Humans logo

The Happiness of Virtual World (Part-4)

the fourth section in an in-depth examination of how social media affects our lives and adds to our happiness.

By Ali AkbarPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
photo by Daria Nepriakhina 🇺🇦 from unsplash

I think I should set a fixed time limit for myself so that I can spend more time with my family and things like that instead of always being in my own bubble

does social media create isolation of course it can in real life you have direct social contact that's the difference for the last few years alexander's life has been dominated by social media

People don't tend to think of it as a disease but I think it actually is like any other addiction you get hooked because you experience a positive feeling for a while

but in the long run it can have negative effects maybe giving it up completely would be a little extreme but limiting yourself is definitely important how determined are you I think that well honestly

I don't know in general it's the same problem with all addictions you have to find something else that you enjoy what works well is seeking other sensations risks extreme sports for example teenagers are needy so you have to offer them something else

You can't just say take this book and leave the tablet teenagers are the biggest consumers of social networks according to the French observatory for drugs and drug addiction almost one in two admits to spending too much time on social networks

Thirteen percent show signs of addiction and this virtual addiction leads to real life suffering how many seniors were at your place

I had five of them over but then why are you saying that there were so many well now I’m mostly hanging out with seniors you want to sit down here outside the schoolyard apps are the new space where teenagers evaluate and compare each other

Wait what that sounds so did you see who it is no seriously yeah I already showed you 400 000 views why didn't you tell me

I told you in the group chat you got 400 000 views on that video 462 000. Wow and did you post it there yeah but there are more videos come on show me everything everyone was sending it to me

it totally went viral girl and I missed it [Laughter] my name is Andrea and I’m 16 years old I’m on Instagram and tick tock two years ago I gave up all my hobbies before I used to dance and do theater

I quit because today I can't imagine living without social media [Laughter] my name is Luanne I’m 16 years old turning 17 in a month I look at my friends stories I look at what they were up to during the day what they posted who they saw where they were well

basically stories I just look at the moments from their lives see this guy he's not that hot not I’m not a fan me neither but there's one more or he is better looking so I’ll answer him yeah he is cool based on these accounts

These virtual images they form opinions about others and build their relationships accordingly among teenagers you can tell by the girl dresses the poses

she makes in her photos where she's from and if you're going to get along with her I zoom into each person's photo to see who they are and what they're wearing which sneakers what's that coat

What brand is it then you know okay we dress alike so maybe we have common interests you look at their stories and see

He’s an activist that guy likes art she sings and you actually build a personality around that person without really knowing them

You think this person is so and so we could get along but it's all based on appearance it's always this idealism image on social media that we've become envious of when I see someone who is traveling

Who is with their boyfriend who lives in a dream apartment who wears clothes that I would like to have but can't necessarily have I might already have a feeling of inferiority that she is better than me and on top of that she also has that thing I don't

To Be Continued...

friendshipsocial media
Like

About the Creator

Ali Akbar

Researcher & Analyst and Content Creator at Self-Employment.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.