Humans logo

The Principles of Management

Part 2 Berkeley College Edition

By The Vibe Podcast Published 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
1

One year ago my life was in shambles, today I am strong and proud. My work experiences have motivated me to pull out my college notes. The things I have been a witness to since leaving management have been quite disturbing to say the least.

So disturbing that I trademarked The Vibe Podcast to include workplace culture.

Managers and Supervisors of today.. that shit is not allowed!

Do you know that bullying at the workplace continues today?

After a whole pandemic, a murder and people want to continue..

As a healer, I know it’s mental illness so I do not take workplace sabotages that seriously. I do respect my boundaries, I will not break my rules for anyone.

Managers and Supervisors.. are you aware that your sabotaging behavior makes you look like Gargamel from the Smurfs?

When you remove emotions and stick to the facts of what you have done to sabotage your employee, who simply wants to work makes you look like a monster. When you have to narrow it down to the actual petty.. it’s unreal!

Fortunately, I love to write and I have a vivid imagination.

Yes! We have Gargamels in the workplace!

Due to this wild behavior, I made the decision that upon submitting my first book to my publishers over at Writer’s Republic that I would begin to think of an exit strategy from the work force.

I can no longer participate in the Smurfs, I’m sorry.

Here are my college notes! If I can do it.. so can you!

Go Berkeley!

1. Sociotechnological- 1980’s & 1990’s People & Tech, teamwork, semi-autonomous work teams. (GM, Ford, Chrysler) People and technology can work together.

I am happy this pandemic is near to be over with.. my hopes once and for all. This experience has taught the world something.. we should rely on people more versus technology.

2. Quantative Management- Comes from the Military. (God bless the US Military! My Papa served, Korea Borinqueneer! It’s an honor to share our story as I inherited the Military gene and will prove Army values can and will work if respected properly.. there’s rules to this life.) Apply mathematical models, ex. Forecasting simulation.

This method works for me, I enjoy structure and foreknowledge.

3. Organization behavior- Psychology applied to the business organization.

This is why I suggest educating yourself, pick up a book.

Sadly, if your manager thinks you’re stupid.. you will get tried.

Happens to me and I shut them down each and every time.

My purpose for this blog is for those uneducated managers and supervisors to do better.

Please read my notes!

Theory X- Manager believes that work has to force.

Theory Y- Nobody needs to Micromanage.

From the book, Human Side of Enterprise by Douglas McGregor

Dear Manager, why do you micromanage? What do you accomplish with this style?

You accomplish Anxiety.. this behavior may cause anxiety to your employees. Please stop micromanaging.

4. System theory- Inputs/Outputs, open systems leads to..

5. Contingency- Depends on internal/ external. Any situation, weather, Government, internal,strengths and weaknesses.

Awesome managers to mention;

Jack Welch- Ex CEO of GE

Herb Kelleher- SWA ( founder of Southwest Airlines)

Peter Drucker- Guru Biz Professor, Howard University

Steven Covey- Writer, 7 Habits

Diana Costas- The Vibe Podcast ™️, Author and Motherfucking Mark!

I’ve got a lot of notes on the Principles of Management!

Let’s get to work New York! The world has experienced lots in the last two years. We’ve had to become our authentic selves and I could not be more proud of this journey. To know that I will be really submitting my very first book is a dream come true.

My wish is to write many!

Thank you for reading my college notes!

advice
1

About the Creator

The Vibe Podcast

My name is Diana Costas and in solving my father’s 38 year old murder mystery in 2021, I was inspired to create The Vibe Podcast and write my very first book! How Spirituality Saved My Life is now available! First of many books 🙏🏽

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.