Humans logo

The Day I Found Out Why My Scalp Was Itchy

By Craig Smith

By Health FirstPublished 10 months ago 5 min read
Like

I’ve always had a healthy and beautiful hair. It was long, thick, and shiny, and I loved styling it in different ways. It was one of my best features, and I felt confident and happy with it.

But everything changed when I started to feel an itch on my scalp. It was mild at first, but it soon became unbearable. I couldn’t stop scratching my head, and it drove me crazy.

I didn’t know what was causing it, or what it meant. Was it a sign of hair growth? Or was it something else?

I decided to find out the truth, and it changed my life.

The Mystery

The itchiness started about a month ago. I noticed that my scalp felt dry and irritated, and I felt a slight tingling sensation. I thought it was nothing serious, maybe just a reaction to a new shampoo or conditioner.

I tried to ignore it, but it got worse. The itchiness became more intense and persistent, and I felt like something was crawling on my scalp. I also noticed that my hair looked dull and lifeless, and that I had more hair fall than usual.

I was worried and scared. What was happening to me? Was I losing my hair? Was I sick?

I searched online for answers, but I couldn’t find anything conclusive. I read that an itchy scalp could mean many things, from dandruff to psoriasis to ringworm to lice. It could also mean that my hair was growing, but that seemed unlikely.

I decided to see a doctor or a dermatologist, but I couldn’t get an appointment right away. I had to wait for two weeks, and in the meantime, I had to endure the itchiness and the anxiety.

The Discovery

The day of my appointment finally came, and I was nervous and hopeful. I wanted to know what was wrong with me, and how to fix it.

The doctor examined my scalp and asked me some questions. He then told me the diagnosis: I had a fungal infection on my scalp, caused by an overgrowth of yeast.

He explained that yeast is a type of fungus that normally lives on the skin, but sometimes it can multiply too much and cause problems. He said that the infection could be triggered by many factors, such as stress, hormonal changes, or poor hygiene.

He said that the infection was causing inflammation and irritation on my scalp, which made it itch. He also said that the infection was affecting my hair follicles, which made them weak and prone to breakage.

He prescribed me an antifungal shampoo and a cream to use on my scalp. He told me to use them daily for at least four weeks, and to come back for a follow-up.

He also gave me some tips on how to prevent the infection from coming back:

  • Wash your hair regularly with a gentle shampoo that suits your hair type and scalp condition.
  • Rinse your hair thoroughly to remove any residue or buildup.
  • Avoid sharing hats, combs, or hair-cutting equipment with others.
  • Eat a balanced diet that provides enough protein, iron, zinc, biotin, and other nutrients that are essential for hair growth.
  • Drink plenty of water to keep your body and scalp hydrated.
  • Avoid smoking, alcohol, or caffeine that can dehydrate or harm your hair.

The Solution

I followed the doctor’s advice and started using the antifungal shampoo and cream. I also took better care of myself physically and mentally.

I noticed a difference after a few days. The itchiness started to subside, and I felt more comfortable and relaxed. I also noticed that my hair looked healthier and shinier, and that I had less hair fall.

After four weeks of treatment, the infection was gone. My scalp was clear and healthy, and my hair was strong and beautiful. I felt like myself again.

I was so happy and relieved that I had found a solution for my problem. But I also wanted to do something more for my hair health and growth. I wanted to try something natural and effective that could boost my hair growth even more.

That’s when I discovered red light therapy.

What is Red Light Therapy?

Red light therapy is a form of low-level laser therapy that uses red or near-infrared light to stimulate cellular activity and blood flow in the scalp. It can help increase hair density, thickness, and strength by activating the hair follicles and increasing the production of growth factors.

Red light therapy is safe, painless, and convenient to use at home. You can use a device like a red light therapy cap, which is a hat that has LED lights that emit red or near-infrared light to your scalp. You just need to wear it on your head for 15 to 30 minutes, two to three times a week, and wait for the results.

Red light therapy hair regrowth has been shown to be effective in multiple studies. It can work for both men and women with different types of hair loss, such as Androgenetic Alopecia, Alopecia Areata, Telogen Effluvium, etc.

Red light therapy can also improve the quality and appearance of your hair by making it shinier, softer, and smoother.

The Result

I decided to give led lights hair growth a try and ordered a red light therapy cap online. It arrived in a few days and I started using it right away.

After a few weeks of using the red light therapy cap, I noticed that my hair was thicker, fuller, and stronger than before. I also noticed that I had more new hairs growing in. My hair looked healthier and shinier, too.

I was amazed by the difference. I felt more confident and happy with my appearance. I received compliments from my friends and family on how good my hair looked.

I was so glad that I had found a natural and effective way to improve my hair health and growth. Red light therapy had changed my hair for the better.

The Conclusion

An itchy scalp is not a sign of hair growth. It can indicate that your scalp is not healthy, which can negatively affect your hair growth.

An itchy scalp can have many different causes, such as fungal infection, psoriasis, ringworm, lice, or allergic reaction. You should identify the cause of your itchiness and treat it accordingly.

You should also avoid scratching your scalp and find ways to soothe it and promote hair growth. You can do this by washing your hair properly, using natural remedies or products, massaging your scalp regularly eating well taking supplements trying red light therapy.

Have you ever had an itchy scalp? What did you do to relieve it? Did you notice any changes in your hair growth? Share your story in the comments below!

advice
Like

About the Creator

Health First

Let's get healthy! And things will change someday.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.