Humans logo

To The Girl With No Self Esteem.

I'm right there with you.

By Amanda NicolePublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
To The Girl With No Self Esteem.
Photo by Wolfgang Hasselmann on Unsplash

To The Girl With No Self Esteem,

I'd like to start this letter by saying that I'm right there with you. I don't have any either. I don't know that I ever did. But that's what this letter is about. It's about why we don't have any. Maybe you were bullied in school, Maybe you were abused in a relationship? What caused you to not have any. Think of the reason right now. Whatever the reason is I want you to know that it is NOT your fault. Whoever hurt you was projecting their pain onto you, while that's not fair or nice. It's the truth. But what I want to you know is this: You do matter! I know you think you don't. And I have those days as well. I seem to think nobody cares about me and I'm better off alone and that I deserved to be abused by my ex. And while the last one isn't true! Nobody deserves to be abused. I have to remember that I'm not alone and that people do care about me. I'm not alone because I know people have the same struggles as me. It's not easy to remember. Today I just wanted to lay in bed and do nothing. But I couldn't, I had work to do. Somedays I feel like I'm bothering everyone around me and I would be better off on a different planet all alone. And sometimes I feel like people are only talking to me because they want to be nice, not because they want to. Can you relate? If so, welcome to the party! If not, I hope you're enjoying your life with self esteem. I'd love to know what that's like. I'm glad you have self esteem though. But for those of us that don't. I'd like to say something: You can find the self esteem you deserve! I'm working on it daily. It's difficult for sure but it's necessary. Or is society telling us to find it? I'm not sure anymore.

I think the HARDEST thing I'm trying to learn is that just because someone doesn't talk to you all the time doesn't mean they don't care about you. I know it hurts. And especially on those days where you really need someone to reach out because they want to. I understand those days, believe me! I have a lot of them. But I think the thing we need to learn is that there are people in the world who WILL respond to us and be there when we need them to be. And they'll do it without us even having to ask. They'll just be there for us. They'll make time for us and it won't be a burden. They won't be doing a us a favor. They will genuinely want to talk to us. And the best part is? They won't leave. I know that's hard to believe since so many people have left us in the past after giving us the impression that they might actually stay? But when we find the right people they'll actually stay. It won't be a burden. They will have hearts and care about us. And it won't be too good to be true. It's always to good to be true, isn't it? Well this time it won't be. But first we need to find our worth and self esteem. That's the hardest task of all. It will take alot of work on our part. Will we sometimes feel like giving up? Of course we will! I feel like giving up all the time.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Amanda Nicole

Hey I'm Amanda! I'm a writer, Podcaster and a pet sitter. I'm much more then that! Read my stories to find out :)

https://linktr.ee/gilmorepretty

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.