Humans logo

Parking Lot Pickup

How many times should you call before a date?

By Brooke HudsonPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
3

I have a very long list of horrible dating stories. These are the sort that make you cringe and wish you had never considered dating at all. On one such dating disaster, we met online and after talking for a few days. We decided to meet up in person, and go to dinner. We decided we would go dutch, and pay for our own meal. I was okay with that, because why should he have to pay for me? We were just meeting for the first time, and I didn't want to saddle him with buying me dinner especially if the two of us weren't going to work out. So, we agreed on a time, and set our plans to go to dinner the next evening. What happened next, I was not prepared for...

We had exchanged phone numbers, and immediately he called me to make sure I was who I said I was. That was fine, I didn't want him to think I wasn't real. We talked for a minute, and then he had to go to bed because he had to work early the next day. Well, the next day, he calls me and tells me we have to nix the dinner plans, because he had an appointment at the same time as our date. Okay, that was fine, but then he suggested we still meet and maybe go for a walk to get to know each other. I agreed, because whether we go out to dinner or not is not important, because meeting him was important. So, we set a time just before the original plan to meet at 6:30. Well, 20 minutes later, he called me again. This time to tell me he needed to re-schedule for 8:30 because he had laundry he needed to do. Okay, that was fine, so I agreed. Another 30 minutes later, he called me again because he realized the appointment was going to go past 8:30 and maybe we should meet up at 6:30 again and he'd not do his laundry. At this point, I couldn't believe how many times he called me. First, because we weren't a couple, and second because we hadn't even met in person before. I agreed to the new time change and hung up with him. I told my friends about him, and they all had a pretty good laugh. If you can believe it though, this guy called me again. He told me he really needed to do his laundry and asked if we could meet up at 5:30. So, I agreed and hung up with him again. Now, you might be thinking he didn't call me again, but you'd be wrong. He called me 8 more times, to change the time of our date. Finally, we settled back to 7:30 because his appointment got moved to 8:30. Well, I went over to my friends' house after work, we hung out and watched the Bachelor that she had recorded from the night before. Well, as I was watching the show with her, we were dying my hair when as you might guess. He called again. I couldn't stop laughing, by this point he had called me 30 times that day. I knew after about the 20th phone call, it probably wasn't going to work out. So, I just decided I wasn't going to go on this date. However, this guy talked me into still going, because now we could only meet up for 30 minutes. So, the plans were finally set in stone. We agreed to meet up in a grocery store parking lot, and then we would drive over to a nearby park and go for a walk. So the time to meet up with him came and went, and left me waiting for him for over 10 minutes. When he arrived, I was looking for his car but he decided to walk. Then he told me he didn't have a car and hopped in the front passenger seat with me. I drove over to the park, we walked around for 30 minutes, and I took him back to the Grocery Store. I never heard from him again, and I'm pretty sure I'm okay with that. Wouldn't you be?

dating
3

About the Creator

Brooke Hudson

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.