Humans logo

To Paint or not to Paint

from: King of Poachers

By Jamie DavisPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
2

It was in the spring of 78 and I was finally 11 years old. 5th grade was finally being a blast first camp Terramar. basketball tournament a date, well sort of she held my hand in the movie theater. Now we had 5th grade career day and I picked Art. Why not I was pretty darn good at it so why not be a cartoonist or comic book artist, right? it made a whole lot of since.

We all had to get a signed note from our parents (moms) of course. we also had to bring a sack lunch. I came to school that day completely prepared and as we where getting ready for the bus trip from Myrtle Creek Oregon to Roseburg Oregon. Mrs. Hunter our 5th grade teacher pull Kathy W. and I to the side.

It seems she said that we where the only 2 to pick Art out of over 100 students from our school. So she said we will be in another school group. WHAT THE!! is there even such a thing as joining another school group? I had not idea and was wondering if my mom would even approve as she did not approve of a lot of my ideas. Like making my brother Jeff share a room with our little sister Fran, this way I could have my own room, right?

So as I was just starting to ponder this moment, Mrs. Hunter then puts her hands on both our shoulder and looks at Kathy W. and then me then back to Kathy without so much as a bat of an eye. Kathy your in charge. Ya a girl has just ben promoted over me and it was Kathy W. who was in charge. I was no way and the little voice in my head was just getting ready to protest this injustice. You two walk hand in hand if you have to, you will share you lunch together and do not stray away. the last part was clearly for me I suppose. Then she says Kathy if you have grab him by the ear and lead him OK.

Dad made it clear to me that there would be days like this and it is better to just let it go. If you argue you will lose and look foolish in front of the other boys. So like a good guy I let it go and plotted for another day. I remember getting on the bus with Kathy W. and we arrived I believe at the Roseburg Fairgrounds. form there there we where redirected to another school bus. funny I do not remember as Kathy was dragging me and I was following.

I remember being introduce to another teacher and there was a parent there and kathy had made it clear she was the leader. Ya I forgot to say something and retake the lead and also I was not really sure what was going on except I was not in charge and we where walking over to the Douglas county Museum. I remember this being our first stop on Art and some other subjects like Archaeologist, ya we got bumped in with those guys. who knew?

I remember other place and events and Kathy was still in charge but I was denying her the chance to grab me by the ear. A boy has to keep some dignaty in front of a girl. So there we at another gallery and some one tells me there some more painting in the side room so We walked in there to check out some more painting. hmm. this was not part of the plot. they where nudes! HOLY CRAP!! DOUBLE HOLY CRAP!!! Nude paintings and I mean there was a small room of them just waiting to be seen.

I up till then knew you could draw nudes but you should not as your mom will not approve of it, right? Oh wait maybe it was just my mom not approving of a nude Wonder Woman. just for the record she was in a bathing suit. But mom told my Aunts that it was a nude of Wonder Woman. end of debate, thanks dad.

I only remember suddenly I can fell my ear hurting and Kathy W. cover her eyes with one hand and dragging me out scolding me and I was like, WAIT. there's more! But she would not here of it and soon these adults where laugh at me. and one of them said Yup better get use to it buddy.

Ok embarking right, nope not done yet almost but not yet. this story is not over, OK! So I remember eating lunch with Kathy and I remember she shared a cookie from her lunch and the whole time she was jabbering away and I was like, man I hope she does not tell my mom.

The next day every one had to do a verbal report and right away Kathy W. hand shot up and says I have our report ready Mrs. Hunter. I was wait what report? really I did not know we had to do a report. Oh wait lunch she, Kathy mentioned a report was due. Oh ya. great I am toast. But good o Kathy laid out our report and just Jabber (talked) right though. then Mrs. Hunter interrupted her and ask one question. What about James? is he going to help with the report. i was like OH great not again. Really how many time can I get set up by these two in one week. I was in total panic mode.

Oh do not worry I am saving the last part for James as seeing it is part to play. I was relived and then I was asking my self, his part to play? what is she talking about. Set up and I was it again, there really is no Justice for me at all. So suddenly Kathy is done and say. Tell them about the painting James. I was like what paintings? she was like you know the place with the private back room paintings. I was like oh you mean the room with all of the nude painting in them.

Silence hits the room, you cold hear a frog fart and a mouse sneeze from across the room. then it hit my head on the desk and every class mate in a uproar. holy crap and holy cow. I had been set up and I had walked right into it without so much as a plan of retreat. Superior forces ran by a General with big Brown Eyes had just destroyed me. I was so embarrassed what more could I do?

Just so you know I finally got over it. Therapy is great even after all these years. Good job Kathy W.

satire
2

About the Creator

Jamie Davis

Born in E. Oregon and grew up in south wester Oregon in South Douglas County. But there was a short time you would think we where gypsy's

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.