Humans logo

We fear heights not because of the fall...

...but rather the feasibility of us jumping.

By Nefarious DarriusPublished 3 years ago Updated 8 months ago 3 min read
Like
Circa era FEB2009 in Forestville, MD. My shirt reads "BY ANY MEANS NECESSARY".

25MAR2021; 1425, THU

At least that's what it is according to an old Battle whom I believe is still in the pen. I really need to carve the time out to pen him a letter by the way.

In any event, I was just challenged by a new, dear friend to write a love story a couple of hours ago. Seeing as how fiction is most def not my forte, I figured why not finally pen this open letter to the Lovely Lady featured in the pic above, that I've been more or less marinating on for a year or so?

I've been dreading it every since I first conceived the notion essentially. Also, I've been more or less attempting to psyche myself out of it for the past two hours.

I digress. I've certainly mentioned her on this site at least twice before, and she's a dear friend of the Fam whom we all know that I'm head over heels about.

At any rate, I figure that there's no time like the present to hammer out this piece while it's still weighing heavy on my heart and what have you. Side note: not finna use her real name nor the nickname that we all know her by.

Without further ado:

Dear Home Skillet,

I pray that this note finds you well and doesn't cause you too much in the way of headaches and such. I just wanted to once again express my sincerest condolences regarding your old man and apologize for missing his home going service, rest his soul.

While I'd rather this not be a compilation of apologies, I know that I owe them to you, in addition to attempts at atonement. Also, I'd like to sincerely apologize for blocking out your undeniably beautiful smile in the shot above.

I forget who took those pics of us that day, but they certainly bring back fond memories! Was it your younger brother or someone from my fam?

Speaking of which tho, I apologized to him already for my haphazard attempts at being a halfway decent mentor for him; tho my memory fails me as to whether or not I extended the gesture to you too. Glad to see that he turned out swell regardless.

Back to that pic of you and me in the basement of my childhood home: I still remember the admonishing request of your dad, while him and I were in that same area, that I hold off on pursuing you until after your graduation from your alma mater in Philly; which you undoubtedly reminisce on from time to time.

Speaking of "The City of Brotherly Love", remember that time I was home on leave and we convoyed up there for a random slavery, along with African American culture, museum; as well as cheesesteaks? Good times.

In a similar vein, I still remember that chat about the plight of our people which you, me, and one of my fav cousins had in my mom's living room sometime around spring break in '08. After that, I more or less resolved to never again be so ignorant of the struggles that us melanated folks have in this seemingly Godforsaken world.

That reminds me: Did you finally finish Dr. Carter G. Woodson's classic that you claimed was your fav book? (Haha.) While we're on the topic, did you ever crack open the James Baldwin book that you accepted as, I believe, the very first Born Day gift from me to you?

Either way, no love lost. Thx again for the beautiful marble chess set that you sent me as a Bday gift back when I was still in.

That just jogged my memory: I still sincerely hope to teach and/or challenge you to a game of chess at some point; be it before or after the impending, imminent, and inevitable fall of the odious empire. By and by, I'm hoping and praying that you're wise and well enough to cop a couple of "toolies" prior to the collapse; presuming that you haven't already.

Word going thru the grapevine is that (violent) criminals fear armed citizens infinitely more than they're afraid of "popo". If I were actually on top of my game and had not soured our relations so much already, I'd attempt to gift you a few "semis", a pair of rifles/carbines, along with a "shotty" for your gorgeous person and your humble abode.

"Burned out ruins of our Love" notwithstanding, I sincerely pray that you stay blessed and free above all else. Peace for now, Homie.

One Love,

Darrius Unity

love
Like

About the Creator

Nefarious Darrius

I'm a Grunt who’s been stuck in traffic for the past few decades or so. From DC to Seattle & Iraq; to back in "The Swamp". Also, I Love my Progeny more than life. Born Day: 4/20. Lastly, my apparel brand, War 'N' Tees is live! One Love.

***

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.