Humans logo

The Long Con

So what did your parents tell you?

By Mark GagnonPublished 10 months ago 3 min read
5
The Long Con
Photo by freestocks on Unsplash

Why are we so gullible? It’s not caused by some misguided gene. We have been conditioned from birth to be an easy mark. “From birth, really”, you might say. Sure, and it’s our parents’ fault. “How can that be”? Well, the explanation is really quite simple.

During our formative years, our parents introduce us to the unholy trinity: The Easter Bunny, The Tooth Fairy, and the biggest con of all Santa Claus. Rabbits don’t lay eggs! But unless kids live on a farm, they probably don’t know that. Every year, good old Mom and Dad perpetuates the ruse by buying some candy-coated chocolates and hiding them around the house. This game goes on until either the kid gets suspicious or, more likely, the parents get bored with the scam and finally spill the beans, or in this instance, breaks some eggs.

About the time the Easter Bunny is being laid to rest, children lose their baby teeth. Once again, Mom and Dad create another magical creature resembling a miniature person with wings who converts teeth to cash. When I was a kid, I got a quarter per tooth. Now the going rate is between 1 and 5 dollars. Think about it, there is this magical creature that breaks into the house while the child is sleeping and leaves cash under the pillow. How can a kid not trust anybody who wants to give them money? As teeth drop more frequently, the money runs out and so does the Tooth Fairy’s time on earth.

Now comes the cruelest long con of them all, Santa Claus. From the time a child can grasp the concept, parents tell the tale of a bearded fat man in a red suit circumnavigating the globe with eight tiny reindeer. This rotund gentleman magically stuffs himself down a chimney if the house has one available. Now, if the house lacks a chimney, the jolly old soul covertly breaks into the residence by other means. Of course, adults know Santa Claus is a lame method of trying to make a child behave. Reward or punishment, carrot, or stick, control is the name of the game here. This con will last until either a classmate blows the whistle, or the child figures things out on his or her own. Either way, the realization that Santa Claus doesn’t exist is devastating.

Next, we need to explore the bizarre world of fairy tales. For girls, it’s “Cinderella” and “Sleeping Beauty” that make them believe a handsome prince will come along and everyone will live happily ever after. For boys, it’s “Jack and the Bean Stalk” and “Pinocchio” where boys overcome evil and learn what becoming a man is all about. Yes, parents read these and many more stories to their children, giving them a distorted view of the world. I’m not for banning fairy tales, just adding a disclaimer.

Once we learn that none of the stories are true, depression sets in. We want the truth. We CAN HANDLE THE TRUTH! As adults, can we really handle the truth? People get conned every day simply because they want to believe in something. Just look at how many worldwide organizations exist because people have an inborn need to be part of something. Religion, politics, and even something as simple as the lottery are all based on a person’s need to believe.

If I follow the rules plus donate money, God will let me into heaven. If I vote for this person, they will pass laws that will help me have a better life. I’m just one ticket away from winning the lottery, I just know it! Maybe if our parents had started with the truth, a sucker wouldn’t be born every minute.

family
5

About the Creator

Mark Gagnon

I have spent most of my life traveling the US and abroad. Now it's time to create what I hope are interesting fictional stories.

I have 2 books on Amazon, Mitigating Circumstances and Short Stories for Open Minds.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Cathy holmes10 months ago

    Hold on. Santa isn't real? Well that sucks. 🤣

  • Naomi Gold10 months ago

    I completely agree with this. There’s nothing wrong with telling your children fairytales that they know are fairytales. Read them books! I’ll never, ever understand lying about stuff like Santa. What is the point? That upset me so much as a child. I always got punished for lying… then I found out my mother had lied for years about who was leaving presents. I don’t know what she got out of doing that. It certainly didn’t make me appreciate toys more to think they came from a stranger. I would’ve liked them just as much if she said they were from her. Absolutely adults are gullible. They will believe damn near anything if enough other people believe it, or if an “authority figure” said it. It’s kinda scary. We would be better off as a society if people questioned things more, and practiced discernment.

  • I wasn't even brought up with the culture of Easter Bunny, Toothfairy and Santa Claus but I still have a hard time believing Santa ain't real. Like there's this part of me secretly hoping he's real 😅 I totally agree with your take on the stuff about politics and religion. I sure hope parents start raising kids with the truth!

  • Tina D'Angelo10 months ago

    Ouch! You mean Santa Clause isn't real? Who brings the presents and puts them under the tree? I think you're trying to con me.

  • Wolves are Greeat! I’m not anti-fairytale just as long as the kids know it’s make believe

  • Test10 months ago

    Nice piece, Mark. And I agree that most of the time it is not done well by parents. But if done right, these things are a great way to tell kids they can have a little magic in their lives. The world may be hard, but I still have magic in my life today.... though I was raised by wolves. Haha. Maybe that's the secret💙Anneliese

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.