Humans logo

Taken for Granted, Generosity

My personal take on it

By Jen E Star Published 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Taken for Granted, Generosity
Photo by Elaine Casap on Unsplash

I take for granted the generous actions and thoughts of my family and especially from strangers.

From opening the doors for me, especially when I had a lot of things in my arms, the people of my college were nice to keep the door open even when I didn't notice.

I would always make sure to give them my thanks.

To them, paying for my items when I didn't have the money to buy it. One time, I had to count the coins I had to buy some drinks, only to be embarrassed at the fact, I didn't have enough but a man behind me would pay for the drinks on my behalf to my surprise.

A second encounter would be a gift card for my sister's graduation. At the self check-out, again I was low on money, but just a few self check-out machines away, a nice old man walked behind, gave me the money with his blessings.

All these encounters would leave me baffled on how nice but generous people are. In response, I would open doors for a lot of people, as for giving money, I'll need a bit more courage and money, ironically to give.

However, one of the most generous acts I've had experience was getting help doing dishes and cleaning the family kitchen.

As odd as it may sound, living with my family still, the dishes tend to pile up. Anyone who has dish duty, loathes the night of doing them.

I had dishes, one dreary night. Tired and having homework that would be due soon. I would cry sometimes and stand there, knowing that the work had to be done.

Wiping the tears away and getting a grip, my dad would take over my dish duty. At first, I felt like I was hurting him, since he had to work the next day in the morning. He was supposed to rest that night but he reluctantly did them for me.

I was so happy that night and managed to do my homework with a better ease of mind.

As of now, I can tell from a person's body language, expression or texts that they need help. Usually, I'm right and I do what I can to help.

Nowadays, when someone needs help with dishes, I help them when I can. The relief they get from knowing or getting a break from the task is shown very easily in their faces and tone of voice.

People who have a generous spirit in any circumstances are quite attractive and surprisingly I like that in a person. To help without a reward or even a thank you, is something I have a hard time taking into account. Though, I'm not the best at it, I think at some moments in my life I've been generous without knowing it.

I like to end my little micro story series with this proverb from the Holy Scriptures, in KJV (King James Version): "2 Corinthians 9:7 KJV ,"Every man according as he purposeth in his heart, so let him give ; not grudgingly, or of necessity: for God loveth a cheerful giver."

I should take heed to this proverb, and for those that are generous, no matter how big or small the action. Thank you.

One of the nice things you can do, when someone does a generous act is to say "thank you".

Anyone can do that and feel appreciated from that generous act alone.

"Thank you, Yahweh, my sisters, dad, family, friends and everyone that has been generous and took their time to help and encourage me throughout my life in the past and now."

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Jen E Star

I'm 23, female, Christian writer in the making of creating interesting, fun and Christian stories. Personally, I like sentai, metal heroes, that use tech than magic. My writings are around PG to PG-15.

Site:https://tinyurl.com/y5b53k6z

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.