Humans logo

Stop being nice and find your kindness.

what’s the difference?

By Ian SankanPublished 10 months ago 3 min read
Like

I just took a rather lengthy road trip. Usually, I'm a relatively healthy eater, but when I travel, I fully permit myself to eat as much junk food as possible. Then again, you know what I'm talking about when I say that I stopped at McDonald's to purchase one of those egg McMuffins that they like to sandwich between two pancakes. However, the person there was a genuine, warm-hearted, welcoming flash of sunlight. I believe I have ever encountered someone who kept calling me "love" and said, "You want the breakfast bundle, love?" I said, "Yeah, sure." You want a two-for-one love? She asks. I said, "Yeah, sure." You want the five-for-five snack bag, she asks. I said, "Sure, why not."

I now belong to the group of men who believe that the heavier the bag, the better the food. By the time she was finished with me, I had purchased an 80-pound bag of food for $6.49. Now, the idea of this is not to brag about how great my road trip eating was. The point is that this lady gave me something; I'm not referring to the food but to her generosity. I feel as though she gave me some spiritual gift that altered me. It made my day and week, and now I'm trying to pass it on to you. I know this isn't groundbreaking or particularly innovative, but the thing to consider is this. I can pass on goodness, lightness, and joy, or I can pass on my heaviness, darkness, and negativity, or what I think is sad is that sometimes we can just go through life and pass on nothing. Unfortunately, we each have this incredible power to pass on these spiritual gifts to one another.

I distinctly recall thinking, "Yeah, but I wish I had that," as I left that person. I just don't have that upbeat personality. Being kind is more than just pretending to be cheerful; kindness is usually about manners and etiquette. I might be incredibly friendly to you while having little regard for you. But since it originates from the heart, kindness is genuine, sincere, and impossible to fake. As a result, my generosity doesn't have to be exactly like anyone else's because we all have our very own style. We simply need to discover kindness. Jesus taught that whatever is in our hearts will flow out of our tongues, so it's just about giving a little bit of myself and my heart to the next person I see. Therefore, the first thing to consider if you struggle with kindness, as I do, is what's going on in your heart. Is it a warm, tranquil place, or is it cold, hard, cynical, angry, and irritable? Worse yet, is it simply all about you?

If we tend to go more towards options b or c, we may be a decent but not particularly kind person. So how do we behave better? We must first transform our hearts, though. Christians must remain near the source of all kindness and then ask God to replace their hearts with theirs by saying, "replace my heart with your heart." If we're honest, he'll work on it gradually. In addition, if our spiritual journey has yet to make us more charitable, something must be fixed. And for those still debating, just consider this: If there is a god and he has a heart, what do I imagine his heart to look like? I would then want my heart to resemble that heart more. In case we ever wondered what the heart of God looked like, it is described as such. And finally, a straightforward action that we can all take is to put ourselves in the position of the person towards whom we are struggling and then treat ourselves as we would want to be treated. Even if it's a bit trite, treat people like you want to be treated. I once read that how we treat one another accounts for the most happiness and unhappiness in the world. I have heard that individuals who have shown kindness to others will find themselves in heaven; this is true, of course, but it's also true that those who have received even a tiny amount of compassion will find themselves there. The following individual I see today, no matter who they are, simply ask yourself what I'm passing on to them is my fundamental concept and image to you. Consider the power of kindness.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Ian Sankan

I am a writer with proven writing ability in various fields. I consider writing a passionate career and a platform through which I extend my intellectual ability.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.