Humans logo

The smartest counterattack

The smartest counterattack

By Horn SmithPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
The smartest counterattack
Photo by Solal Ohayon on Unsplash

After Lincoln was elected president, he went to the Senate to give a speech. Before the speech, a senator stood up and choked: "Mr. Lincoln, whatever you have to say, I want you to remember that you are just a shoemaker's son."

In the seat, someone laughed.

Many people have good temperaments and high tolerance, but most people cannot tolerate others insulting their predecessors.

The other senators waited for the good show, but Lincoln did not show a displeased expression but said generously: "Thank you for mentioning my father, I will remember your advice, I will always be a shoemaker's son. I know that too. , I'll never be able to be president as well as my father does shoes."

This is a small story that has been circulated for a long time, enough to make people admire Lincoln's wit and measure.

Lincoln was a man of great measure and tolerance for setbacks. When he was a teenager, he only attended school for more than a year. He worked as a village postman, an apprentice chopper, etc. If it were not for his perseverance, immobility, and knowing what to do, he would not have made history in the United States. The greatest president ever.

If you are like Lincoln, you can even attack your origins and turn a defeat into a victory. You probably have the aptitude to be a great man and the ability to run for president.

The problem is that Lincoln should think so in his heart: You attack my origin with a sense of superiority, you should be ashamed of your rudeness, and it is not me who should be ashamed.

Lincoln used a very gentle and powerful method. He calmly accepted the fact that he was the son of a shoemaker, and turned his unfavorable background into a powerful shield. In the face of a deliberate attack, you can say to yourself: "His attack only means that his quality is not enough." If you say such words, you are guaranteed to lead to greater conflicts, but if you say it a hundred times in your heart, you will not be able to. Someone heard.

You don't need to pay attention to people who have problems with their cultivation and have biased concepts. If you are red-faced and want to argue until you win, it's hard not to get angry the more you argue, it's useless.

I wrote a story: After graduating from university, I was lucky enough to enter a newspaper that was considered very good at the time. The boss immediately entrusted me with the important task of editing important pages.

A new employee, A Xiang, with similar qualifications as me, works as a data administrator.

One day, I went into the data room to find data (there was no Google at the time), and I asked Ah Xiang, who was idle in the data room, where the data of a certain celebrity was kept.

She pointed to the data rack on the top floor and said, "There it is. It seems that to find the data, you need to have bigger eyes."

Is she laughing at my small eyes? My eyes are not big. Compared with hers, they should only be half. She has a pair of huge goldfish eyes.

"Oh, so high." I borrowed a chair from her. She sneered: "It seems that to find the data, we have to grow taller." I guess, she should be laughing at me being short.

After getting the information, I got out of my chair and calmly said to her, "Fortunately, IQ is not proportional to eye size and height."

There was a more poisonous sentence in my heart that I didn't say: "It seems that if you want to get out of the reference room, you need to have a higher IQ."

At the time, I felt that I had won the debate. But now that I think about it, I was young and energetic as a teenager.

Being eloquent doesn't help me in the workplace. In the past, I used to offend people because of my quick talk. Fortunately, Axiang and I didn't turn against each other because of this. After getting to know me slowly, I realized that when Ah Xiang first saw that I didn't like to laugh very much, she thought that I was very proud, so she attacked me. To put it bluntly, everyone misunderstood. She was also magnanimous and didn't care too much about the vicious ridicule in my counterattack.

The biggest purpose of those who attack you frontally is to make you angry and make you go into a rage. Smart, you'd better not fall for the trick, and you will win.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.