Humans logo

The Winter Prince

Written by Nicole

By Nicole LytlePublished 3 years ago 9 min read
1

Chapter One

Have you ever felt so isolated in the world even though you’re surrounded by family and friends? I may not be the most popular person but I have two incredible best friends and parents that love me more than anything. Although they really don’t know me at all. I have been keeping a secret from them since the beginning of summer. I have the ability to bring back the dead or at least save them from the brink of death. I’m afraid that if I tell them they will think I’m insane and lock me away.

I don’t even understand it myself, all I know is that a couple months ago my younger sister was hit by a car. She was barely breathing, I was terrified seeing her nearly dead body laying there in the street. When I reached out to my sister all I wanted was for her to live. The second I touched her my hands started glowing then I saw all of her cuts and scrapes disappear and her bone cracking back into place. She was perfectly fine and the doctors said it was a miracle...that night changed my life forever.

I’m sitting in the car with my family on the way to school and can’t help but glance at my parents in the front seat. My dad is driving and talking to mom about something and she’s just laughing away at something he said. My little sister is sitting beside me playing with her Barbie dolls. Here I am in the backseat with my headphones in not really listening to my music and wondering who I am. My sister, Lily, isn’t the only one I saved. After Lily I saved a bird with a broken wing and a squirrel that was hit by a car. It frightens me and but also I feel a sense of strength knowing that I can help people. The only thing is that every time I heal someone, it wears me out and I have to rest and regain my strength before I feel like myself again.

“Madison sweetie” my mother said, slightly nudging my shoulder.

Startled out of my thoughts I said “Yes mom.”

“We’re here” she said.

I looked out the window and saw that we were at the school. My two best friends were waiting on the sidewalk for me. “Are you okay?” my mom asked me.

“Yeah I’m fine mom, I was just daydreaming” I lied.

I got out of the car and just before I shut the door my mom shouted “Have a good day at school.”

I gave her a small smile and walked over to my two best friends “Hi” I said.

“Hey Mads,” Eddie said.

“Don’t you hi me, where have you been all summer?” Amy said putting her hand on her hips and glaring at me.

“I’m sorry Amy, I was busy helping out my family and stuff” I tried to avoid looking at her face because the moment I do she’ll know I’m lying. We have been best friends since we were kids and I’ve never been able to lie to her. We did everything together and no one knows me better than her, or at least she used to.

“Yeah sure” she rolled her eyes “It’s the first day of junior year and I’m not gonna spend it being pissed at my best friend. So you’re off the hook and I’m giving you a clean slate.”

I smiled up at her and gave her a big hug “You’re lucky I love you” she said and hugged me back.

“Hey what about me” Eddie folded his arms and smirked at us.

“Can you forgive me too” I gave him my sad puppy dog look.

“Please don’t give me that look, you know I can’t resist those big green eyes of yours. Ugh fine clean slate for you too” He said and laughed. I gave him a hug too. It works every time, that’s another weird thing about me. Aside from healing, my eyes are an incredible shade of light green. The rest of my family have brown eyes but my mother said I get my eyes from my grandfather, whom I never met because he died before I was born.

The bell rings and we all head towards the door. As I was walking up the steps I felt like someone was watching me. When I turned around I saw this guy standing on the sidewalk across the street. Before I could get a good look at him he walked into the crowd and I lost sight of him. It’s strange ever since the night I saved my sister, I felt like someone has been following me. I felt someone pulling my arm and looked back to see Amy. I shook my head and followed her inside. I found my locker and Amy and Eddie are both beside me.

“So what is your schedule like?” Amy says as she’s getting hers out.

I looked down at mine “First period I have English with Mr. Wells, Second Period I have Algebra 2 with Mrs. Garcia, Third period I have World Studies with Mr. Grant, looks like I have 4A lunch, Fifth and Sixth period are my free period and Seventh period I have Yearbook with Miss. Wild.”

“If only we had an identical schedule but we have first, third and lunch together” Madison said “How did you get lucky and have two free periods and have them back to back.”

“Guess I’m just that special” I told her and winked at her.

“Well I have lunch with you guys and second period with you Mads. Looks like I have sixth and seventh with you Amy” Eddie said smiling at us.

“Great, now my day is ruined knowing that I have to spend my last hour everyday with you” She smirked.

Eddie blushed and looked down at the floor. Amy thinking she upset him quickly adds “I’m only teasing, I’m sure it won’t be that bad.”

Eddie straightens himself out and says “Yea I’m sure but still Mads is way more fun than you are.”

I didn’t hear what Amy had to say because I felt like someone was watching me again. I looked down the hall and saw him again. “Who's Mr. Handsome?” Amy said pointing at him.

“No idea” I replied, but before I could even see his face he vanished into the crowd again. The bell rang and we headed to our classes. I told Amy to save me a seat and headed to the restroom. I walked in and saw Amanda and her two sidekicks Tanzie and Danielle giggling in the mirrors and taking selfies. I rolled my eyes and went to wash my hands.

“Oh hey Madison” Amanda said and came strolling over to me.

I turned around and smiled at her “Hey Amanda.”

“I heard what happened to your sister and were glad she’s okay” my smile faded and I gave her a small thanks.

“Did the car hit you too?” Amanda said.

“What no” I said with a puzzled look on my face.

“Oh then do you want to use my makeup bag to fix your face” she smirked at me.

“You shouldn’t waste your time Amanda” Tanzie said “It won’t help much.”

“Yeah you're right” Amanda looked at me “You could go around looking just like that.”

I glared at them and they walked away laughing. God I hate them. I hate when people act like they are all that and getting their kicks out of other people’s misery. I turned around and looked in the mirror. There is nothing wrong with the way I look, I wouldn’t say I’m drop dead gorgeous but I have beautiful chestnut hair and light green eyes with thick eyelashes. My lips are full and pink, my skin is nicely tanned and I have a few freckles here and there and my body is filled out nicely.

I took a few more moments looking at myself in the mirror and feeling like something was off. I shook my head, I gotta stop letting those girls get to me. I grabbed my stuff and walked out the door. I turned the corner and bumped into something hard. I was about to fall back when he caught me. I looked up and was staring at him. Amy was right; he was handsome, no scratch that gorgeous. He is a little taller than me and has short spiked black hair, ocean blue eyes and full lips. His shirt clenched his body showing off how muscular he is and also putting off a bad boy vibe with his leather jacket and ripped jeans. He smelled amazing and I wanted so badly to move closer to him.

“You should watch where you’re going,” he said glaring at me.

His glare snapped me out of my thoughts “I’m sorry” was all I managed to say.

We stared at each other for a few moments and I thought I saw his face soften but it was gone so fast I thought I imagined it. He looked me up and down and walked away. I turned around and watched him walk down the hall, part of me was hoping he would turn around but he didn’t. The final bang rang and I rushed to class.

“Ah thanks for joining us Miss. Ross” Mr. Wells said.

“Sorry” I said and quickly sat down next to Amy. She gave me a questioning look “Later” I mouthed and she nodded.

“As I was saying, the first week of school is about finding your way to classes and getting a feel for the year. By the end of the week it is up to you whether or not you want to change your classes. With that in mind just remember it is mandatory to take English as your main subject and if you wish to change it for something else you will have to take it next semester anyways” he said “ As I call your names please come up and get your books.”

While he was calling out names Amy scooted over and whispered to me “What took you so long.”

I looked at her and whispered “I had a run in with Amanda and her two sidekicks in the restroom.”

“What did those witches want?” she said.

“Nothing other than to make my life a miserable hell” I said.

“You always let her walk all over you” she said and looked annoyed.

“I do not,” I told her.

“So did you tell her off” she raised her eyebrow at me.

“No” I said and looked away.

“My point exactly” she smiled proudly at herself.

“Oh shut up or I won’t tell you about Mr. Handsome” I glowered at her.

Her eyes got big and she simmered down “Spill” she said.

“As I was leaving the restroom I bumped into something hard. I realized it was him and he was not handsome but drop dead gorgeous” I told her.

“Aanndd” she said, drawing it out.

“Not much else to tell” I said “He was very rude and told me to watch where I was going and walked away.”

“That’s it” She said, looking annoyed.

“Yep” I said.

“Okay one what an ass” she said and smacked me “And two how dare you make me feel like you had something juicy” she slumped back into her seat.

I laughed and said “I had to find some way to shut you up.”

She huffed and walked up to Mr. Wells as he called her name. Then he called my name and as I was walking to his desk I got another strange feeling that I was being watched but this time I felt a shiver go down my spine. I looked out the window and didn’t see anyone.

humanity
1

About the Creator

Nicole Lytle

I love to read and write and hoping someday I'll be an author!!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.