Humans logo

Potholders For Sale

Trigger Warning: This story discusses domestic violence.

By J. S. WadePublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 8 min read
Top Story - April 2023
45
Potholders For Sale
Photo by Andrej Nihil on Unsplash

"General Manager, needed in the showroom," blared over the intercom. Expecting a customer service complaint, I folded the financial spreadsheets to brace myself mentally to be blindsided by a dissatisfied customer or a roving peddler selling their wares. Rare was the occasion in business that brought a positive moment. Such was the life of managing an automotive dealership.

A pair of timid women waited for me by the receptionist desk. They looked down at the floor and stepped back as I approached. Fear, then I decided terror, radiated from them. Conscious and aware, I stopped ten feet short to allow them space. Irate customers would launch into you immediately. These guests seemed a heartbeat away from fleeing the showroom like scared rabbits scurrying away to hide in their warren.

"How can I help you?" I said.

One woman cut her eyes at the other, then returned to studying the marble floor tiles. Her partner, with the mustered courage of Joan of Arc, looked up enough to explore my shoes.

"We… um… are selling potholders if you'd like to buy some," she said, "We made them. They are five dollars each."

"Is this for a fundraiser?"

The first woman took a half step back with her head bowed lower. A knitted, colorful potholder quivered in her hand.

"We are residents of the Cumbee Center, and the operating budget has been cut by the state. They say it may have to close. We knitted these potholders to help raise money."

Their anxiety seemed to spread across the floor like the breaking water of a cracked dam. Inherently sensing the courage these two women exhibited, I was moved. My heart broke for their plight. They fear men for brutal causes. They were petrified of me. What has the world come to? Spun through my mind. I handed my receptionist twenty dollars with my business card to broker the transaction without invading the women's space. The contribution felt inadequate.

"Please have the Director of the center contact me. God bless you both," I said and returned to complete the next month's forecast. Little did I know their bravery would alter my life in ways I could never imagine.

***

The next day my receptionist called my desk phone.

"You have two guests to see you," she said.

"Who are they with? Selling something?"

Most days, a dozen vendors would make cold calls to present almost anything you could imagine, from lighting, paper products, advertising, or seeking sponsors for charity events. I even had a self-declared priest offer to bless the lot with holy water for a five-hundred-dollar contribution. My gatekeeper did a great job of shielding my time with a standing bribe of a free lunch for each day of success. She would be on her own for her midday meal today.

"It's the Director and an assistant of the Cumbee Center for Abused Women and Children. I think you will want to see them and yeah I know, I'm on my own for lunch today," she said. "It's worth it."

Dr. James stepped into my office when I greeted her and an assistant. She explained the mission of the Cumbee Center was to assist women and children to escape their abusers to start new lives. Many completed the program, while others returned to the abuse. The facility was at a secret and highly secure location.

I learned that the state had cut the center's budget by almost fifty percent due to fiscal shortfalls. The woman and children secured at the cloaked site were at risk of losing their security from their abusers and would soon have to be released. She shared some of the horror stories of the women's inhumane experiences but also of their victories. A week later, our company pledged five thousand dollars a year to their cause from each of the ten dealerships.

"You do know that you will receive nothing in return via advertising beyond a thank you. You will never be invited to our facility because your presence would be like setting a dog loose in a rabbit house. You still want to do this?" Dr. James said.

I felt proud of my company and had a concrete moral obligation to support the community. I said, "Yes."

***

One month passed, and Dr. James returned to visit to share how the money was being utilized. She then asked a question that changed my world.

"What about you? Are you interested in doing more?" she said.

I thought she wanted a private contribution, but she continued before I could answer.

"Would you be interested in joining a pick-up team? It involves being called at all hours of the night for dangerous situations that you will have to be certified for by the Sheriff's office.

"Pick up team? What is that?" I said.

"We receive calls daily and do our best to aid victims and their children in escaping abusive environments. It is extremely difficult for them mentally, emotionally, and physically to do so. Most extractions occur in the middle of the night. The perpetrators will resist if they discover the escape, some violently. But once the victims are secure, they will not know how or where to find them.

If willing, you would serve on a recovery team of three. A driver, an armed security guard riding shotgun, and a female counselor from the center. The security on the team cannot approach or speak to the victims. All communication will be with the counselor only. There will be no recognition or awards but the knowledge that you did something good. Interested?"

I knew nothing of the abuse women and children suffer every day before the two heroic women who came to peddle potholders. Yes, there was an occasional news article. Still, it seemed a silent killer that no one wanted to acknowledge.

***

A month later, I was assigned to a team after I passed the rigorous Sheriff's certification program. I had to understand the law, demonstrate firearms proficiency, and learn defensive driving and perimeter tactics. Pam was the Cumbee field counselor, and George was my security sidekick. We made four uneventful pick-ups the first week, all between midnight and three a.m.

Early one Tuesday morning at two a.m., my pager beeped and rousted me from my slumber. I dressed, secured my .45 caliber sidearm and drove to the team's meeting location. Pam had brought coffee for us, as usual, and briefed us on the location and descriptions of the incoming victims. We would help extract a twenty-nine-year-old woman with twin seven-year-old girls who had decided to get out. Two warrants had previously been issued on the man but dropped when the mother wouldn't testify. The courage required to escape the cycle of abuse was beyond my comprehension. It could be compared to escaping from a P.O.W. camp where torture was served cold every day. The first and most dangerous step had to be theirs.

I drove the Tahoe into a cul-de-sac and stopped. George jumped from the vehicle and took his station twenty feet off the front left side of the car. He gave me an "all clear" thumbs up, and I slid from the seat, pulled my weapon, and stood off the left back quarter panel. With the perimeter secure, Pam exited the car as a young woman and two precious children ambled down the dark driveway carrying a few belongings in plastic bags. Pam greeted the woman and children, secured the bags in the hold, and helped them enter the Tahoe. The S.U.V.'s engine purred at idle while cicadas tymbaled and a hoot owl cried in the night. I thought this would be another uneventful pick-up until an angry man's voice broke through the symphony and brought me to reality.

"What the hell? You think you can escape me, you bitch," a barefoot man in pajama bottoms screamed from the top of the driveway. Toting a baseball bat, he sprinted down the driveway toward us.

"Stop," George and I both yelled and raised our weapons. The man kept charging and rapidly closed the distance. I raised my .45 to the sky, and the night exploded with the violence of its discharge. The abuser dropped to the concrete as his bat rattled down the driveway.

"Don't shoot, man." He pleaded. "You want the whore? You can have her."

***

As we sped away, I glanced in the rearview mirror as the shock and palpable fear radiated from our passengers. We returned to the meeting place, and Pam transferred them to her car. With a tear in my eye, I watched a young mother and her two seven-year-old girls disappear into the night to begin their freedom journey at the Cumbee Center.

I served on this team for three years until I moved from the area. My world has never been the same again, knowing the amount of suffering occurring across the street, around the block, or just across town. The abuse is epidemic.

Whenever I see a knitted potholder in a kitchen, I think of the two stoically brave women, like passing ships in my busy world, who rose above their individual traumas to help others. With their hands, courage, and fortitude enshrined in trauma, they overcame their fears and aided others with what they had. How can I do anything less? What about you?

*** *** ***

If you suffer from abuse and need to reach out for help, please click below or call 1-800-787-3224

humanity
45

About the Creator

J. S. Wade

Since reading Tolkien in Middle school, I have been fascinated with creating, reading, and hearing art through story’s and music. I am a perpetual student of writing and life.

J. S. Wade owns all work contained here.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (36)

Sign in to comment
  • Tiffany Gordon 12 months ago

    what a stunningly beautiful piece! Being our brothers and sisters keepers is so important! God Bless your beautiful heart Scott Wade!

  • Dean F. Hardyabout a year ago

    This was excellent stuff, Scott. I had it on my to-do list and I'm glad I did.

  • Elle Clarkabout a year ago

    Very powerful and inspirational! Abuse is such a scary thing! I wish I'd had a group like this when I escaped.

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    What an incredibly powerful and inspirational story! Thank you so much for everything you've done for these women 🥹❤️ This brought tears to my eyes! Congrats on a very deserved Top Story!

  • Loryne Andaweyabout a year ago

    What you, the pick up team and the people at the Cumbee Center do is nothing short of heroic. You did more for those survivors than any lawmaker patting themselves on the back or spewing feel-good rhetoric ever did. The fight against domestic abuse is an ongoing war. Thank you for your service.

  • Dana Stewartabout a year ago

    And congratulations on Top Story!

  • Dana Stewartabout a year ago

    You’ve made a difference, Scott. So many emotions as I read this. Thank you for being the light for those in darkness.

  • Lena Folkertabout a year ago

    Scott, I'm at a loss for words to be honest. I know all too well and intimately the struggle you describe so well and compassionately. I also know the innate fear of men that you describe so accurately, and it is men like you who've helped to reshape that image for me. Through all the miles, a huge and full of love hug to you, my friend. <3

  • Shane Dobbieabout a year ago

    Powerful stuff. Glad to see it got a Top Story

  • JBazabout a year ago

    Scott, the emotion I felt as I read this was all over the place. As a father of a daughter this hit home. It amazes me how certain cause get money while others languish and struggle. This is one of the best I have read lately. Thank you and congratulations.

  • Ahna Lewisabout a year ago

    Incredible story! I'm inspired by your willingness to help and to make a difference in these women's lives. Thanks for bringing this important topic to light and for helping to be part of the change. Congratulations on your Top Story! I would love to see this story place in the challenge! 🥰

  • Lamar Wigginsabout a year ago

    I'm practically speechless after reading this amazing story. Thank you for allowing us to feel the impact it had on you. You are a Hero in every sense of the word. 👏👏👏🙏💖

  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    so glad this is a Top Story! ❤

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Congrats on the well deserved TS

  • Melissa Ingoldsbyabout a year ago

    Last line is a gut punch, what a great inspiration. Congratulations on top story!

  • Kristen Balyeatabout a year ago

    Wow, Scott- what a beautiful and equally heart wrenching story! Thank you for what you did for those women and children! I’ve know a few women who have left abuse and their struggle is unimaginable! You are truly a hero!! I’m so happy to see this as a top story!

  • Leslie Writesabout a year ago

    Oh my god! It’s so sad that domestic abuse is so prevalent, but we are fortunate to have organizations like that and people like you to help. This is such a moving story. 💖

  • IBOR FAITH EMMANUELabout a year ago

    This is a powerful story scott

  • Congratulations on your Top Story

  • Judey Kalchik about a year ago

    Fulfilling my promise to comment again 'once this becomes Top Story'! Very glad this message will be elevated to more readers!

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    I'm so glad that Vocal made this Top Story as it needs to be read by as many people as possible. Congratulations on doing the work and sharing your story!

  • Caroline Janeabout a year ago

    ❤❤❤ Oh man. 😔

  • Remarkable, powerful story. As pastors, we've worked with & supported shelters. But earning the trust of someone who is abused is a steep climb. Too often churches themselves have facilitated the abuse, insisting that it is her duty to stay with him. It takes an enormous amount of courage simply to reach out to someone for help, knowing what awaits if she's found out. The few times one or the other of us have been the person to whom they've turned, have been both life & faith-altering for us. Reading your account moved me to tears. Thank you for sharing this.

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Scott, oh man. I always compliment your writing, as I will on this as well, because I think you're great. This piece shows me that you are an even better man. From the bottom of my heart, I thank you. I truly hope you win this challenge. Bravo 👏👏

  • Epidemic? More like pandemic. I was in an abusive relationship before. Not physical abuse but verbal and psychological. It takes a lot of courage to make the first step and ask for help, like you mentioned. I'm so grateful for your all your contribution. On behalf of every victim you've helped directly or indirectly, thank you so much 🥺❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.