Humans logo

To My Friend

An Open Letter

By Elisha McLemorePublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

Dear Erica,

I don’t even know where to start because there are almost no words to express what an amazing friend you are. I’m still reeling from the kindness you just showed me recently and I’m thoroughly convinced you’re a literal angel.

You FaceTimed me a couple of days ago and caught me in the middle of a emotional upheaval. I made a really silly mistake that was going to cost me $79. Money aside, I was more upset at myself for allowing it to occur in the first place. So there I was, berating myself and you FaceTime me. As soon as you see my face, you immediately ask me what’s wrong. The concern in your voice was too much for me to bear and I burst into tears. Between sobs, I explained to you what happened and before I can say another word, you told me you sent me $80 through Zelle. Just that quick and just as easy, the money was in my account and the problem solved.

I was, and still am, thunderstruck by your generosity. Who does something like this? You, Erica. You. I didn’t even have to ask. I didn’t even have intentions on asking. But you saw the need and fulfilled it. In that moment, I’ve never felt more cared for and loved. I have no idea what I did to deserve a friend like you.

We’ve only known each 3 years but you’ve become a sister to me. I must admit, in the beginning, I resisted letting you in my heart. Fear of being hurt and fear of someone getting close, I suppose. But you kept being the authentic person you are and you got through to me. I’m so happy you did. I needed a friend like you even though I acted like I didn’t. The laughter, the shared secrets and time spent together has turned into a friendship I’m so blessed to have.

In the next couple of years, I’ll move to Houston, where we’ll get a house together. I get so excited thinking about how our lives will be. Moving to a new town can be daunting but I know I’ll be ok because you’ll be there with me every step of the way. We will build our lives together like we built this friendship; with trust, honest communication and mutual respect. I know we’ll both become better because of this shared experience. I know, without a doubt, you’ll be the best roommate ever as I begin this new chapter of my life.

Erica, my dear friend, you are a light. You’re kind, intelligent, willing to share your knowledge, loving, giving almost to a fault and truly a gift. When I need a shoulder to cry on, you’re there. When I need a laugh, you always deliver because you’re funny as all get out. I’m stunned I get to call you my friend. This world is a better place because you are in it.

When you recently contracted COVID-19, I don’t think I ever been more scared. Watching you fight for your life was the hardest thing I ever had to witness. I have never prayed harder for anyone’s recovery. All that ran through my mind for those 3 weeks was, “please don’t let my friend die.” When you began to feel better, I felt a relief so deep, I cried.

I can’t imagine my life without you in it. You’re as part of me as any one my siblings. I know that we were destined to be friends; it was written on the stars. I can’t wait to get to Houston and embark on this journey with you. I know it will be filled with laughter and good times and even if bad times occur, it will be alright because we have each other.

Erica, thank you being you. Thank you for seeing the good I have within me. Thank you for choosing me to be your friend. Thank you for all that you are. You mean the the world to me and you always will. I love you, Sis.

Forever your friend,

Elisha

friendship
Like

About the Creator

Elisha McLemore

I like to write.✨

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.