Humans logo

The bruising caused by physical abuse in a relationship has great value & power for the one abused.

My story in pieces.

By I CAN & I WILL Published 4 years ago 2 min read
The power of physical abuse.

Mentally abusive relationships are so much more complicated & difficult, in comparison to physical abuse.

I know. I lived in one for over 20 years. I am a strong, intelligent, independent woman...yet I got caught in the trap of an abuser. Emotional and mental abuse is by far the worst form of abuse. Healing the mind is a life long process. You eventually learn to just live with the new normal. Complete healing is very rare. You can’t erase the memories. You can learn to accept them and not let them control you for the rest of your life.

I would take physical abuse over mental & emotional abuse any day. You see with physical abuse you have proof. Yes the proof hurts, the proof is ugly, the proof is embarrassing....but it’s still proof. The proof is priceless. You have something to show for it. You don’t have to explain to others your situation. The bruising and broken body speak for themselves. That is gold. There is nothing harder for someone that is seeking help while living in a mentally abusive relationship to have to try to explain and relive the abuse. To try to explain the abuse correctly so the other person understands and MORE importantly believes you, is the most exhausting feeling. When you are done explaining then you hope they got it. Do they understand? Do they believe me?

Not only was I married to an abuser, but to make it even more complicated he was and is a narcissist. He was someone that the world loved. How he carried himself publicly was not who was behind closed doors. He was a monster when alone with me, but a charmer publicly.

When I dared, out of desperation, to open up to others about his abusive behaviors, they would look to me as if I was crazy, exaggerating, and seeking attention. That resulted in great loneliness. To be abused and not believed is living hell. So you stop seeking help and you carry it alone in silence.

How I prayed for a real ugly bruise, a broken bone, ANY physical sign to help me prove my case with others. Sounds crazy right? It’s not. Crazier is telling others that the man they love so much and think is so great is actually a monster...and being looked at in return with doubt. Now that will drive you mad!

breakups

About the Creator

I CAN & I WILL

My story is filled with broken pieces & bad choices.

It is also filled w a major comeback.

I continue to push thru bc on the other side of

FEAR is FREEDOM!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    I CAN & I WILL Written by I CAN & I WILL

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.