Humans logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

Taylor Sanders Overcomes Personal Tragedies to Release New Single - Other Side

In November 2022, aspiring country artist Taylor Sanders was preparing to shoot the music video for her debut single "Firecracker.

By Mian HamidPublished 5 days ago 3 min read

Taylor Sanders Overcomes Personal Tragedies to Release New Single - Other Side

In November 2022, aspiring country artist Taylor Sanders was preparing to shoot the music video for her debut single "Firecracker." As she sat in her stylist's chair, she received a devastating phone call.

"I was pregnant and had just gotten a follow-up ultrasound," recalls Sanders, 37, in an interview. "They estimated I was about eight weeks along, but then they told me the heartbeat had stopped."

Taylor Sanders Overcomes Personal Tragedies to Release New Single - Other Side

Related :Halsey Releases The End Single Amid Personal Health Struggle

This was the heartbeat that Sanders and her husband, Adam, had been eagerly waiting to hear, a heartbeat that they believed would change their lives. For the rest of the day, Sanders allowed herself to grieve deeply.

"I told myself I was going to cry and grieve the morning of the video shoot, but then I would get my makeup on and get ready to shoot the video," Sanders recounts. "It was like I dissociated from myself and became the artist 'Taylor Sanders' instead of the person."

Taylor Sanders Overcomes Personal Tragedies to Release New Single - Other Side

Supported by her team, Sanders pushed forward. "I wasn’t experiencing any physical symptoms of miscarriage yet," says Sanders, who married Adam in 2012. "I thought if I could hold it together emotionally and mentally, I could just be strong and do what I love. We had invested so much into this, so I decided to push forward."

Related :Jelly Roll Announce to Expand Family with Bunnie XO Via IVF

She then embarked on the 16-hour shoot for "Firecracker."

"I was sad and angry for a long time," Sanders explains about the painful months following the loss of their baby, whom they called 'little blue.' "But I couldn’t give up on myself."

Taylor Sanders Overcomes Personal Tragedies to Release New Single - Other Side

In December 2023, Sanders found hope again as she welcomed her son, Gage Wolf. However, just three weeks after Gage's birth, Sanders faced another tragedy when her mother passed away.

Related :Miley Cyrus Prefers Workout in Heels a Touch of Femininity

"She had bone marrow cancer called myelofibrosis," Sanders says of her mom, who had been her 'momager' throughout her career. "She underwent an allogeneic stem cell transplant but died from complications of grade four graft-versus-host disease and sepsis. She was 60 years old and the strongest person I know. I’ve never seen anyone fight so hard."

Taylor Sanders Overcomes Personal Tragedies to Release New Single - Other Side

Despite grieving the losses of her baby and her mother, Sanders believes there is a purpose behind her struggles.

Related :Demi Lovato Felt Defeated After Five In-Patient Mental Health Treatments

"God puts us through certain situations to make us stronger," Sanders says through tears. "He says in the book of Peter 'that only for a while will you suffer.' So, I hold onto that."

Sanders also holds onto her music, including her new single "Other Side."

Taylor Sanders Overcomes Personal Tragedies to Release New Single - Other Side

"'Other Side' is about how you sometimes have to climb mountains to find the light on the other side," Sanders explains about the song, which she co-wrote with Terran 'T-RAN' Gilbert, Cash Callaway, and Daniel McCurdy. "It’s all about reaching for the light on the other side of the pain. I am strong enough to keep moving on, and I know I’ll be a stronger person for it."

The Quran - Chapter Al-Waqi'ah : 36

making them virgins,

celebrities

About the Creator

Mian Hamid

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Mian HamidWritten by Mian Hamid

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.