Humans logo

How does a man who never hesitates live

There's a talk in TED that people spend 70% of their energy "thinking," which is amazing and believable at the same time.

By Horn SmithPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
How does a man who never hesitates live
Photo by Sticker Mule on Unsplash

There's a talk on TED that people spend 70% of their energy "thinking," which is amazing and believable at the same time. Because my friend Mona is a mindless person, she has a "second judgment" peculiarity, and she always seems to lift weights like that.

She was in a taxi and suddenly felt very hungry when she saw the driver eating. So she stretched out her head and asked people: What are you eating? The driver said: Spicy sticks are dried tofu. Mona said: Can you give me something to eat? The driver was shocked and gave her the whole bag.

Another time, she went to the grocery store to buy something. There was a package of open shrimp sticks on the counter, and the boss was fascinated by watching TV and ignored her. She also thought "ding", didn't call anyone, just lay on the counter and watched TV with the boss. And, on one hand, I ate a packet of shrimp sticks with one hand. Then the boss clapped her hands and asked her, "What do you want?" "Shampoo."

She was going to leave Xiamen to go back to her hometown. She packed eight huge bags, and no taxi driver was willing to take her. She just stood by the side of the road with the pile of stuff. After a while, a pickup truck came, and the driver asked her, where are you going? Then they negotiated the price and helped her move things into the car. The problem is that the driver doesn't want the money again after it is delivered to the place. Not!

Mona often said a sentence: I am so lucky, isn't it! For example: did you know? I have 8 packets of dried fish in my bag today and I am so lucky!

A friend said that if she uses luck on these little things, big things will be bad! But for people who enjoy life all the time, what is the big deal, and how bad is it?

Mona and I started a small nonprofit together. The most recent event was a second-hand flea market. Everyone brought their spare items to set up stalls and hang out at will, but it was not a charity sale. The proceeds could be donated voluntarily, and there was no pressure to donate. Mona and I are in charge of this event.

After two days, I was as tired as a dog, and my spirits collapsed. I just wanted to stick my tongue out in a daze. But Mona still walks lightly, smiles brightly, and still has the energy to count the money after the event. We do the same job!

I can't help but think, why is this? After thinking about it, I think the data from the TED talk may be right: 70% of people's energy is spent on thoughts. And Mona, as a mindless person, how much energy should she save.

For example, when there were few customers, I was a little anxious. I was thinking about how to improve the next event, and I was upset. Mona stood at the door, looking at the elevator entrance not far ahead. It was crowded with people waiting to get on the elevator, which looked like it was taking a long time to come. Mona watched for a while, "Ding!" and pointed to the sky: I'm going to put up a poster at that elevator!

Out of the instinct of easy thinking, I immediately questioned: But we don't have any posters anymore. Mona: Take that off! No one sees the poster in that place! After saying that, I walked over, took off the poster neatly, and went to the elevator to put it up.

The silent crowd in front of the elevator watched her put up posters because they had nothing to do. I also had an idea, took a marker and went with her, and wrote bold black words on the poster in a very eye-catching way: look back 20 meters from this flea market. Those who have nothing to do, read me word by word, and silently turn their heads to look at our flea market...

With Mona, I always feel like everyone gets a little bit better.

I like to eat with her because she will keep complimenting "it's delicious". She also likes to walk with her, because she can be silent or talk endlessly, and she can always think of interesting topics, such as: Where do the heroes in martial arts novels get their money? Everyone knows blind spots, what are they? Pomegranates are stress-free to eat...

I think of Mona as if I think of the bright moon. She does not shine by herself, but reflects the light of others and makes herself beautiful at the same time. Thinking about it, I will be happy for her future boyfriend. It is a beautiful thing to be able to enjoy every moment of the present with her, to have a panoramic view of her youth and moonlight, and to warm her whole life.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.