Humans logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

Country Star Mark Chesnutt Recovering from Emergency Heart Surgery

"It is with a heavy heart that I announce the cancellation of my upcoming shows

By Mian HamidPublished 6 days ago 3 min read

Country Star Mark Chesnutt Recovering from Emergency Heart Surgery

Country Star Mark Chesnutt Recovering from Emergency Heart Surgery

"It is with a heavy heart that I announce the cancellation of my upcoming shows," said 'Brother Jukebox' singer Mark Chesnutt in an Instagram post.

The country music star is currently recovering from emergency heart surgery. On Sunday, June 16, the 60-year-old was hospitalized and underwent a quadruple bypass surgery later that evening, according to a post from his team on Instagram.

Related :Jon Bon Jovi Says He's 'More Than Capable of Singing' 2 Years After Vocal Surgery

"Mark Chesnutt, one of the most iconic country music voices of the 90s and a honky-tonk mainstay for over three decades, experienced a heart health issue over the weekend. He was hospitalized on Sunday evening, June 16, and underwent emergency quadruple bypass surgery," the post read, accompanied by a photo of Chesnutt pointing at the camera.

The message continued, "The recuperation time will make it necessary to cancel show dates. Please respect the privacy of the family during this difficult time of recovery."

Related :Megan Thee Stallion Says Fitness Saved Her from 'Dark Times': I Used Working Out to Escape'

Chesnutt expressed his feelings, stating, “It is with a heavy heart that I announce the cancellation of my upcoming shows. I send my love and gratitude to my family and friends, the band and fans for your understanding, prayers, and support. I look forward to seeing you all again soon at a honky tonk near you.”

Chesnutt was scheduled to perform on Friday, June 21, in Lake Charles, Louisiana, and on Saturday, June 22, in George West, Texas. He had a full tour planned across the U.S. throughout the summer but will be postponing all dates as he recovers.

He was also set to perform at Dauphin's Countryfest 2024 in Canada on Sunday, June 30. His website has not yet been updated with the new information.

Related :Colt Ford's Condition Is 'Steadily Improving' as Country Star 'Remains in the ICU' Following Heart Attack

This news follows a previous announcement from Chesnutt's team that he had been admitted to a local hospital on November 1, 2023, for a medical evaluation. On November 14, 2023, Chesnutt shared on Instagram that he had been dealing with "extreme health issues."

“To my family, friends, fans, and the country music community... Many of you who know me well know that I have been struggling with a battle that I’ve fought to overcome for many years on my own. Now, after some extreme health issues I’ve recently experienced, the time has come. The fight is over," he wrote wrote alongside a photo of himself.

Country Star Mark Chesnutt Recovering from Emergency Heart Surgery

"I’ve made the decision to take the time to get healthy. I’ll be coming off the road for the next couple of months to concentrate on getting well… to take care of myself and my family so that I can get back out on the road, to give back to ALL of you who have shown me unconditional support, care, and love throughout my entire career," Chesnutt continued.

Related :Colt Ford in ICU After Suffering Heart Attack Following Arizona Performance

"I truly appreciate your heartfelt understanding in my commitment, and your sensitivity to my decision, and the privacy to allow me this time," he concluded. "I’ll see you when I return to the road in February. Be good to one another. Stay well. God Bless."

Chesnutt, known for hits like "Blame It on Texas," "Ol' Country," "Bubba Shot the Jukebox," and "Too Cold at Home," had a string of successes in the '90s, releasing eight albums between 1990 and 1999. According to his website, he has had 14 No. 1 hits and 23 top 10 singles over the years.

The Quran - Chapter Al-Waqi'ah : 29

clusters of bananas,

celebrities

About the Creator

Mian Hamid

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Ainy Abraham6 days ago

    Do you want to join our facebook group so we new members can support each other. The link to the group is https://www.facebook.com/share/P9XxaEBWJaE6SyU9/

Mian HamidWritten by Mian Hamid

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.