Humans logo

Queens Supporting Kings

Helping Men To Heal

By Angela DaceyPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1

I struggled with my topic. It's big. Should I share these thoughts and feelings I have from engaging with men in dating, working and connecting with men in rehab programs? I have noticed a pattern happening this past decade and I believe it's time to open our eyes and hearts to make a change.

Have we women been supporting men with their healing?

The last decade saw an abundance of women’s retreats, women’s yoga, women’s networking meetings, women's financial help, women's gyms and more.

Granted, I am all for women connecting, supporting, bonding, uplifting and inspiring others. However, I have been feeling as though we are separating ourselves from the men and trying to embody both the feminine and masculine energy without them.

Please know that as a woman, I have been hurt by men, sexually abused at a young age, placed behind them in my corporate career and taken advantage of personally and professionally. I understand a woman’s need to develop her feminine circle and feel safe and empowered by her sisters.

However, in the last few years, I have noticed men are searching. Searching for healing, acceptance, and self love just as much, if not more, than us women.

Let me take you back a couple of years to an opportunity that changed my life and my outlook in this area.

After being introduced to a dynamic woman who survived her gang leader husband’s attempted murder on her, I was blown away by her passion and love to help incarcerated men and men suffering from addictions. She had only love and hope for them all to find their self love. One day, she called me and asked if I would co-facilitate a story sharing course with her at an addiction recovery home. We would be helping men of all ages bring their story from the “Street to the Stage”. The program was called, Flip The Script.

I was honestly scared to take on this opportunity. I have never been subjected to helping people in recovery before and after working with women for years, I was worried the men wouldn’t accept ME or want to work with ME. Which is interesting how I had no judgment of them but was more worried about the judgment they would have for me.

While I was trying to decide and overcome this concern I had in moving forward with the project, I saw a quote from Richard Branson that said, “If someone offers you an amazing opportunity, and you’re not sure you can do it, say YES and then learn how to do it later.”

I knew immediately, scared or not, I had to take this opportunity.

Needless to say, it was one of the best experiences of my life. I was humbled, fell in love with all the men and their journeys. I had more compassion for people with addictions or who have been incarcerated as I could see how everyone was just led astray in life. Left to fend for themselves, emotionally, mentally, physically and spiritually. We are rarely taught how to handle life while growing up. This leaves many of us to go down an unhealthy path of self-destruction.

Each weekly class, the men showed the utmost support for the group. The classes were about raising up the men and having them own their stories so they could share and spread their guidance and wisdom with others.

I saw men take the stage for the first time. I saw men overcome their fears, anxiety and loneliness. I saw men find their real power center and soar to new heights. I saw men find hope again and commit to change.

Some of these men have now spoken in schools, on stage and been interviewed around the world. The cool thing is, not only did they heal and conquer their fears, so did I.

This demonstrated that our men need to be supported – especially if we are searching for evolved, loving, compassionate, kind men as partners. My hope is that we can begin to let the men back into our lives. With our open, healed hearts, we can support, guide and love them – without codependency. Just an open heart and love.

We ALL have stories. I believe it’s time to hear them all and love them all.

I know I may be putting myself in the ring of fire with some people around this topic, but I feel it’s a necessity to be a Queen and support the Kings.

I believe we need to balance the feminine and masculine energy in this world. We can start making changes this decade by having an open heart. Let’s allow men to heal and invite them in. Let’s evolve together.

Colourfully yours,

Angela

"Every man needs a woman when his life is a mess.

Because just like a game of chess, the Queen protects the King"

The Viking

advice
1

About the Creator

Angela Dacey

A colourful woman living her passion by supporting people in feeling lighter and shining brighter. Focused on personal development & spirituality with colour psychology.

www.livelifecolourfully.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.