Humans logo

The Costume Shop

My First Job

By Janis RossPublished 3 months ago 5 min read
Like
The Costume Shop
Photo by J Williams on Unsplash

I was one of those lucky enough to have scored enough on my ACT to earn scholarships covering the whole of my undergraduate education. I also lived at home, so money wasn't really something that concerned me. If I went out with friends off campus, my parents would cover me (and I was very conservative with my spending). So the thought of getting a job wasn't on my mind at all.

Until Mel sent me a message on Facebook.

I'd had two classes with Mel as the instructor; Intro to Theatre, which was the first class that I ever took as a college student, and Theatre Practicum.

Theatre Practicum was where I got to learn all of the ins and outs of costume designing and putting together a show in real time, unlike my directing and costume design classes. Under Mel's guidance, I learned how to pull costumes, measure actors, alter clothes, and create brand-new ones. One of my favorite lessons was how to use "the beasts" - the Juki industrial sewing machines that were Mel's pride and joy.

Something like this - though usually surrounded by fabric pieces and pin cushions.

These monsters could sew through your arm if you weren't careful; she made sure to warn us and teach us how to use them before turning us loose. I loved using them after a while and had to focus when using a regular sewing machine afterward.

But back to Mel.

Theatre Practicum was in my Fall semester, and I enjoyed every moment of it. I thought I would move on to other classes and probably be in the costume shop now and then when I was involved with a show, but otherwise not see it very frequently.

Imagine my surprise when out of the blue in December, Mel sent me a Facebook message. She'd seen how much I enjoyed being in the shop, and one of her assistants was graduating. Would I like to replace her?

I mulled over the message for a few days. I hadn't even considered a job before, had never had one. But this seemed an amazing opportunity. I'd make a little extra cash, working directly in the theatre. Besides, my shifts could be arranged around my class schedule. It was a win-win.

So, after some paperwork, I started the Spring semester as a costume shop assistant.

Since I'd just come out of practicum, I already had a good grasp of how things worked and what needed to be done. But at the beginning of a semester, when auditions were just happening, there wasn't much to be done in the shop besides cleaning and maintenance. I spent hours just talking with Mel when she came in between classes, and she really was just the most chill boss. Even when things picked up around production times and the shop looked like a hurricane had blown through it, she still found time to crack jokes, give hugs, or offer bubble wrap as a stress reliever. (She also couldn't care less if I used downtime to do homework.)

I remember that there was an old couch that had once been used as a setpiece that lived in the loading bay that connected the costume shop and the building shop, where setpieces like walls and things were built. One slow day, Mel could tell that I was exhausted between classes, work, and being an actor in the show that had daily four-hour rehearsals.

"Go take a nap."

I was confused. "But I'm on the clock?"

"I'm your boss, and I'm telling you to go take a nap."

I was too tired to argue. Though it was anything but a restful sleep, it was enough to get me to the end of the day.

One of my favorite tasks during the slow time between shows was to organize the shop racks. Over time, the costume pieces gathered for different shows had become a jumbled mess, making it difficult to find things easily. Mel tasked me with organizing all of this; repairing things that were damaged, pulling things that couldn't be repaired, and organizing and labeling what was left. It took me weeks, but it was therapeutic in a way. I was usually by myself in the shop while Mel taught her classes, so I could blast music without bothering anyone. Though I was someone less than organized at home, at the shop I was the Queen of organization.

Things got interesting when I was acting in one of the shows that we were costuming (which happened for several shows). Castmates would find me backstage at rehearsal, asking questions about their costumes, and I had to remind them that I, also, was trying to remember my lines and blocking and couldn't simultaneously be the costumer.

Though things would get hectic around showtime, working in the costume shop remains one of my favorite jobs. Despite the stress of preparing for a show, or the unfortunate incident of sewing through my own thumbnail (seriously, that's why we called it the beast), there was such a fun atmosphere in the shop and it was an easy enough job to begin my life as a working adult. Especially as someone who loves theatre.

That job launched opportunities for me at the community theatre, where I costumed several shows as well as being assistant director, stage hand, and stage manager in addition to frequently performing on stage. Though being involved in the theatre isn't something frequent for me anymore, I enjoyed my time spent there. Nevermind the sewing skills that I still use sometimes!

Helps that I had an awesome boss.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Janis Ross

Janis is a fiction author and teacher trying to navigate the world around her through writing. She is currently working on her latest novel while trying to get her last one published.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.