Humans logo

Storytime: I Went Out With My Girl and Her Friends, Now I Don't Know If I Should Vex

What do you think?

By Jide OkonjoPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 4 min read

I don't know how to feel right now. Am I wrong for vexing? Please give me your advise, especially the men.

I started talking to this babe in January. We've met twice in the past and yesterday she invited me to go swimming with her friends. I told her I didn't think it was a good idea, that going out with somebody's group of friends by yourself is never good because you end up being that person that doesn't understand the inside jokes, that gets lost in conversation.

Still she insisted, pleading that I should just come, that her friends wanted to see me. So I agreed.

Today, I went to pick her up from her place and after spending almost twenty-five minutes locating the place, I finally found it. When she entered the car, she apologized for the trouble. BUT HER FRIENDS. There were two of them. The first one Hilda entered the car and when I introduced myself, with strong face she just told me 'hello'. The other one - Queen of the yard - she entered the car, face buried in her phone and when I greeted her, she didn't even look up, she just waved her hand in my face and continued pressing phone.

I swallowed my vex and said let me just drive to the hotel. Once we got there, that's where trouble started.

First of all, all three of them were discussing about how they wanted to swim, wondering where they should pay to swim. Then queen of the yard now said "Ah ah, the Peter that is here, can't he pay abi he doesn't have money?"

While I expected that kind of rubbish to come out of Queen's mouth, I didn't expect my actual date Soso to laugh about it and now have the effrontery to ask me, "Will you pay for us?"

I swallowed my vex again. At no point did this girl tell me that I'd be paying for the swimming - N3,000 per person. I cuffed up 9k for people that I didn't even like to swim. Did anybody say thank you? No. Only Soso.

No wahala. Time goes on. All three of them start swimming. Next thing I knew, I've become errand boy. "Peter, bring my phone. Peter drop my phone. Heys! Hold the camera well when you're taking the picture na!" I had become photographer, boy boy, for girls I was just meeting for the first time. Girls that I'm about four years older than.

Throughout all of this, if the Soso herself was even giving me face, I won't have minded. But that one really acted as if I wasn't there. She spent the entire time playing and laughing with her friends, giving me absolutely no time of day. Then, Queen got hungry and said "Ah ah Peter, won't we eat?" No please, not as if she'd asked me before, just "Ah ah Peter, won't we eat?"

I swallowed my vex again and told them to order whatever they wanted. They ordered two pizzas and three cups of chapman. The bill came out to N11,000.

That's now N20,000 when you add the initial swimming money I paid for. 20 THOUSAND NAIRA, for girls I don't even like.

When the food came, they comfortably ate one box of pizza not even thinking to ask if me I wanted. They said the other box was to carry home.

This went on till about 4 pm. By 4:25, I said we should start going. Every single time I opened my mouth to say something, it's as if people were either acting like they weren't hearing me, like I wasn't there, or like I was disturbing their gist. This time I was no different.

Finally finally by like 4:35, we finally entered car and I drove them back to their place.

I dropped the first friend first, then Queen, and then it was just me and Soso in the car. I was quiet because I didn't want to say anything insultive or explode or anything.

All of a sudden, SHE started asking me why I was closing myself to her friends? That I'm not a people's person. Saying "I'm just happy you didn't spoil the whole day with your bad mood." Me! Bad mood. Me that was even trying to form like I wasn't vexed all through.

When she finished saying all this, even though I was boiling inside, I kept my mouth closed. Eventually I told her "Please come down from my car let me go to my house."

She started getting angry at me for telling her to come down from my care. I didn't care. Eventually she came down, banged the door and stood outside the car. I reversed my car and went to my house.

What I'm confused about now is that I when I told my female friend on the phone the story of everything that happened, all she could say was that I didn't make enough of an effort to talk. That if I wanted the girl to pay attention to me, I should have called her aside. That there's no reason for me to be angry.

So now, me I don't know oh. I'm confused. Should I be angry? Do I really have no right to vex? After spending 20k on this girl and her friends only to be ignored the whole day? Don't I have a right to be angry?

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to like my page if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never ends!

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day.

dating

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Jide OkonjoWritten by Jide Okonjo

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.