Humans logo

Goodbye Love

I'm Better Off Alone

By Amanda NicolePublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
Goodbye Love
Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

I was sitting in church this morning and my pastor was talking about love. And how Love is patient and kind and bears all things and endures all things and never ends. While that is both a bible verse and a qoute from one of my favorite movies. I disagree with that qoute and here's why: Love shatters you, it changes you in a way that you won't always like. It cracks you open like a walnut and devastates you. It makes you see things in gray. Love is not rainbows and butterflies. Love can sometimes hurt you in ways you never saw coming. And while they say love shouldn't hurt, and I do agree with that statement. I also don't believe in love. Love is for suckers. Love is not for the faint of heart. Love can change you in ways you didn't want to change. It can distract you and make you see things you never saw before.

Love is not something I have room for in my life. See I'm done with romantic love. It grosses me out. Seeing people in love makes me cringe. I'm over it. I'm over stolen glances and inside jokes, I'm over late night texts and phone calls. I'm over it all. I'm over the feelings and happiness. I'm done with it all. See all of that is superficial. It's all a lie. Love isn't any of that crap. Love is when a dog comes into your room on it's own. It's when a cat comes over to you and cuddles with you when you're in tears. Animals do love better then humans. Animals give us the most pure form of love possible. No conditions, No ulterior motives. Just pure love. I will no longer be giving my love to humans. I will only be loving animals.

I'm over love, I'm better off alone. I'm better off sleeping alone and going through life on my own. Love hasn't been good to me. I'm over the hurt when it ends. The feeling empty, the heartache, the tears, the five stages of grief. I'm tired of it all. Looking at a blank phone that was once filled with messages or calls. I'm tired of hoping deep down that I could actually settle down and relax? Not going to happen. Love is not something I will ever experience. So with that goodbye love. Goodbye feeling happy, goodbye feeling loved. I've learned I can feel loved when my cat sits with me or when my dog licks my nose. I can feel happy knowing that my pets love me more then they can express. I can feel happy knowing they appreciate me and all I do for them. I can feel loved when my pets sleep next to me in bed. I can feel loved when my dog checks on me during a panic attack or when my cat follows me into the restroom. I don't need a human to feel loved. I have my pets. Pets that have been there through thick and thin and loved me more then a man ever could. I'm done with romantic love. Never again will I trust someone like that. I'm over it. So don't set me up, don't make me a profile on a dating site. Just think of someone else. Find someone else. I'm not worth it darling. You'd be better off without me. I'd be better off alone. So as Miley Cyrus would say "I can buy myself flowers, write my name in the sand" Talk to myself for hours. I can do it all bye.

dating
Like

About the Creator

Amanda Nicole

Hey I'm Amanda! I'm a writer, Podcaster and a pet sitter. I'm much more then that! Read my stories to find out :)

https://linktr.ee/gilmorepretty

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.