Families logo

Fishing with a 6-pack and a Shark

from King of Poacher's

By Jamie DavisPublished 3 years ago 9 min read
1

Our family always took a week camping trip on the Coast of Oregon, Brooking-Harbor. Back then in 1978 you could still camp on some parts of the beach, there was a place near the river Chetco, My brother Jeff and I each had our own one man tent. Now we did not camp close to the water because of High Tide and other campers walking on the beach of course.

was standing there with sleep in my eyes as the mist hugged ground coming across the ocean hugging each others It only took be a but a second though to realize my mother was mixing up some Plastic milk. Ugh!! This was kids code word for powder milk. The worst part about plastic milk was that mom always used Luke warm water. double Ugh!!

I passed on corn flakes that morning and my younger brother Jeff seen my face as I looked at him and mouth silently “PLASTIC MILK” he and i may not agree on any thing but he and I would collaborate together when it came to Plastic milk. I seen the look of disappointment in his eyes and they rolled back and he ‘signed’. I told mom I was not really hungry and she just looked at me with that ‘ya right mom look’ but she knew I would not eat it.

I was soon putting our gear and supplies into the back of the ‘o blue’ our blue truck I knew we had sandwich and I just figured I would rough it out till lunch. It was clear Jeff was of like mind. Putting the boat gas tank in to the back of o’ blue” I yelled “shot gun” and as usual my brother yelled it too late.

As we fought over the rider side mirror of the truck, Dad looked at Jeff and gave him the look.” you know you get it coming home, he called it first better luck next time” We soon arrive at the Harbor store and followed dad inside. straight away he went to the beer cooler and grab 2 6-pack of beers and I grabbed 4 jerky stick and a pack of butter horn Danish I told Jeff to grab to cans of coke, off he went.

As dad got up to pay for his beer, I put down the butter horns and 4 sticks of Jerky Jeff comes in behind me and put 2 cans of coke up. Now we had sandwich and chips in the ice chest and we had a milk jug of fresh water.

Dad look at me with a humor look on his face. “forgot breakfast huh, what no Plastic milk?”

Now he and I establish a truce on the subject, if he was not going to drink it I did not have to either, that was the Golden Rule, If one parent did not eat something the that was a little kid get out of free card” and go figure I had parent that like steam broccoli and cauliflower. just my luck. UGH””

“Better not let your mom find out because I will be using your tent and you will be in the back of a cold truck!” was all he said. as for the 4 jerky stick 1 was for 1 was for Jeff and 2 for dad, that was the standard bribe. With that we left and outside I soon jumped into the back of o’ blue and grab both gas tank, Dad paid the man and he poured the fuel in. He put the tanks in the back and I stayed in the back. season fisher man was I as I knew he preferred I be back there to watch the tanks and gear.

With that he parked near the pier and soon I was off loading every thing to Dad and Jeff. Dad carried both 6 gallons gas tanks and we carried the rest. we each grab an end of the ice chest and carried it down to the boat. Now our boat was a standard 14 foot Dory , it was build with 1 inch ply wood and dad had only just laid fiber glass on the outside to help with the water damage.

The boat was the painted blue and it was our boat. I had been on the ocean for now 3 years in this boat. I never once consider its plywood Hull a danger, I never once consider a wave flipping us over I was only now 12 years old. but I was still haunted by the movie JAWS. A that was not going away for awhile.

Dad walked up to the truck and parked it in the parking area and walked back to the boat. Jeff was allergy in side and I was on the Pier waiting as It would be my job to untie us and then climb in last. this always made me nervous as I may have had phobia of salt water now. Soon i was in and we hit the river and out into the Ocean we traveled. I soon looked out West ward and looking out I seen a ‘Ship on the Horizon’ and soon dad turned south towards Camel Rock. this was a rock that was sort of between Oregon and California. I was under then impression that it was a boundary marker. any way that is what I was told. I never argued the statement. The mist was light but wet and the sky was gray. with luck the sun would come out by 9 or 10 maybe.

Soon we where anchored in and fishing for Bottom fish. I had my transistor radio on and had fresh battery soon I was listening to some song and bopping my head back and forth. we where not getting any bite so me moved on lineally after 30,minutes. this would go on a few more times and soon there where more boats out in the water. I soon spied a nice big yacht with a giant American Flag hanging off the back end. Looking westward I could see the mist was not a bad and I could no longer see the Ship on the Horizon it had sailed northward towards Coos Bay or perhaps Port land.

“Shark!” Jeff practically yelled out. I followed his finger as he pointed and sure enough there was his fin. he was traveling towards us and soon turned right beside he boat on my side. I got a good look at him.

” 10 feet maybe” dad says. 4 more feet he would be bigger that the boat and then he be JAWS! says dad.

I was like woe there way to much info dad, but next thing I know he grabs the gaffing hook and soon start banging on the side of the boat. Soon he is making the famous JAW’s movie theme song sound. “Dum dum dum dum....”

Then I hear it. Jeff is in his full panic mode. Snot was running out of his nose and his mouth was puckered up and yes the tears where rolling out. bubbling he looked at me and beg me to get dad to stop. I looked at him with bemusement and smile at the Irony of what was happening. like our dad was going to listen to me.

And on and on he went with the Dum dum dum..... banging on the side of the boat. Soon that shark was swimming around us. Just so you know this shark was either a blue shark or a sand shark not sure and really not caring as I was also a little spook. When we had watch JAWS at the drive in during my 4th grade year Jeff hid in the station wagon while I sat by my self outside the car on an old blanket shivering from the cold! you believe me about the cold right? good it was cold that night and that is a part I will stick to in this story!

So here we where sitting clearly a mile or so form shore probably closer to 2 miles not sure as I had a new dilemma on my hand at the moment.

Jeff give me you Danish and coke and I will get him to start.” ya that was my answer for this moment. Hey I was hungry. the look on his face was priceless then it hit . total water works and I mean he was crying. Dad was not noticing this and I was sitting there looking left towards Jeff and then right toward Dad and then all the way around the boat the shark. Seriously how worse could it get. So starring out on the Horizon seeing the ship s and boats.

Hey dad is that a Coast Guard boat. was all that came out of my mouth right then. i was looking at that big yacht with the flag and I smile in side know the right answer was in front of me. I looked over at Jeff and gave him the do not say a word look or die little brother die. Timing is everything and as the shark had past the rear of the boat. Dad is turned and looking out toward the Horizon searching for the coast guard and hiding his BEER!

I stealthy reach into the cooler and pulled out his last 6-pack of beer. with the grace of a water nymph. yes I had just started playing Dungeon and Dragon 2nd edition. and gracefully place my right hand in to the water and let go. why into the water. Mom had made it clear if the old man gets drunk make the beer disappear faster. Ya mom and I also had a secret arraignment for quite some years. now.

I soon sat back and wiped my right hand and at that dad tuned to me.

“No its a yacht. one day we will own one like that and our flag will be bigger.! with that he took a drink and looks at the beer can and tells me to get him another one.

Boom so fast already. My heart was pounding away from putting my hand in the water and here I was now looking him in the eye like a sweet little 12 year old big blue eyes and sandy blond hair. Crap was all I could here in my head and here we go again.

I looked over at Jeff and seen the look on his face. Total of Crap was all it said. I just turned and reached into the cooler and paused. looking up at my father I says to him. ”:your all out dad.” the art of lying in the moment of the heat of danger is an ancient child vs. parent tug of war.

with that he looks at me puzzled and No I bought 2 6-pack I have another one.

no day your out look was my reply.

He was staring at me with his dark green eyes. and I mean he was staring me down daring me to fart at that moment and I almost did just then.

He leans over toward the chest and pulled next to himself and looks in. His head was hung down low and then he looks me in the eyes pointing those two same finger. You are really starting to remind me of your mother!!”

I honestly took that as a compliment. I just stared at him in total silent 12 year old defiant.

with that he started the boat and said all kind of things but I had tuned him out with my little radio listening to the local radio station. He did not take me fishing again that summer. and Jeff never said a word about it except. “ Do you think that shark drank that beer?

parents
1

About the Creator

Jamie Davis

Born in E. Oregon and grew up in south wester Oregon in South Douglas County. But there was a short time you would think we where gypsy's

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.