Humans logo

THE GOOD - THE BAD - THE UGLY

Part One: An Adventure in the Making

By Linda GorsuchPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
THE GOOD - THE BAD - THE UGLY
Photo by Lucian Andrei on Unsplash

TODAY! What about today? How is it different from yesterday, or any other day for that matter? How can I make it better, not worse? More fun! More interesting! Less predictable! Can I really change anything?

So, I woke up today. That was a plus! Let's see; get out of bed, let the dogs out, make some coffee, wash my face, brush my teeth and then my hair . . . now what? That's all routine stuff - has to be done - now it's out of the way.

On to bigger and better things - like what?

I think I'll choose to be happy today. I'll remember the good times, the fun times, the crazy times and, oh yes, the ridiculously dangerous times! In the past I have chosen to participate in many of those dangerous times. Nothing illegal, death-defying, health or life-threatening, mostly just stupid!

MAYBE! Now that I think about it . . . I remember those times actually were all of those things! How on earth did I survive? But for TODAY . . . let's . . . well . . . let's remember . . . let’s be thankful . . . and let’s smile!

The good, the bad AND the ugly!

I survived an unremarkable childhood, although it did start out as an adventure by the time I was two. The adventure has never stopped! I must admit things slowed down a bit since I've aged. I have learned to deal with permanent emotional scars from an abusive mother, overcome fears of strangulation from unpredictable boyfriends, speeding cars, knife-throwing maniacs, crazy stunts of my own, life and death in general!

I know the following excerpts from my life will appear to be “fiction”, however I can assure you everything here is ABSOLUTELY TRUE! At least to the best of my recollection and a bit of awe-struck realization that I was quite an idiot at times. But life is what you make it; and when things aren’t interesting enough, I believe it is up to the individual to plan out a course of action to “liven” things up a bit! Otherwise, the journey can be somewhat unremarkable! I was fairly talented at that part, and I am amazed I am still here to tell the stories (and there are a few).

Let’s start with my early childhood. It was an on-going roller coaster ride. It is difficult to remember many good times although I am sure there were some, before I became an independent, stubborn, “wild-child”. That is how my mother described me to anyone who would listen – I was always under the impression that I was just trying to survive the periods of time my father was away from home on business. He was my saving grace! She was a split personality!

When I speak of my mother and father, they actually were my adopted parents and my life was generally peaceful and I was well-provided for - between bouts of my mother's alcoholic rants and abuse.

The problem was, he travelled so much that I believe my mother resented the fact that she had to deal with me all alone, especially considering the fact she never wanted me from the beginning (at least that is what relatives have told me).

I was unceremoniously abandoned by my birth parents when I was two, along with my older sister (age 5) and my baby sister (age 2-1/2 months). I was told I appeared to be the “guardian angel” of my baby sister when they found us. Dirty, starving and all on our own. For days. In a wilder-ness town in northern Wisconsin. We had been alone for quite some time, and I choose not to paint the picture of our condition when we were found . . . details can be found in my future book, if I ever complete it – it is a difficult one to write!

Survival of the fittest? Guess that's me! I made it this far so I'm sure I can make it another day. One step at a time, one day at a time. One adventure at a time. If I survived this, I can survive anything. Truth be told, this could be quite interesting. Let's see where we go from here shall we?

We all were sent in different directions once we were found. I was adopted by a well-to-do couple and my baby sister was adopted by a wonderful family who loved her tremendously. I don't know what happened to my older sister; I never saw her again. As for our birth parents - well, our father abandoned us months before our mother did and we never saw him again. She went out for the evening and forgot to come home. Eventually she went to prison for abandonment and served about two years. We never saw her again!

If you want to know more, I will be adding to this story, a little at a time, over the next few months. I would greatly appreciate your input . . . let me know what you think and how to improve! Your reads and likes are encouraging to me thank you! ([email protected])

family
Like

About the Creator

Linda Gorsuch

I am a retired bookkeeper and business owner. My goal is to transport you to another time and space. I love to read and have multiple hobbies which I pursue depending upon the time allotted to me. My biggest hobby is making people smile!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.