Humans logo

Scale

"Tell me I'm pretty!"

By JazzLynn FieldsPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
Scale
Photo by Kolleen Gladden on Unsplash

"Julian," I watch the brown hairs rebel god scoff and look to the ground, his glasses covering those devilish green eyes. That leather jacket, those blue jeans, old sneakers. Everything about him demands ladies to look his way. I am one of those ladies.

"It's Julika." I correct, a blush on my tan chubby cheeks. My short dyed black hair in tangles, impossible to tame. Clutched to my busty chest a love letter shaped like a heart. Compared to his perfect body. I'm a muffin, chubby in all the wrong places and people only like the top.

"Oh, right, Julika." My heart skips a beat as he says my name, his hidden eyes landing on me, doing a once over most likely. "I...can't accept your feelings." My heart stops, my world crashes, breathing escapes me and for a moment I think I'm dead.

"What?" I lower my gaze, focusing on the insanely interesting floor as I try to regain my bearings. He said no. Why? My eyes find the reason although I chose to be blind to it for just a little longer. Feign ignorance and put on a smile.

"It's nothing really. You just don't fit the scale. You're not even a seven." He takes a step closer and I flinch away. He stops. Tears fill my eyes and my shattered heart pounds it's broken shards into my chest, cutting and shredding it open.

"Scale?" I question, my eyes, swelling with tears, meet his glasses. Those stupid glasses hiding his stupid eyes. His stupid fingers run through his stupid hair.

"Yeah, I'm not into girls that aren't seven out of ten. Well, you're not ugly. You have nice assets." Not ugly, he's talking about my breasts. My breasts are nice but I'm not. My belly is not. I dropped the letter and lay my hands on my belly. My too big, too round, no good belly. "Now your friend. She's a nice 7.8 I'd go for her any time." Of course, her. The skinny goddess. Nobody else for the fit god. They are both beautiful, perfect for each other.

"Right..." I let my hands fall to my side and force a smile on my face. "Do you want me to introduce you two?"

Once more he runs his fingers through his golden locks and I'm putty in front of him. "You'd do that? After what just happened?" Don't cry, don't cry. I nod and ball my hands into fists, nails digging into my palms, cutting the skin.

"Of course! I want my friends happy. You...you are a friend after all!" I laugh and turn on my heel, slowly making my way across the suffocating party. It feels as if my throat is constructing and I'm getting less air with every step I take. I stop in front of my friend in her gorgeous white dress with her gorgeous long blonde curly hair and blue eyes to match. "Leo, this is Samantha. Samantha, this is Leo." I step aside and watch as she holds out her hand like the princess she is. Leo, ever the suave gentleman. Takes her hand in what must be the most electrifying and gentle grip ever.

"Nice to meet you," his voice is deeper than normal and he has on his 100 watt smile. Enough to make any girl swoon. I look at Samantha but all she sees is Leo. The look in her eyes say it all, she's in love. I lower my lashes to the ground and take a step back, my chest ripped open exposing my long forgotten heart and the pain that comes with it.

“Same to you." What a genius reply. I take a step back. It's silent, they are still holding hands.

"You guys can take it from here." I turn on my heel and duck outside. Falling to the beer bottle covered grass, gasping for air as I clutch my chest. Now the tears fall. I stifle my cry and bite my lip. I can't believe I just let that happen. I let my friend steal the heart of someone I love. Why? Why am I like this?

"Hey," I look up, startled at the sound of a voice coaxing me out of my sorrow. "Are you okay?" The stranger bends down in front of me. A worried look in his blue eyes.

"No."

breakups
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.