Humans logo

Storytime: I Found Out I Was Girlfriend #3, So I Confronted My Boyfriend...

His explanation floored me.

By Jide OkonjoPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
2

His explanation floored me.

***********************************************************************

"If you have a good "Storytime" story that you want to share with me, I'll be more than happy to hear it."

This is the message I sent out to my now over 1.3k followers on Facebook (thank you to every single person who likes my page btw. I love you guys so much for finding my stories interesting and giving me an audience.)

When I sent out this message, as usual, I didn't expect even one person to respond back but once again, I was surprised by the overwhelming number of people wanting to share their stories with me. I do not take these things for granted, thank you to everyone who comes into my DMs to have a chat with me, I love hearing these stories. I will try to share each and every one of your stories at one point or another.

One of the stories from a Facebook user named Jennifer really caught my attention. It's such a heartbreaking story, one that I was just surprised but also angry to hear because of how annoying it was.

As always, for storytelling purposes, I have re-written the story in a way that reads better. The story itself is unchanged, but because the discussion we had was through DMs on Facebook with a lot of questions and answers, I had to consolidate everything Jennifer told me into one clean story.

You're going to really love this story, and I can't wait for you to read it so without further ado, here is Jennifer's story.

**Be sure to like and follow my Facebook page so you don't miss out on any new and interesting stories I post every single day. Also, if you have a story you think is interesting and want to share with me, simply shoot me a message and I'll be more than happy to hear it.

Jennifer's Story

I've never been lucky at love. I've had past relationships that didn't end well, but no one compares to what I went through with my last boyfriend, Nnaemeka.

Following yet another breakup that happened in December of the previous year, I was very lonely and very depressed. I thought it was my fault that I couldn’t keep a guy, I thought that there was something wrong with me. But then this boy named Nnaemeka started talking to me around March and he was telling me all the right things, everything I wanted to hear. I’m not the kind of girl that asks too much from a guy. I don’t ask for anything, I don’t care if they’re broke or rich, I just want to be loved.

And Nnaemeka loved me. He showered me with so much love in those moments with him, I felt like I was in heaven.

Until one night, 8 months into our relationship. Around 10pm, I received a call from one of Nnaemeka’s best friends. I’ll take you a little back here so you understand. In the past, I had met this girl who Nnameka told me was his friend. I met her only once but that day, we spoke briefly and I knew of her only as Nnaemeka’s friend.

So when she friend called me around 10pm, I started panicking because I assumed that Nnaemeka was in trouble. It turns out that Nnaemeka was indeed in trouble, but not the kind of trouble I could have ever imagined.

You see Jide, I’d been dating Nnaemeka while Nnaemeka had been dating 2 other girls behind my back: this “friend” and yet another “friend” I’d seen in the past. When this "girlfriend #1" was telling me everything on the phone, I knew it was true. I knew the girl, the things she was saying were adding up. I have never felt more betrayed.

I couldn’t fully wrap my head around what she was saying that night so I decided to call a meeting: Nnaemeka, myself, and the 2 other girlfriends.

Surprisingly, Nnaemeka showed up to the meeting and when we all confronted him about what he was doing, he didn’t deny any of it. He just sat there, crying.

I couldn’t believe it. What possible explanation could he possibly give to explain such behavior? I asked him. He said nothing.

Until the girlfriends left, and then he turned to me and opened up. Nnaemeka looked me in the eye and told me that he dated all three of us in secret because of and I cannot make this up: MULTIPLE PERSONALITY DISORDER.

Nnaemeka said he had Multiple Personality Disorder. That a certain personality loved me more than it loved the other girls, but then the other personalities preferred the others.

What rubbish!

I got so mad that I threw my inhaler at him. He got up and left. After that, he kept on calling to tell me things I didn’t ask for, information that just sounded like complete nonsense to me.

Till today he reacts to my pictures on Facebook and I hear that he’s gotten back together with "girlfriend #2."

I still cannot believe something like that happened to me. I’ve decided to share this story with you in the hopes that maybe it can help some other girl somewhere learn from my mistake, which was being too trusting and not asking enough questions, even when the signs were right in front of my face and people warned me. Open your eyes to the red flags!

***********************************************************************

To tell me your own stories, send me a message on Facebook so we can discuss and I can hear and share your stories. Please don't forget to like and follow my page so you don't miss out on any new and interesting stories.

To Jennifer, thank you for sharing this story with me. I had so much fun chatting with you and although this story is so sad, I'm so glad you opened up to me and felt comfortable enough to share. Thank you.

To anybody reading this, I hope you've thoroughly enjoyed today's story. To make sure you're always up to date with every new and interesting story that's coming up in the future, be sure to like and follow my Facebook page.

To catch up on content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day!

dating
2

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.