24 years old with great bravado, I used to spend $500 a month to sponsor a 16-year-old girl, then after I learned my lesson and raised a white-eyed wolf, I stopped doing such self-moving things.

The influence of words and examples. My aunt, who believes in Buddhism, always saw homeless people on the roadside when she was shopping for food and felt sorry for them, so she shared the rough steamed buns she bought for lunch at noon with others.

Every time will be friends and family jokes, saying the roadside beggars are fake, you were cheated.

Even though she would be laughed at, she would be happy to share the buns with others, saying, in case one of the ten homeless people is hungry, then their actions will accumulate a blessing.

Auntie likes to teach us, children, teaching us to be kind, to be willing to help others, not to bother with gain and loss, and to do more good deeds to accumulate blessings.

Hear more, I acted in a style quite a bit of aunt style, soft-hearted, soft-hearted, see bad things always want to go forward to help.

I know that what I do can not help others, but only to seek peace of conscience, to seek their comfort.

During my college years, I worked part-time while taking classes, and also took scholarships and grants, all the money added up, enough to cover living expenses and tuition fees, how much money is left each year I'm not sure, but the card has always had money, winter, and summer to work part-time, the money in the card and increased.

When I graduated, my roommates were crying and lamenting the fact that my family did not provide living expenses once I graduated, which was simply miserable.

I looked at the balance of my bank card, well, it's not bad, a small 20,000 is a good thing, and my heart is secretly happy.

The balance on my bank card gave me the confidence to find a job, rent an apartment, buy satisfactory and comfortable furniture and nice clothes, and plan for a free life after graduation.

I graduated at the end of June and the beginning of July, and I already found a job to go to work at the end of July, and my salary was seamless, so I didn't have to worry about not having money to spend.

Among my classmates, some people went to remote areas as teachers, dedicating their youth, to teaching and solving problems, I admire these people, after all, I can not do it myself to go to work so far away.

At that time there are a few small money in my pocket, I have a plan for life, will not spend a lot of money, go to work every day, after work to the market to sell vegetables and cook, and not buy luxury goods, do not buy bags, skin care products are affordable type, others moonlight family, I can still save a lot of money every month.

At that moment, I felt I had grown up and could help others with my abilities, and the idea of sponsoring children was born.

I asked a few classmates, who were also in a state of wanting to do something, full of passion and wanting to give to society, and they all agreed, saying that what I was doing was great and awesome and could help others.

So, several people helped me to find the object of funding, originally wanted to find the elementary school, but the elementary school has difficult children, and all have local people and schools to help, so there is no need.

Secondly, the school where my classmates were from had limited insight, and it wasn't quick to find people who needed help.

After a month or so, just as school was starting, a college classmate sent me a message, saying that a teacher at the school next door to her said that there was a girl in her class who was having a miserable time and wanted to see if there were any good people around to find old clothes from home and wash them for the girl to wear.

My classmate took the initiative to help me ask the other teacher if it would be inappropriate for someone to help the girl go to school and solve the problem of living expenses.

The teacher on the other side was very surprised and said that would be great.

I didn't know much about the formalities, such as how to give the money to the girl, how much money is appropriate to give a month, and how to leave evidence that someone will bite back in the future.

At that time, young, relatively simple, and did not want to return, only with a passion to do.

The classmate said, let me transfer the money to her, she took cash every month to the next school teacher, and the teacher forwarded it to the girl.

Vetoed by me.

A penny has to be transferred three or four times to get to the girl, it is too much trouble, and the middleman has to help run, and people will get tired of it after a long time.

I want to do something good, but I can't force people to do it together.

I talked to the girl on the phone and asked her about her family.

She said very little, was shy, ask a few questions before answering a sentence, and answered and answered with a look of crying, I could not bear to ask. Her father is always in bed recuperating, taking the village's low income, and her mother is gone, taking care of the family as the grandmother, farm, serving the sick son in bed, to bring the grandson to elementary school.

When the girl entered high school, her family asked her to work outside and wait until she was old enough to get married.

It just so happened that her teacher met my classmate and learned that I wanted to sponsor my child's education, so it was an instant match.

I did not look too much into the other person's character, just an arc with her through, think is a gentle and timid girl.

She opened a card, and I would send 500 yuan to the card at the end of each month for her high school living expenses.

Originally, the classmate said that seven or eight hundred a month was only enough and that children nowadays spend a lot of money, and since you want to finance it, don't withhold the whoosh.

I do not agree with her, other children can be generous, that is their parents have the conditions, willing to spoil the child, I do not want to raise a poor mountain child into a spendthrift, think a thousand a month living expenses are still too little, from a luxury into frugality is difficult

For a high school student, eating in the school cafeteria, ensuring adequate nutrition, in school to maintain each meal in five or six is a good level, the end of the month can also be a balance of more than 100 as spending money.

When I was in college, my monthly living expenses were only 700 to 800 yuan.

In the end, I ended up sending her money at the level of 500 yuan a month

At first, she was very grateful to me and would borrow her teacher's phone to send me text messages during New Year's holidays, roughly meaning to thank me for my help.

I also received postcards from her in an envelope to where I lived, interspersed with letters, in a very simple way, in a small essay format, reporting on how things were going, and what the grades were, and ending with the usual thanks to me.

I will rarely reply to her, just a few words, only to urge her to study well, the future examination a good university, so she went to college, my salary will continue to pay part of her college tuition.

At that time, I was looking forward to a few years later, I will provide for a college student, I can proudly say, look, people, girls are more powerful, I have a vision, right?

I had high hopes for her, just as I had reclaimed a piece of wasteland, and diligently watered and fertilized it every day, with the ultimate goal of hoping that this piece of land would grow something.

A year later, the girl's initial junior high school teacher and my classmates said she poked around the girl's recent situation, the decline in performance is very serious, the original or intermediate level, now directly at the bottom of the classmate's group rumors that she played with some people who are not.

I occasionally talk to her on the phone and keep an eye out, asking her how her grades are. I asked her if she had made any new friends.

She talked even less and didn't want to talk much. Sometimes I called her teacher and asked her to call me back after school, but she was always reluctant.

In her teacher's place, my relationship with her, a distant cousin, I would care about her studies every month and give her money to spend, the rest, I did not disclose to her current teacher, afraid that adolescent girls take other people's money shame.

I thought I was disturbing her studies and giving her under pressure, so I reduced the frequency of phone calls, to only once every few months, asking her what she needed.

In fact, at that time I think she may have gone astray, but she is not willing to talk to me, I can not help it.

About the second semester of the second year of high school, her teacher and I said that the girl's performance is no hope for college, but also told me to communicate with her family, to collect their hearts, and to put their minds on learning.

The girl is the good-looking, innocent face, and is youthful.

Classmates and I said that the girl and junior high school graduates go out to work together, often drive a motorcycle to play on weekends, and come home very late at night, who said not to listen.

How far can a person go without conscience?

Soon, I received a phone call from her, three months after I last called her.

When the call was answered, she said on the other end, "Cousin, can you buy me a cell phone? All the students in my class have cell phones."

I didn't expect that she would ask me for a cell phone, and I was a little disappointed that she seemed to have changed.

I didn't refuse right away.

It's not a big deal for a girl of this age to want a cell phone. All the students around her have one, but she doesn't, and she'll feel ostracized.

I told her that I had an old phone with little memory and the phone was a bit stuck, so I got a new phone and could send it to her, but she would have to save it from her living expenses every month.

She said: I don't want the old phone, I've got my eye on a new one, the same as my classmate's, for 3588 yuan.

The moment I heard the price, I was disappointed.

What kind of mood did she have to open her mouth to ask me, a person with no relationship, for a phone whose price was 3588 yuan, and I was already working and using a phone that was only 1999 yuan?

Not clear about their positioning, this is easy to corrupt a person's heart.

Her family is poor, her father is sick, and her grandmother is getting old, at this juncture, she should study hard to get into college to take an easier path, in the case of grades down to the bottom, she still approached me for a cell phone.

I said, or wait for your semester ranking than the current progress of 15, I will buy you a new phone within 2,000 yuan as a reward.

She instantly got upset and disliked me twice, "Do you need to be so stingy? I thought you were rich, it's all pretend."

After that, she disliked me for only giving 500 too little each month, adding money, I was not willing to give, and her attitude towards me was even worse, not to make a phone call for several months.

Later, I heard that she did not go to the exams, and some hooligans mixed, and the teacher how to call can not call back, I also stopped giving her money, and she called me several times to scold me why I do not pay.

I said, you study I give money, you do not study to mix with society, I do not have to give.

She said a series of curse words and never called me again.

A few years of money, although not much, who knows finally raised a white-eyed wolf, is really sad.

I did not say this to my family, afraid that they say I am stupid, and that I was cheated, can only say, in the future to do things to consider more three, think clearly before doing

friendshiphumanitysatire
Like

About the Creator

Lonetoft

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.