Humans logo

THE STORY OF Happenings BEFORE 30s

HOW IS LIVE MY LIFE BEFORE NOW

By aketi datiwaPublished 9 months ago 3 min read
Like
May Counsel

Today, I turn 30 years old.

When I think about “who I was” at 20, I can hardly remember what it felt like to be me, then. I can remember the facts

I had just gotten back from lagos where i like to learn something new

My twenties were full of a lot of “firsts.”

But turning 30, a lot of those firsts have come and gone.

I’m writing my 4th book.

I’m starting a second company.

And that’s not to say life has become boring, or mundane, or unexciting. In fact, I feel the opposite: life has transitioned into a phase where I feel my choices are more intentional. I know what I like and don’t like. I know what motivates me and doesn’t motivate me. I know what I want to work on in myself. I know what discomfort I need to experience in order to grow.

Everyone says turning 30 is when you experience a mid-life crisis.

And who knows, maybe I’ll feel that too.

But the dominant feeling I feel isn’t anxiety. Or regret.

What I feel is appreciation.

I remember how lost I felt in my early twenties. I remember how insecure I was, and afraid of what people were going to think of me. I remember wanting so badly to “make my dreams happen,” and at the same time having…

We believe that we have all of the time in the world. I myself remember having illusions that my website would be my first career of many. Little did I know that it took the better part of a decade to even get competent at this. And now that I’m competent and have a major advantage and love what I do, why would I ever trade that in for another career

Life consists not in holding good cards

but in playing those you hold well.

Our days are happier when

we give people bit of our heart

rather than piece of our mind.

we all have to learn this Don’t waste your life

in trying to impress anyone

just try to improve yourself

it will help you lifetime.

The less you respond to negative people,

the more peaceful your life will become.

The power of belief is not necessarily that it can change what happens to us— though in influencing our behavior, it can — but that it changes how we feel about what happens. It is, theoretically at least, possible to come to a state of such intense and unshakeable positive focus that literally anything could happen and you would still experience perfect contentment. This state is commonly called “Enlightenment.”

If we believe someone hates us, we’re more likely to act towards them with defensiveness, hostility or a lack of interest. In turn, they’re more likely to treat us with disdain or judgment. It’s a self-fulfilling prophecy. If we believe everything in the Universe is conspiring towards our highest good, we’re more likely to approach the world with openness and trust, more likely to see the positive aspects of what happens to us, more likely to find joy and satisfaction even in difficult moments.

“I would tell myself to focus on one or two goals/aspirations/dreams and really work towards them. Don’t get distracted.” And another: “You have to accept that you cannot do everything. It takes a lot of sacrifice to achieve anything special in life.”

It is impossible for an emotion to arise directly in response to an event. Emotions happen when we interpret events and physiological responses to mean certain things. How we interpret is determined by what we believe.

Everything we experience is mediated by our beliefs. There is no escaping the power of belief. What we can learn, though, is to harness that power to our own (and others’) benefit.

quotessinglehumanityhow tofamily
Like

About the Creator

aketi datiwa

organized black man to benefit others

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.