Humans logo

Passing Ships: The Power of Human Connection.

How a Small Moment Can Have a Profound Impact on Our Lives.

By Yusra AhmadPublished about a year ago 3 min read

It was a typical Monday morning, and I was rushing to catch my train to work. As I was running down the platform, I noticed a woman standing by the edge of the platform, staring off into the distance. Her hair was a mess, and her eyes were red from crying. I could tell she was upset, but I didn't want to intrude on her personal space. I continued walking towards the train, but then I realized I had missed my train. I felt frustrated and angry, but then I looked back at the woman. She was still standing there, looking lost and alone.

I hesitated for a moment, but then I decided to approach her. I walked up to her and asked if she was okay. She looked at me with a sad smile and shook her head. I asked if there was anything I could do to help, and she told me she had just broken up with her boyfriend. She was on her way to work, but she couldn't stop crying. I didn't know what to say, but I told her I was sorry, and I offered her a tissue.

We stood there for a few moments in silence, and then we heard the sound of a train approaching. It wasn't my train, but I could see the relief on her face. She thanked me for talking to her and taking the time to listen to her. I told her it was no problem, and I wished her a good day at work. As she walked away, I couldn't help but feel a sense of warmth in my heart. I didn't know this woman's name, or anything about her, but for a brief moment, we had connected.

As the train pulled away from the station, I couldn't help but wonder about the woman I had just met. I wondered what her life was like, and what had led her to this moment. I wondered if she would remember our conversation, or if it would just be a passing moment in her life.

It wasn't until a few weeks later that I realized the impact that our brief encounter had on my life. I was going through a difficult time myself, and I was feeling lost and alone. But then I remembered the woman on the platform, and how we had connected in that small moment. It reminded me that sometimes the smallest interactions can have the biggest impact.

From that moment on, I started to pay more attention to the people around me. I started to smile at strangers on the street, and I started to strike up conversations with people in line at the grocery store. I realized that every person has a story, and that sometimes all it takes is a small gesture to make a big difference.

Over time, I started to notice a change in myself. I felt more connected to the world around me, and I felt more hopeful about the future. I realized that even though we may feel like passing ships in the night, we are all connected in some way.

Years later, I was at a coffee shop with a friend, and I saw the woman from the train station. She was sitting alone, and she looked lost in thought. I hesitated for a moment, but then I walked up to her and said hello. She looked up, and then her face lit up with recognition. We talked for a few minutes, and I told her how much our conversation had meant to me. She smiled and told me that it had meant a lot to her as well.

As I walked away from the coffee shop, I couldn't help but feel grateful for that small moment that had brought us together again. It was a reminder that even though we may feel like passing ships in the night, we are all connected in some way.

That encounter with the woman on the platform had a profound impact on my life. It taught me the importance of reaching out to others and the power of human connection. It's easy to get caught up in our own lives and forget about the people around us, but sometimes all it takes is a small gesture to make a big difference.

I've since made it a habit to be more open and friendly to people I meet. I've had countless conversations with strangers that have brought me joy and made me feel more connected to the world around me. These small moments may seem insignificant, but they have the power to change our lives in profound ways.

In a world that can often feel cold and isolated, it's important to remember that we are all in this together. We may be passing ships in the night, but we are all part of the same journey. And sometimes, all it takes is a small moment to remind us of that fact.

humorhumanity

About the Creator

Yusra Ahmad

please look forward to my work♥️🥀

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Yusra Ahmad (Author)about a year ago

    Please look forward to my work♥️

Yusra AhmadWritten by Yusra Ahmad

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.