Humans logo

Rebuilding the Castle

A conversation with someone in 2021

By Don Anderson IIPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
2
Rebuilding the Castle
Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

Dear Don,

I'm glad you made it out of 2020, and it was rough, but now you have a chance to recover and rebuild to get better. It wasn't easy, we practically crawled to the finish line, but luckily, you kept fighting to get to the end. You had so many plans from the YouTube channel (subscribe to Good Time Geeks, everyone) to doing more throughout the year, like going to the gym and even trying to hang out with some more friends. I know you couldn't do a lot because of the pandemic, and you don't want to put your health at risk to do what you want to do. I know you want to do more this year, but I want you to be smart and be careful, but when you come back, I want you to tell me what you want to do this year.

Sincerely, Baby

Four days later...

Dear Baby,

I meant to write to you quicker, but I got a little busy. School is starting for me soon, and I have to submit some audition videos for the play my college is putting on. So you want to know what I'm trying to accomplish this year? I honestly don't know, but there is one thing I do hope to achieve the most, and that's school. I also want to get my passport this year even though I can't really travel, but I'd love to get it already since I know where I'm planning to go. Don't worry, I'm staying in the house as much as I can since I only want to leave whenever I have to, like to go to class or pick up groceries. I hope you're being careful, too.

Sincerely, Don

A day later...

Dear Don,

Break a leg in your audition. I hope you get whatever role it is that you're going for. I know you got this because you will get the part you want to get, but I think you'll be glad to be in the play even if you don't. It's all good that you don't know for sure what you want to accomplish this year, but I'm glad you got something in mind. That's awesome that you want to get your passport this year; it's been a long time coming for you to finally get it. Do you have any places in particular that you want to travel to? Also, do you have anything that you're looking forward to for 2021? I'm sure you at least have a few movies in mind.

Sincerely, Baby

Two days later...

Dear Baby,

Thanks for the good wishes, I hope I get a role in the play as well, but I'm not going to be mad or anything like that if I don't. I can handle rejection. It has been a long time coming for me to get my passport. I've been trying to get it since 2017, but so much has happened over the years. I have many movies I'm looking forward to this year, like Venom: Let There Be Carnage, Dune, No Time to Die, Godzilla vs. Kong, Shang-Chi, and Spider-Man 3. 2020 has been rough for me with movies, but I hope theaters open again. I can't wait to see these movies. Well, I'd love to keep writing with you, but I have to get going since things are already starting a little crazy. I'll catch you later, Baby.

Sincerely, Don

Three days later...

Dear Don,

Those are some pretty awesome movies to look forward to, and I can't wait to see them either. I hope the theaters open again as well, but I'm not all that optimistic about it happening. Hopefully, things will be better for 2021 than in 2020. It's weird not going to the movies and not smelling the popcorn as you get your ticket and get your box of Hot Tamales. Speaking of which, I better stop before I get hungry. Hey, one more question, how are you going to take the lessons you learned last year and apply them to the next year? Best of luck to you, man.

Sincerely, Baby

A month later...

Dear Baby,

I'm sorry I didn't write to you sooner, this letter has just been sitting near my bed for a month. Since I got a free week, I can get back to you again. Honestly, I'm not sure how the lessons we learned last year would go to this year, so it's hard to say. The only thing I can say to that is let's get to work.

I am looking forward to seeing the movies with you if theaters open again; we have a lot of fun, especially since we saw Tenet three times last year. All those questions that you asked me were good to ask, and all but the million-dollar question to us both is, are we ready?

Sincerely, Don

humanity
2

About the Creator

Don Anderson II

Movies, memoirs, music lover, graduate of community college, and university

Quiet writer but I'm sure my stories from years ago are still of interest

Tips are welcomed

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.