Humans logo

The incredibly hot first date that I just bombed

Yet again

By Nefarious DarriusPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2

28MAR2021; 1725, SUN

This will essentially be my very first time reflecting on a first date immediately after the fact; or so I believe. While this certainly wasn't the first one to be an epic fail, I highly doubt that it'll be the last.

I plan to go visit my Younglings immediately after typing and submitting this 65th piece by me; so apologies if it seems rushed. I'm pretty much right in their backyard, haven't seen them in over a week, and they will likely be arriving at their home at any moment now.

I digress. I figure that even tho I don't know much about modern debriefs and/or AARs (After Action Reviews), I will model this story based on what I remember from them back when I was in about a decade ago or so.

The only key components that I recollect are Sustained's and Improves. Without further ado, I will begin with the latter:

I really don't know how or why, but I neglected to call the restaurant that we were planning to do brunch at this afternoon. I don't remember them ever allowing reservations, but suffice it to say that a one and an half hour wait for a seat without mimosas was not about to be a factor in any way, shape, or form.

Just for clarification: She turned 21 yesterday and had never had a mimosa nor sangrias, if memory serves me right. I've still never had a mimosa, despite my 32nd Born Day coming up around this time next month; however, I'm currently on the wagon still (abstaining [from alcoholic beverages]).

So, of course the last minute change in plans led to me driving a complete stranger almost from one side of the shopping center to the other for potential sangrias with a Bday lunch. If she had flipped and decided to pull out a utility knife (aka box cutter), there would've been very little to no actions for me to take in regards to the protection of my leather seats and or my purportedly handsome mug.

In any event, we were at the second restaurant that is a more or less popular national chain which happened to not require any wait while serving at least one type of sangria. The only other restaurant available in the area had at least a 45 min wait that I pretty much presumed she wasn't really feeling either.

So, we hopped right back in my whip and made our way across town to a taco spot that we were supposed to hit up last THU when she had to flake on me due to occupational obligations. I wasn't too upset about the plans falling thru, especially considering how we ended up getting tacos anyway and she didn't mind me treating.

In hindsight, I believe that the trifecta of expensive perfume, a decent Tex-Mex lunch, and a little pocket change $21 may have been a bit much for an attractive young lady who I'm pretty sure gave me a Google voice number and who's voice I had never even heard until we were exchanging pleasantries randomly in the parking lot immediately prior to us attempting to break bread.

Seeing as how I'm way past the halfway point of my baseline and whatnot, I'll begin with the Sustained's. One caveat tho: I don't remember hardly anything about her profile from the dating site that we met on.

With that being said, it was a welcome respite to match with an extremely attractive Black woman on that particular app. It is to some degree or another considered to mostly consist of women of a different demographic who largely have a superiority complex, if you will.

Last but certainly not least, it was quite a relief to take out someone who actually lives relatively close to me and/or is purportedly open to giving me the opportunity of a second date. With any luck, her and I will be able to attend a movie premiere of some sort together at some point in the not too distant future.

Hopefully, someone somewhere gets something from this post; and if that somebody is you, then please think about considering a Like/Tip/Share. Peaceful Tidings and TIA (Thx In Advance).

dating
2

About the Creator

Nefarious Darrius

I'm a Grunt who’s been stuck in traffic for the past few decades or so. From DC to Seattle & Iraq; to back in "The Swamp". Also, I Love my Progeny more than life. Born Day: 4/20. Lastly, my apparel brand, War 'N' Tees is live! One Love.

***

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.