Humans logo

The detour

Treasure

By Doni BPublished 3 years ago 2 min read

As I lay still listening to my alarm clock constantly ring, I continue to hit snooze. I can hear the rain hitting my window and the lighting flashing in my room. What a great night to call out of work but I couldn’t afford another day off. So, I quickly begin to put on my uniform for work. I hated my apartment as much as working as a waitress. My apartment was a small studio. I dreamed of a two bedroom just for the extra space. I walked the same direction to work everyday but today was different. I decided to detour because the rain caused a flood my original way. The detour only added 5 minutes to my journey. This road seemed foggy and spooky but I had no faster way to work. Walking as fast as I could because I couldn’t see what was ahead from the fog. Boom, bam, splat. I hit a pole so hard I tumbled into a tree. Searching for my glasses, I came across a little black book. The cover only read “ Little black book.” I begin to laugh thinking what gentleman possibly dropped his ladies book full of numbers. I peeked inside and pop! A big powerful powder smacked me in the face. Omg! I screamed. Someone was such a prankster. I was now madder then I was for fallen. I am now late! I screamed. This would be the worst night. As I finally got to work my night begin to become better. My tables were full of people. All I can say was I was bout make many tips. My boss yelled “Sarah, someone left something for you.” I go to the back to see and it’s the little black book I found and left in the grass. Who following me? Who playing games? How they know where I work? Why did they want me to have it? So many thoughts ran through my head. Nervous and scared I go back to the front. I worked all night and then realized I never opened the book again. After counting my tips. I grabbed the little black book before opening it i held it away from my face. If this book do another trick I will find the owner and slap them. I quickly opened the book and it was a note. It read “ Take the same direction home.” Now that’s spooky. I’m thinking I will definitely take the opposite direction. I left the book at work and started walking home. Oh, I definitely walked the opposite direction. As I walked what do I see. The little black book by a tree. Why is this book now following me or who following me. I’m so curious I just got to look again. As I walk to the book and proceed to open it a briefcase was beside it. I opened the little black book first and inside was a note. The note read “ You deserve all blessings and it started with this book. Imagine if you never took a look. Now it’s a briefcase with something green to get you many things.” I opened the briefcase and I couldn’t believe what I saw. Omg! 20,000 dollars! I didn’t know what to do. I ran home and my husband was sitting at the table smiling. He said did you find your treasure? It’s just enough for whatever you want!

literature

About the Creator

Doni B

I love writing. It’s my true passion.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Doni BWritten by Doni B

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.