Humans logo

She made a better man.

The true story of soulmates in Sequoyah county.

By David BolinPublished 3 years ago 8 min read
1
This is the first picture I took of her and one of my favorites.

My name is David and I live in Muldrow, OK. I used to not believe in soulmates or fate and honestly didn't have faith or belief in anything. I have a past that I am ashamed of and never had a purpose or direction in life. I was dishonest and manipulative for most my life. But that would soon change when I met Sherry who instantly became the love of my life.

When I first saw her, I was with my third wife and honestly thought to myself that I never had a chance because of her beauty. But I remember that the first time I saw her was when she glanced up from a table she was sitting at on lunch from work. She was wearing a jean hat studded with "USA" on it. When I saw her eyes I was blown away and then she smiled and my heart instantly melted. I was still married at the time and normally wouldn't have let that stop me. But looking back I believe just seeing her made me instantly want to become a better man.

For the next few months we would see each other at work but never spoke. But that changed when my then current wife left me and took everything including all the food and money. The first three days I just sulked not knowing what to do, until the morning of the fourth day I woke up feeling different and encouraged to move on.

So at work I tried to build the courage to speak to Sherry and for the first time ever was too intimidated to even speak. One of our mutual friends saw this and decided to introduce us. We were both shy which made the conversation short but we exchanged numbers for later. She was off work before me that day and had text me before I had got off. I hid in the restroom to continue our conversation and we made plans for when I would get off.

Immediately after work I sped to her house where I was speechless when she walked out the door. She was wearing a purple sweater blouse and ripped jeans with high black leather boots. I thought to myself this would probably be the only date I would get. I told her how beautiful she was and I meant every word.

Given I had no money since the previous break up we simply drove around and talked for awhile. She treated me to blue ribbon dinner in Muldrow where I had an omelet and she had catfish. Afterwards we drove some more before dropping her off at home where she gave me a sweet peck on the cheek before we parted.

The next day I sang songs of love all day, something that continued for months sickening many coworkers I am sure. My minutes had run out on my phone but I wanted to stay in touch with her so desperately I pawned one of the few possessions I had, my electric guitar. Even though I had no food or money and utilities had been cut off in the middle of winter by the ex she was all that I wanted.

So after getting minutes on my phone I wanted to treat her to a date but had very little money left over. So our second day of talking I took her to a spot on the Arkansas river where I built a fire to keep her warm. Then I tried to impress her with my guitar playing skills, as poor as they may be. I guess it worked and from that moment on we have stuck side by side.

Quickly into our relationship I learned how she had never felt loved, and her past was filled with physical and emotional abuse. I wondered how could a woman so innocent and sweet, who only sees good in everyone she meets, have a life of suffering. So I made her a promise and became the first person to earn her trust. A promise that no matter how long either of us lived I would never lie, cheat or steal and that I would give my life before letting her suffer. It's a promise I still hold today.

With her I felt the need to do it all right for the first time in my life. I asked her sons and father for their permission to ask her hand in marriage. I didn't have much money but bought her the best ring I could. It has our names and birthstones on it which made it very special to us both. I surprised her at work where we first met, and in front of all of the employees of CitiTrends I dropped to a knee. She cried as she softly answered "yes" and then rushed me to my feet.

We had big dreams of a beachside wedding, but the reality was perfectly fine with me. We had little money and no friends came with us. But on June 21st we stood in a stairwell of the Fort Smith courthouse having paid a stranger to marry us with our last 20 dollars. We heard nothing of what she said, we merely looked into each others eyes while she performed the ceremony. She didn't think I noticed what she was wearing, the purple blouse from our first date. We had ups and downs but we were happily in love, until the pandemic changed everything.

From the very start we faced difficulties unimaginable for either of us to have survived alone. But together we felt strength from each other we never experienced before in our lives. Looking back we realized that without each other the following months would have driven us to a point we couldn't imagine, given the all the issues of our past.

First, we had just bought a truck we felt had knowingly been sold with so many problems. Then our room mates, who we had allowed to live with us 8 months virtually rent free, robbed us of nearly everything we owned when they moved. The worst part was the fact the police stood by watching and would not allow us to stop them. While this was going on we were unaware her son had been kidnapped by his abusive biological father. Unfortunately because of the laws between Oklahoma and Arkansas we were told there was nothing we could do without going to court.

But I had made that promise to never let her suffer. So when she began to cry for the loss of her son, I had more then I could bare. I decided that despite the advice of her attorney as well as the police, I would get him back for her. After all I had a promise to keep no matter what the odds. So on his birthday and a day before our anniversary, I kept my promise and brought him home without having to break the law or resort to violence.

But to continue with the pandemic, all the stress and instability that Corona had caused in our lives had its toll on my wife. Her health conditions worsened and we were forced to file her disability last month. I tried for months to find employment from home so I could stay home and help her. But the loss of income was making matters worse so I tried to return to work this time without her. But it seemed to be making our personal lives even worse and even making me physically ill to be apart for the first time since that second date.

So, I could only see one option to take care of my wife while staying home with her. I would have to have my own business and I would need it to grow in record time. Both of those requirements would be difficult for any company created even under normal conditions. But this would be impossible given how broke we were and with medical bills on my credit it would make finding any sort of financial support for the business a mere fantasy. But I also wanted to build something so that if the worst ever came to happen to me, that she would be taken care of and never suffer again. I will not let myself fail when it comes to keeping a promise to my wife.

Now I have never ran a company and only have a GED, but I have been learning as I go and made some mistakes along the way. I have also gotten over many hurdles and done it all alone. I have encouragement from my closest friends because that is all they can afford. So far it has the permits and tax recognitions from local, state and federal governments to begin selling online. But many more obstacles still stand between me and that long reaching promise.

But with absolutely no funding to speak of for growth, our past due bills already threaten it's existence. So it depends upon the kindness of others to grow beyond birth. Kindness to others is something that she has taught me, and I have followed her example whenever I could. So no matter how long this company exists it is a virtue that will never be forgotten.

I will never ask for money and if offered I would only accept for her sake. The only thing I ask is that this story be shared. Because by sharing our story, then the world will know there is a company that has been born with all the best intentions. Born not of greed or for fortune or fame, but created by necessity and from love, to satisfy a promise. But, regardless the future I know I will fight to provide her support regardless the odds, so I can go to my grave with no promises broken; because she made a better man.

love
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.