Humans logo

Regrets in life go with the flow

Last month, I was on vacation in Pai with some old friends.

By Horn SmithPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
Regrets in life go with the flow
Photo by Jan Canty on Unsplash

Last month, I was on vacation in Pai with some old friends. I didn't go to the famous local attractions such as Big Tree Swing, Strawberry Field, and Yellow House. I stayed in the hotel alone, woke up to eat, ate, and slept, it was comfortable.

If it hadn't rained that day, I might never have known Tomas in my life.

The rainy Pai County is particularly comfortable. The leaves are glowing green. Everyone is hiding in hotels or cafes to avoid the rain. I want to go out for a walk. After wandering, I came to an alley with vines on both sides of the road. , At the corner of a secluded alley, I saw a dim light box. The light box was painted with a bowl of steaming noodles. Next to the noodles was a cartoon version of a fat chef.

I walked to the door and opened the door to greet me. It was the big fat man on the lightbox. He smiled very kindly, just like the kind uncle next door. He took my umbrella, nodded, and greeted me to sit down.

I looked at the restaurant, and it was not a small space. There were only five tables, and I was the only customer at the time, which seemed a little deserted. I sat down and ordered a noodle and a beer. When I took the first bite of noodles, I was completely blown away. It is no exaggeration to say these are the best noodles I have ever eaten in my life.

About the tenth bottle, he told me his story.

His name is Thomas and he is from Bangkok.

He comes from a culinary family, his father used to be a chef for the Thai royal family, maybe it's genetics, but Tomas has had an amazing talent for dishes since he was less than eighteen years old.

"But my favorite thing to do is noodles," he said earnestly.

When I asked why, he took out his phone and pulled out the photo, and said, "Look, this is my father." I saw a lot of photos of Thomas's father, in many splendid hotels, with many leaders and officials.

Every classmate envies Tomas. His father can work for the royal family, but for him, such a father is too busy. No matter how late or tired his father’s hands are, as long as he goes home, he will always give Tomas cooked a steaming bowl of noodles, this bowl of noodles with love, accompanied Tomas until he was eighteen years old.

After the age of eighteen, his father sent him to Le Cordon Bleu to continue his studies.

After his studies, his father wanted him to go to the royal family or the best local hotel to be a chef, but he refused. Everyone just regarded the chef as a job. Where the salary is good, he can go there, and wherever the development platform is big, he can go there. where to go. He said that such a cook is too unloving and to temperatures.

"I want to open a store with love and warmth." He looked at the light box at the door and said softly.

Later, he disregarded everyone's strange eyes and came to Pai, a place that was ridiculed by relatives and friends as the countryside.

He is busy with everything by himself. In the morning, he will go to the vegetable market to choose fresh side dishes. In the morning, he will clean the house himself. He said that he carefully prepares every side and performs every process, just to spend his childhood. Share the taste of your happiness with everyone who has the fate to find it here.

Did I say do you have no regrets? Maybe some of your classmates have become top chefs, teachers, or judges in hotels around the world.

He shrugged: "Sorry? I'm fine. I think regret in life is to go with the flow."

I was completely struck by this statement. Just like a wild horse that has been lonely for a long time in the wilderness, at that moment, he found his companion. I said Thomas, please hold on, every year I come to Pai, I will come to see you.

In the half month, since I came back, I always see his updates on ins: there are new plants in the store, he has researched new dishes, he is standing at the door with people of different skin tones, and in each photo, He laughed so sincerely.

What a good Tomas, he has no competition with the world, he said that the regret in life is to go with the flow, and he wants to live his life the way he likes.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.