Humans logo

They Call Me Stubborn

Just say I can’t and I’ll show you I can

By Colleen Millsteed Published 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
Top Story - September 2022
29
Image courtesy of Pixabay

Once upon a time there was a princess — I groan in anger because I hate it. It’s not good enough, I say to myself as I throw the paper to the floor.

Once upon a time in a place far, far away — oh that’s been done before, you fool, do something original. Scrunching the paper and letting it fall to the floor to join the rest down there.

Suddenly, I hear giggling coming from the corner of the room and my head whips around.

“Whose there?” I ask with a scowl.

From the dark corner steps a gorgeous hunk of a man, dressed from head to toe in pink and covered in tattoos. Mmmmmm, sex on a stick.

I can’t help but smile as my heart skips a beat.

“Hello dear, do you know who I am?” He responds in his sexy deep voice.

Oh stop, I order my racing heart. So his voice comes from way down in his boots — who cares!

“They call me Impostor Syndrome, and I’m the reason for all those scrunched up pieces of paper tossed all over the floor,” he chortles with mirth.

“Hello, Imposter Syndrome, it’s obvious you never did the research on your next target. You see they call me Stubborn and I’ll let you in on a little secret. If you ever want me to do something, all you’ve got to do is tell me I can’t and you’ll soon find out what it is exactly that I can do,” I retort back at him in glee.

I continue to taunt him, "Don't think your sexy good looks, your baritone voice that fills your boots or the fact you're dressed gloriously in pink from head to toe, and don't get me started on your sexy tattooed body. None of that will distract me, so go take a running hike Mr……..Impostor……..Syndrome."

Once upon a time I met a gorgeous hunk of a man dressed in pink……yada, yada, yada.

Oh yes, I’ve just written the perfect first sentence of my new fiction story. Thanks to Mr Impostor Syndrome.

**********************************************************************

I think it is safe to say that most writers and authors feel, at same stage of their writing career, or hobby, as the case may be, that they are an impostor.

This feeling is commonly called ’Impostor Syndrome’ and it’s been the topic of many great articles. I’ve even written a poem on this very subject.

All in all it’s a common malady of, not just our trade, but many people who complain of this feeling in their careers, their hobbies and even in their social lives.

So it is with this knowledge, that I decided to write this article, outwardly mocking the common feeling of being an impostor.

This ‘mocking’ was inspired by a fun challenge going around Medium at the moment, whereby something writes a fiction piece mocking Impostor Syndrome, as I have done above. They then tag three friends to carry the challenge forward and request that they write their own fiction piece, again in a fun and mocking format.

With that in mind, I’d like to challenge any who read this and enjoy it, to write their own version. Please let me know if you do as I’d love to read it.

**********************************************************************

If you liked my writing, please click on the small heart underneath, near my name. Or send me a tip and let me know you enjoyed it.

****

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Originally posted on Medium

satire
29

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  4. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • JANE AYUabout a year ago

    Well Said

  • Su Wei Li2 years ago

    Well said!

  • Frosch Pernice2 years ago

    Well written

  • I suffer from it as well, and someone who was once a friend and supporter recently supported someone calling my work lazy rubbish (saying it was constructive criticism) and the calling my work crap anyway, does not really help. A great story but not sure I could take this challenge on. I get heavily hit by IS.

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    Well said, screw Mr. Imposter syndrome.

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Loving it!!! If I have a sudden atrack of imposter syndrom, I'll be sure to re-read your fabulous story!!!💖😊💕

  • This was so creative! I too suffer from Imposter Syndrome and some days are really bad. I would love to take up the challenge. Let's see if I can come up with anything, lol. I loved your take on this!

  • Nice work, Colleen!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.